We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Ranked #183 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the protest... We called them specifically asking them about the protest and they said everything was fine and that the protest was not near by, but when we got there the protest was literally outside our hotel... Because ye road was blocked we had to walk to the hotel about 500 metres. Everyone we wanted to go somewhere we had to walk a fair bit all the roads around us were closed!!! It was hard getting to the hotel and out of the hotel. Their restaurant was also closed coz of the protest so they couldn't do any room service so it was pretty disappointing that they weren't honest on the phone when we had asked them... Last thing keep in mind... The workers were lazy and grumpy but that could have been coz of the protest

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeina911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Zeina911,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving us with your feedback. I take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with our staff. I will investigate this incident and to make sure this incident will not happen again. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show how great our hotel is.

Please feel free to contact me personally for your next visit.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

909 - 915 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days. It was a gr8 experience .
Cleanliness of the rooms and linen and proximity to MBK mall are the main attractions of the hotel.
Breakfast had a variety of dishes and all of us enjoyed a lot there. Will visit this hotel again when in Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurpreetkaurbindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear gurpreetkaurbindra,

We are very glad that we could impress you with our Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam. Thank you for your visit and taking the time to leave a great review for our hotel.

Our key focus is on great team delivery and offering value for money in a great location, the cleanliness of the rooms always one of the top positive feedback. This enables everyone to save money with us and spend it elsewhere. I am glad you absolutely enjoyed our services and offering with all the features you highlight.

We look forward to welcome you again when your next visit Bangkok.

Stay smart with us.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

As the word "express" suggests, this isn't the place if you're looking for a grand resort. It is everything you need if you're going to be spending most of your days exploring the city rather than staying indoors. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable, but the air conditioning does run on the cold side even when I put it up to the highest setting. The location is great, within walking distance to all the big shopping centres and the sky train. Despite the protesting being very close to the hotel, we felt safe because of the security outside the hotel and their need to check bags and belongings every time someone entered the hotel. Don't expect much from the breakfast, it is the same thing everyday and pretty standard.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Bonanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Bonanaa,

You have just described the hotel in the best way for what we are which great location, close to everything, room is clean and comfortable.

Moreover, our hotel is very concern the security and safety of our valued guests especially during the protest. We have to make sure everyone who enter our hotel must check their personal belonging and to ensure inside our hotel is secure and our guest feel confident to stay with us.

I look forward to see you again when your next trip in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

In the heart of the protest rally, we were surprised by the security and the friendliness of the guards securing the hotel perimeter. room was very well maintained, clean, and toilet was sparkling dry. Reception staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

breakfast was simple and delicious for our taste buds. coffee was nice.

Access to shopping centers was near.

we will check out this coming Sunday February 2, 2014. will come back here again.

Keep it Holiday Inn!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chip Loon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Chip Loon A,

Appreciate you taking time to write a review for our Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam and thank you very much for your great comments and staying with us. We are proud for our service delivery in a great designed select service hotel.

Please let me know when you are making your way back to Bangkok and we look forward to welcome you again to our Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam.

Stay smart with us!

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Good:
New and very clean
Great location on Rama I
Short walk to MBK centre and Siam malls
Short walk to sky train station
Helpful and friendly staff
Great self use laundry
Fantastic included breakfast
Large shower, comfy beds

Bad:
Too much furniture with an unnecessary desk, desk chair and large arm chair
Not a lot of space for 2 people in twin room
Very cold air-conditioning that couldn't be adjusted

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jbootsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear jbootsaus,

Thank you very much for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. We are very glad that we could impress you with our Holiday Inn Express and appreciate your great comment about the team and the product. I am very proud of our hotel with the service delivery and great guest feedback we are continuously receiving.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I have stayed over 40+ nights at this property since it opened in 2012 along with over 100+ other IHG properties in Thailand in the last 2 years. I am an IHG Platinum member and am incredibly disappointed at the quality of service I received by the breakfast staff and the general manager on my most recent stay. I have written directly to IHG management requesting they further investigate the matter, but it is unlikely I will ever return to this hotel as the service has been appalling.

I believe this is a new general manager, as of my stay on January 29, 2014 because I did not recognize her from my prior stays.

I would highly question the training and hospitality background of the general manager of this property as she called me a liar, ignored all my suggestions about breakfast, security, and fitness center upkeep. The type of service she rendered is akin to a 1-2 star hotel--not an IHG flagged property. The manager even refused to provide me her name (she also was not wearing a name tag), and taunted me to complain to IHG management.

My Complaints:
1) The hotel refused to refund my non-refundable reservation because it sits nearby a Bangkok Protest site. Obviously if I would have known the BKK protests, I would have picked another hotel
2) As a result of the protest, you could NOT drive to the hotel and you had to walk and carry your bags through the BKK heat
3) Breakfast is the same items--everyday
4) Service is horrible
5) Shower gets WAY to hot, and is not safe for young children
6) This hotel threatened to put a wheel lock on my car after I parked at this hotel--not realizing my car was that of a guest of their hotel in a prior visit
7) Internet is slow, and you are not able to Skype home to friends and family.


However
The beds are good, and the location is OK, as long as there isn't ANY possibility of a protest in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mattfs218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear mattfs218,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam and for the time that you have taken to write your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed you classify us as horrible service when we are unable to cater for your request which our staff tried to explain and provide the information to you. Please understand the team not to be able to fulfill your request even you wanted everything that not in the hotel standard in term of security and other guest satisfaction, but the standard of Holiday Inn Express must be the same in every property.

We have thorough investigated the information you explained for our staff service at our Great room (Breakfast) that our staff tried to stop and grab your hand during you took breakfast food away. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide you the footage of CCTV, but as the professional service none of our staff will treat our valued guests same as you explained since we had investigated with other witnesses. We never called our guest as a liar that you tried to condemn us. We always do our best to assist our guests and make them the memorable and pleasant stay.

Since you explained us yesterday afternoon, the issues were for service and our security guard scanning every guest belonging. Please understand our guest security is our top priority during the protest, we must ensure every guests treat the same and guests feel more comfortable to stay with us without any worries of any strangers and unsecure.

You also mentioned in tripadvisor that hotel locked your car wheel on the day you stayed, you did explained to us upon your arrival that you parked your car near Chulalongkorn hospital and unable to drive your car into the hotel. We have no record of any wheel lock and your car in the hotel car park. Our hotel provides the proper car park with automatic boom gate system, so we won’t be able to threaten every guests and no policy to lock any wheels.

The day that you checked in our hotel around 18.00 hrs, you had called our hotel for providing the better route. Our Duty Manager also provided the route to our hotel by avoiding the protesters area at Pathumwan intersection and use Buntatthong Road because every car is able to drive into our hotel. He also point out that there are no riots in our area but street protests. To date, none of our guests have reported to us any incident, which they considered put them at risk. They’re more feel confident to stay at our property with professional security standard and feeling safe to stay with us. Moreover, I wish to emphasize that the protests are peaceful. Although we recommend to stay away from the rally points, we are not in a position to provide any guarantees.

I am surprised to read your comments about hotel refused to refund the non-refundable reservation due to protesters in Bangkok, as it is our practice to first offer an extension of the deposit to be valid through in 3-6 months in 2014 and if this is not acceptable, we will provide a refund.

Since year 2012, that you mentioned to stayed with us, in our system record for 12 nights, we are very much appreciate for your royalty and choosing to stay with us.

If you look for the full service hotel experience - Holiday Inn Express is not the right choice. If you look to stay in a great location where you can save money with us and spend elsewhere during your trip in Bangkok-that’s what we are.

I understand that you are looking for different service levels and apologies that the offers we made to you have not satisfied you in term of Holiday Inn Express and IHG standard.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Clean and cheap location with a great bar lounge , where you can sit in- and outside. The bar owner Li made our stay at the Holiday Inn Express special. He is always taking care of his guests and should you have a question or need support he will always help you with a smile on his face. Thank you Li for having been so nice to us, we really enjoyed the time in your bar and in the hotel. Next time in Bangkok we will come again! Take good care :) Anja

Room Tip: Weiter unten Raucherzimmer Weiter oben Raucherzimmer Dachterrasse toll aber kein Pool-> SUPER P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Jack T,

We are very glad that we could impress you with our Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam. Thank you for your visit and taking the time to leave a great review for our hotel.

Our key focus is on great team delivery and offering value for money in a great location. This enables everyone to save money with us and spend it elsewhere. I am glad you absolutely enjoyed our services and offering with all the features you highlight.

Best regards,
Amy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#154 of 891 in Bangkok
1,597 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#93 of 891 in Bangkok
2,297 reviews
Siam
Novotel Bangkok on Siam Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#52 of 891 in Bangkok
5,727 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#80 of 891 in Bangkok
1,241 reviews
Siam
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam

Address: 889 Rama 1 Road | Wang Mai, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £58 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located at National Stadium Sky Train Station, in the centre of Siam Business and Shopping District, we are steps away from most Bangkok's favorite dining and entertainment options and 45 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi International Airport.Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam is a convenient base for shopping and sightseeing, head to the Jim Thompson House and Bangkok Art and Culture Center to buy souvenirs and explore Thai culture.The hotel features 300 brand new rooms and all rooms are designed for everything you need for a great stay. Start the day right with our free Express Start Breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom, bedding and enjoy your favorite music with our iPod docking station to recharge after a long day.The hotel is minutes away from some of the city’s most exciting retail and dining attractions, including MBK, Siam Paragon and Central World, and located on the BTS sky train line, guests are a short ride away from Chatuchak Weekend Market where travellers can experience the best of Thailand’s street stall culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing