We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to excellent, if only...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #11 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Close to excellent, if only...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Difficult to fault the structure: new building and modern comfort, direct connection to the BTS with easy and close access to either the river or the Silom area, comfortable and quiet rooms, excellent free wifi.
Buffet breakfast offers a large choice of hot and cold fares, western and asian.
Without forgetting the outdoor pool on the 14th floor for a stunning view of Bangkok.

Unfortunately, aircon was not working in our room on the 33rd floor... Several phone calls and up to 3 different so-called engineers one after each other, trying to fix the a/c unit in the room... and each of them : "now please wait 1 or 2 hours, temperature will cool down". Room temperature never went below 26°C.
Shame that the customer is made to believe that things are being fixed and no offer to change room... until we demanded it when it became obvious that things would no go any better.
Room change was done swiftly (despite the surprised face of the reception staff) and solved the problem.

Eastin is close to excellent... if only the staff was better trained to handle problems in a more appropriate way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,228
    1,213
    183
    42
    18
See reviews for
874
3,133
297
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

one of the few hotels, if not the only one, which is directly connected with the BTS station. Very nice breakfast with lot of variety and comfortable modern looking rooms. The hotel is still new so everything is in an excellent condition. Service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in Bangkok, so we had no idea what was in store for us, hotel-wise, but the East in Grand surpassed all of our expectations.

Our room was on the 31st floor, with views out over the city towards the Chao Phraya river; the decor was luxurious; the staff were fantastic - able and eager to help with any issues we had; and my wife fell in love with the breakfast buffet.

The pool looked great, but unfortunately we were too busy to try it. The views from poolside were fantastic, though.

The only downside is that it's a little remote for alternative restaurants for evening dining. Location-wise for attractions though, it's actually very good, because there is a direct link from the 3rd floor to the BTS station.

Great hotel, and heartily recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blenderovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

we stayed 2nights at eastin grand hotel sathorn during the anti-goverment protests in bangkok. the staff was really friendly and helpful even concerning informations where to go and what is safe or what colour not to wear :-) rooms spacious, with nice views over the city and with everything you need and really comfortable beds. pool area at 14th floor was also very nice with great beds and seating area. restaurants are not cheap for what are you used to in the city, but is normal in a 5* hotel. breakfast was also good with a lot to choose from, but they should provide some more western food(there was no cheese).
overall great experience for good price(170eur/2pers/2nights). recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swisssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EUROPE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

It was so convenient to take Skyline from the airport to this hotel. We had good options for a big breakfast every day. The front dest crew were very polite and professional. Upon check in, the front dest found a possible booking mistake and their manager immediately approached us not only for better clarification but also for our finicial benefits. The problem was immediately solved.

The room was absolutely clean and comfortable. The bad was perfect and I could sit on the couch as long as possible before I had to go to bed. The restroom was so big and bright.(Though I did wish they also have a cleaning hydrant for girls hygiene, which is commenly found in Thailand. ) Before we took off for our midnight plant, we still enjoyed the stunning infinite pool, the food and drink, watching the sunset and the busy traffic on the ground. Though we should have booked some more days with the Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, this hotel absolutely made it a perfect ending of our vacation.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was a great value for money and a nice little sanctuary from the bustle of Sathorn...took us ages to get here from the airport as the approach to the sathorn road was very very slow due to some dodgy traffic lights (we waited like 20 minutes at one of them for the light to turn green).
Other than that, everything was perfect.

Our room was on the 39th floor with a great view over the city. The best thing about the hotel was the infinity pool area which has plenty of great seating and attentive service. Come early if you want to grab the poolside loungers though.

Also, the breakfast buffet was very generous and offered plenty of both local and international cooked foods, every day with some alteration.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent hotel with awesome food only small train trip to to the heart of bangkok, room was cleaned to a high standard the staff were always so happy to serve and assist you in any way possible. Recommend to anyone thinking of going to bangkok! p.s comfy beds too. Worth every cent.. pool area was relaxing with an extraordinary view !

Room Tip: didnt see any other than my own but i dare say there all going to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,786 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Property: Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelbag, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing