We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location but a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
Ranked #383 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great room and location but a little noisy”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great. Staff are friendly and to respond to a previous complaint we found the wi fi easy and asked for more and they were very friendly. Also it is just part of the language barrier that they cannot give you full information, I experienced that everywhere. We needed to get a train to kho samui yhe next day and it was so relieving to be in such a nice clean room right next to the main train station hua lamphong.the best thing though, is the view. We stayed on the top floor. After you settle you can stand there with a full view of the square outside hua lamphong station soaking in all of bangkok's intensity and vibrance (in your underwear) would reccomend to anyone who needs to get a train from hua lamphong :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmou3138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
28
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were staying at a different guesthouse but stopped in for a coffee and a cool down in the A/C.
The staff was friendly and kind.
We sat around comfortably in the dining area for a while and were allowed to just hang out for a long time. We had a train later and needed to do some planning for our next city.
It was a relaxing atmosphere with pleasant staff.
After our experience, I will look at staying during our next Bangkok stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were looking for an hotel in front of the train station, and we find this one. We were very happy with it, the room was nice and clean, friendly staff, and the restaurant in the hotel is also very nice.
I totally recommande it specially if you are travelling in train the following day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The only benefit to stay here is just the great location, just a few step from hua lam phong station and in front of bts station.
Room are clean, but.... receptionist is unfriendly. It seemed they don't like you to ask the key for wifi more than once. When i ask for advise regarding how much is the fare for taxy to and from the airport to their guesthouse, they never answer, they said they don't know. They just stated that all of taxy driver knows the area. Fiuuh... what kind of service is it? while i have booked the room my internet?
When i arrived, i saw many many gueshouses and hotels arround it!
Since i only stayed for 1 night ( for transit before continue to other places ), i didn't care about that. But the next day, when i ordered the pan cake from the restaurant (price of room is not included breakfast and that is expensive enough, arround 800 baht for small room), i am really dissapointed. From outside, it seemed no problem with the pancake, but when i cut it, i saw the pancake was undercooked! I waved my hands and spoke softly to the waitress to avoide other guests can hear what i want to tell her. I show her the undercooked pancake and offcourse- 'the rare mixed eggs and wheat four'. She never said 'sorry' and just asked me : do you want to order some more??? I said no need because i don't want to pay twice for the same 'undercooked pancake'. I just asked my self, is it the best service that they can give to the guests??

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lucyliestiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bemuda/Australia
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This small hotel is located with an entrance to the subway literally on its doorstep. The rooms are clean and very well appointed. The staff is helpful and at least during the day are capable in english. Rooms vary between 800 and 1200 baht depending on the room size. You can get rent time on one of the computers in the lobby for 20 baht for 30 minutes which beats the other places nearby hands down (both price and quality of computers) There is wireless on each floor which you can ask for daily passwords (comes free with room) There is a small resturant downstairs as well. Rooms are nice with a/c, fan, tv, washing basin, and en suite bathroom. Maids no longer clean daily if you dont leave the "clean room" dorrhandle sleeve on... .which is handy if youre tired of maids touching all your stuff in other small hotels like I am :) While not cheap, its located across from the central train depot and that is priceless. There is no elevator so dont bother with this one if you are disabled and cant climb some stairs. Food vendors line the street outside as well and options arent too outlandish for even us farang to try. Just remember that there is no quiet street in this area. Bangkok is loud and they wake up early too :P For a quiet room youll need to stay in a hotel with rooms above say, the 30th floor lol

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

For 1000bath in low season, you have a big room with tv and A/C. The room is really clean and the location is really great (in front of the Huamlampong railways and the Chinatown). The road in front of the hotel is a little bit noisy but it's ok! There is WI-FI but no breakfast included. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

After a few days in Bangkok, we were excited to move on to Chiang Mai via train. No such luck for us--we arrived at Hua Lamphong Station several hours prior to our scheduled train departure only to be told that all trains were cancelled due to floods. Stuck with our bags and no wi-fi to do our own research, we spoke to a travel agent at the station who spoke highly of SK Boutique. ("Across street, very nice")

Pros: Lively neighborhood, walking distance to china town, spacious room with balcony, airconditioner, clean bathroom, helpful staff
Cons: No elevator and the stairsteps are strangely steep, traffic noise--but you're in Bangkok!

Room Tip: Expect traffic noise in the morning, but the superior room with the balcony facing the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celestoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#318 of 862 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Silom
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
At Hua Lamphong Hostel
#126 of 1,210 in Bangkok
389 reviews
Pathumwan
Inn Stations Hostel
Inn Stations Hostel
#316 of 1,210 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#108 of 1,210 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#99 of 1,210 in Bangkok
100 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
2W Bed & Breakfast
2W Bed & Breakfast
#116 of 1,210 in Bangkok
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SK Boutique Maha Nakhon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SK Boutique Maha Nakhon

Property: SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
Address: 326/23-25 Rama 4 Rd | Maha-Pruttaram, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SK Boutique Maha Nakhon 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SK Boutique Maha Nakhon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing