We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks good but very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Atrium Ratchada 13
Ranked #484 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
bangkok
Level Contributor
226 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Looks good but very poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I just love being greeted by a scowling nasty receptionist... Passport was her first word... not Hello... then she said deposit? what deposit I pre paid... she only said deposit again... ok for the key I replied... deposit she said again... how much I asked...she then screamed at me DEPOSIT... so I screamed back... How Much... lovely! The room was ok... clean and comfortable but never again... when I checked out it took 12 minutes for someone to come to the desk. Location is good but someone needs to train the staff in hotel hospitality!

Room Tip: plenty of other much more pleasant places close by to stay at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abigmagilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
13
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

If u dont mind staying away from Sukhumvit or Pratunam, this is a great plc to stay also. I just need a room and dont need any facilities like 5 star or any frills.As M out most of the time Room is big and clean except one of the the towels had some wear & tear. There's a fridge also with complimentary drinking water

Location is very good although is by the alley (quiet and away from the main street). As you walk out from the hotel towards right u can get plenty of local food during bfast which is cheap and during dinner even more stalls and shops are open. Or walk a little bit further u can reach the morning market for Bfast and there's night market too in the evening. One can get plenty of food too. Massage centre are nearby too.There's one seafood restaturant called Somboon near the MRTA station which is famous for the crab dishes(never try)

MRTA station ( huay kwang) can take you all the way to Chatuchak weekend market, Sukhumvit station to connect to BTS ASok station, HuaLamphong (train station) it is also a station to get down to go to Chinatown (just exit 4 and get into the bus takes you to Yaowarat in front of a hotel - abt 12THB)

Booking direct with the hotel is cheaper than any other website.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockerteers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

1. We got a studio type with 1 queen bed and a sofa. The room size is pretty big that 2 extra single beds can really fit inside the room.
2. The bathroom looks nice and clean. The water pressure is good.
3. AC works really well and i had nice sleeps!
4. It's a 10-min walk to the main road where MRT(Huai Khwang Station), different stores and spas are located.
5. There are many convenient stores and authentic thai food stores within the area that are very affordable!
6. Our room and the public areas are clean.
7. Elevator is kinda small but somehow fast.
8. This place is excellent for short stays or if you just need a room to sleep.
9. Rate is very competitive. It's cheap. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hermanotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is slightly out of the way but easy to get to via the metro. It's situated down an alleyway in Ratchada 13. It's a very comfortable hotel and very clean. if you stay here ask for a room at the bacl close to the top. the views over Bangkok in the evening are amazing. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel back in March after booking this hotel on www.booking.com but when we actually arrived at the hotel, we found out from the receptionist that the hotel walk in rates were cheaper than the online rates. The receptionist however was not very helpful and didn't entertain our requests to cancel the online booking (which was not paid yet online) and pay base on the walk in rates. We were contemplating to just walk out of the hotel but it was already very late by then so we just paid based on the online rates in the end.
Overall, the hotel is decent and clean and there are a few stalls just outside the street. The MRT station is a 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

the room is big, equip with things that i need also come with a standard 2 door refrigerator. for the rice not even 40usd a night we can't complain much, other than it,s located inside of the soi, but it has two 7-11 within surrounding and street food. 10 mins walk to famous night bazzaar HUAI KWANG.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor, other than for unblock views also to avoid noise of those motor bike from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donlim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have some difficulty reviewing this place, because there are vastly different reviews here (from bad to good).....and really all of them are true and a good attempt to analyze the entire living situation at this location. I have stayed here a few times over an extended period, maybe a total of just over 60 days.....both long term and daily. The rooms are basic and clean......and at a lower cost for a location which is a quick walk to the MRT. However, if you cannot speak passable Thai and cannot navigate the Thai "style", perhaps this place is not for you. Sometimes when you try to save money, but are not the type of person who can live in a Thai neighborhood, you make a big, uncomfortable mistake. I think that accounts for some of the negative commentary here. The young girls who work in the office are certainly not "professional" hotel reception workers. They are minimum wage earners who have little education and certainly no education in dealing with European and American customers in a hotel setting. Yes, they are like little girls playing with their smart phones, sending "Line" to their friends, while you are standing there getting angry. They could not care less that you are standing there.....they don't know what you want and only speak Thai.....so, they hope you will walk away.....and that is the deal on that. If you can communicate in Thai, they will gladly leave a message for the manager who is sometimes (not often) there in the day time and can speak reasonable English. If you need assistance at night, you are screwed and that is the only way to put it. The hotel's main customer base is Thai and other Asians who are staying more than one in a room and enjoying the low price. These customers are in their 20's for the most part and some can be noisy when returning from a night out in BKK.....if you can't deal with that, don't stay here because as mentioned the design of the place allows noise to travel throughout the "atrium". The wifi can be tough at times, it dumps your connection repeatedly. If this annoys you, don't stay here. The A/C works good, the rooms are clean as long as you keep them that way and the location good. Bottom line is if you can't "rough it" a bit.....don't stay here as you can drive yourself crazy with the little things that happen here regularly.....and no one to complain to amplifies the situation for some. On the positive side, they are an honest bunch, calculating electric and water rates fairly if you are a long term customer. Also, some decent street food right in front of the place in addition to a plethora of 7/11's.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnQuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Park Residence @ Bangkok
#487 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Myhotel Cmyk@Ratchada
#486 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
All Together Suite
#700 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Din
Ratchada 17 Place
Ratchada 17 Place
#766 of 851 in Bangkok
2.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Praso@Ratchada 12
#339 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atrium Ratchada 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atrium Ratchada 13

Property: The Atrium Ratchada 13
Address: 208 Soi Ratchada 13, Ratchadaphisek Rd., Din Daeng, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,158 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atrium Ratchada 13 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atrium Ratchada 13 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing