We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in BKK, unless you're a non-smoker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Ranked #179 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My only gripe with staying here was the smoking room that I was put in. I have made an online reservation directly with the hotel a full 2 and a half months before my stay there. I have indicated that I wanted a non-smoking room as I hate cigarette smoke and I have allergic rhinitis.

On arrival, at check-in, they said their non-smoking rooms are full. And it was late at night, so I was too tired to go look for another hotel. They promised to put an air purifier in the room, which they did not, despite repeatedly going down to the front desk that the air purifier was not brought into my room. The room reeked of cigarette smoke, and though I was transferred to a non smoking room the next day, all my clothes in my suitcase all had the smell of cigarette smoke.

There was absolutely no apology from the staff for their oversight, despite the fact that it was not a last minute booking for a non-smoking room.

So if youre a non-smoker, just be prepared to be shoved into a smoking room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melauck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was recommended by a friend (expat) who lives and works in Bangkok as a recently opened hotel. For $75 a night we got an excellent room, very clean and spacious by Holiday standards. I had my doubts since I've never stayed at this change before, but I was pleasantly surprised with the room. The service was good, but their breakfast (free) was an excellent bonus. Also, free WiFi! Would stay again despite the fact that many people said I could find places under $50 a night in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We where 3 nights in the Holiday Inn Express Siam in Bangkok. This is a very good located Hotel and very close to the skytrain and supermarket. The hotel is nearly new and super clean, the stuff is very friendly and the brakfast is realy great. For us as european it was a tasty breakfast. wer will come back for sure! thank you

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Globetrotter80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Great location: 5 minutes walk from MBK, 3 minutes from Skytrain and from a local food market. New hotel, clean rooms, great breakfast. And they have laundry facilities. We really liked the hotel and we definitely come back on our next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecatelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Location --> Pretty good , lies in middle of everything , well connected by BTS national stadium station
Food --> Breakfast(complementary) , Didn't have much choices, But the Take away breakfast was very nice.
Self service --> carry your own luggage
Staff : Very friendly and helpful. Issued us a key for each one in rooms. Helped us to reach certain tourist destinations.

Room Tip: All rooms are almost the same. Lifts here are hitech/pretty fast so no worries of top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punjabitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Mom and I stayed at Holiday Inn Express Siam for four days, three nights. We chose the hotel because it was one of the newest in Bangkok.


Location was fantastic. It took only a minute to walk to the BTS National Stadium station. From the BTS you can go anywhere in Bangkok minus the hassle of traffic and bargaining for fare with tuktuks and taxis.


The room was adequately appointed and spotless. I loved the choice between the firm and soft pillows. The design was hip. The room was spacious enough. It had everything I needed in a hotel room: cable TV, and iPod dock/alarm clock, coffee making facility, room refrigerator, and hairdryer. The biggest plus is the free in-room WiFi!


Breakfast was satisfying. The room charge already included their Express Breakfast. It gave you a choice whether you wanted to eat the breakfast there or take it to go. They have ready to-go coffee cups and carriers, and you can grab and go muffins, bread, jam and fruits of your choice. You can also choose to eat there, where they also served congee, scrambled eggs, chicken sausages and fried rice. There were three kinds of fruit juices, a variety of teas and of course, coffee.


The staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was fast too. They allowed us to check out late, and also kept our bags after we checked out, giving us more time to shop before our trip back to the airport and flight departure.


I would definitely recommend this hotel. I would also stay in this hotel when I go back to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaymee0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This Holiday Inn Express hotel was opened in Bangkok early in 2012. It still has the newness feel about it. The room price, lower than other Holiday Inns in Bangkok reflects the fact that it does not offer services and facilities that the other full service hotels in the chain do. For example there is no swimming pool nor porters to help with luggage to the room. There are trolleys available to load your luggage on to take to room.
The rooms are small by HI standards of full service HI hotels and there are not the provisions in the bathroom - incidentally which did not have a bath tub, just a shower - that you would expect at more expensive HI hotels. Just soap in dispensers for the handbasin and shower. Although rooms are generally small they were squeaky clean and well insulated from noise outside. Free wi fi is available in the hotel and the refrigerator is left empty enabling you to place in it what you want and so escaping the hassle at check - out time of having to account for what was or was not consumed from an already stocked refrigerator. Breakfast is included in the room rate and there was a surprisingly varied choice of food for what is regarded as a low priced hotel. During our stay it seemed that many Thai business people stay at the hotel during their visits to Bangkok. This was evident at breakfast time.
The hotel is well located being within walking distance of the National Stadium Station on the Sukhumvit line and the Siam Station on the Silom line. From either of these stations it is a short inexpensive ride to either Nana Station on the Sukhumvit line or Sala Daeng Station on the Silom Line to reach the entertainment areas of Sukhumit Road and Soi Cowboy on the Sukhumvit line or Pat Pong on the Silom line. For those not interested in sampling the vibrant night life at either of these places you are well able to reach many other places of interest for tourists on this rail network. The hotel is located within walking distance of Jim Thomson's house, the Bangkok Art and Culture Centre, Siam Discovery and the Siam and Central shopping centres as well as near numerous restaurants and smaller shops.
Across the road from the hotel is the National Stadium and other sporting stadia. Our room, with its floor to ceiling windows faced these facilities and the railway line but no sound from these entered the room.
Staff were pleasant enough and were able to handle the groups which were booking in at the time we arrived and independent travellers equally efficiently.
When getting a taxi to the hotel you need to be clear to the driver about the location. Some drivers, when they hear the words "Holiday Inn" tune out for "Express" and you can find yourself being taken to the HI on Sukhumvit Road.
The hotel is offering introductory rates to stay at the hotel but these rates are not much lower than that charged by the HI Silom, a full service hotel, Guests intending to stay should be aware of this.
Overall we had a pleasant stay in a delightful hotel which offered excellent accommodation at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Check HI website for room prices at this and other Holiday Inns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#152 of 891 in Bangkok
1,560 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#91 of 891 in Bangkok
2,245 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 891 in Bangkok
5,656 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#78 of 891 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Address: 889 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located at National Stadium Sky Train Station, in the centre of Siam Business and Shopping District, we are steps away from most Bangkok's favorite dining and entertainment options and 45 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is a convenient base for shopping and sightseeing, head to the Jim Thompson House and Bangkok Art and Culture Center to buy souvenirs and explore Thai culture.The hotel features 300 brand new rooms and all rooms are designed for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom, bedding and enjoy your favorite music with our iPod docking station to recharge after a long day.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including MBK, Siam Paragon and Central World, and located on the BTS sky train line, guests are a short ride away from Chatuchak Weekend Market where travellers can experience the best of Thailand’s street stall culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing