We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #11 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile


Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Location of the hotel great especially with the added bonus of the BTS being literally on the doorstep and the water taxi's to the Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha etc one stop away.
For a little extra charge we stayed in an Executive Room with the the use of the executive lounge on the 32nd floor. The lounge was great (better than that of the Banyan Tree where we stayed on our last visit) the service was excellent the waiting staff are eager to serve hence your glass is never empty!! The rooms are comfortable and spacious for a city hotel the bathrooms are modern with a great shower.
Check in and out was very quick and easy and we were offered complimentary beverages whilst waiting for our taxi in the Swizzle Lounge even though we had checked out.
Other likes: free wifi (never had a problem with connection) great pool area with an open air panoramic view of the city/river and of course the staff who are a credit to the hotel. Any criticism that has been aimed in previous reviews concerning the staffs poor English in my mind is very unfair after all English is probably their 2nd/3rd language and I know for a fact that my Thai is non existent!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saddlersbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,216
    1,210
    183
    42
    18
See reviews for
873
3,125
296
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We are currently staying at the Eastin Grand and love it!! Beautiful rooms, breakfast was great, the infinity pool is gorgeous but on the smaller side which is ok because it was not crowded...the best thing is how convenient it is...it has its own bridge to the sky train, so it's only a 1 minute walk and you have access to the BTS..so convenient!! We arrived late, dropped our things in our room and hopped on the train to watch a late night more at Siam peragon within 10 minutes...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexnycuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferntree Gully, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I travelled solo, and booked an executive room, I found the room extremely comfortable and clean, with a lovely bathroom. The tv was good and WiFi, fast and reliable. I did not have the same issues with the lifts that others have complained about.
There were renovations being done on the 33rd floor, and through day the lounge was closed, but at those times I could get complimentary refreshments from the Swizzles Lounge Bar on the ground floor, very nicely done too. The executive lounge was open for breakfast and evening cocktails though. The quality of the food and drinks in the evening is very good , with excellent service from the friendly staff.
For me , the location of the hotel is very good and I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: If you can , choose the executive level, I think very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Arriving at Eastin is already there a nice experience. Taxi/limo or car turning up like to a mansion but still in the "core" city center. Sathorn is a much better area to stay at than Sukhumvit, where I have also stayed sometimes. Eastin offers a direct bridge to the Surasak BTS (railtrain) which I think, together with the MRT (sub) is the optimal way to move in this city.

OK, hotel!
Fast and smooth check-in, bellboys coming 1 minute after you arrived to your room with your bags. Room well furnitured, great bed, up-to date interior and an excellent bathroom, good view on higher floor (stayed at 21:st). Stunningly poolarea (infinity facing southwest) at floor 14 together with a well equipped fitness center which I used four times (free water of course). Breakfast..............yummy........dimsum, international cuisine, Japanese, chinese....Healthy.........fruits in all varietys.....all you can ever want is on the menu.

Did not try the restaurants at night but tried roomservice, ordered Thai, and it was perfect so my bet is that the restaurants in house is up to the standard.

Today checking out................and it is a little like leaving home :-(

Will I come back...............ABSOLUTELY!

Room Tip: Ask for floor on high floor facing west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100000Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Nothing exceptional except for the swimming pool area and the view (prefer the sky rooms).

It was not a memorable experience and definitely not what I expect from a '5 star hotel'.
We were much more impressed by our 1 hour experience at the Mandarin Oriental SPA.

To finish on a good note, Eastin Grand Hotel staff was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ploui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGS_General_Manager, General Manager at Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear ploui,

Greetings from Eastin Grand Sathorn Bangkok.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to maintain our high standards and attend to any problems as they occur.

I was pleased to learn that you found our staff to be really nice. Comments such as yours only make my team strive to offer our guests a real Thai welcome.

I would like to offer my regrets that your stay did not live up to what you expected but sincerely hope that should you visit Bangkok again you would consider us as your choice of accommodation where we can have another chance to prove why the vast majority of our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay.

Yours sincerely,

John Westoby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here while in Bangkok

Pros:
Great Location - a walkway connects the hotel to the Sky Train station which facilitates low-cost travel to the various tourist sites.
Great Breakfast - The breakfast was incredible.
Value for Money - Couldn`t believe we got the hotel for c.70Eur a night.
Wifi - Free wifi included which was reasonably fast.
Staff- The staff were excellent, spoke English well and went out of the way to assist us.
Pool area - The infinity pool on the 14th floor was very impressive.

Cons.
Struggling to recall any.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_Kennedy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaka
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Connected to BTS skytrain. We got room with free all day skytrain passes, valid from 6AM to 12midnight. Very convenient to get around Bangkok using skytrian to avoid traffic jam. Breakfast was very good. Our room had a nice view on 16th floor facing the river. The ladies in the check-in were very quick to get us checked in, and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mashuralam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,769 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Property: Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing