We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #10 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is located in the Sathorn area, not too far from everything but also not very close to the main attractions. Be ready to take a cab or take the skytrain right in front of the hotel. At least Bangkok's cabs have very fair prices, so no problems getting around for cheap.
The welcome during check-in was nice and professional and the overall service is outstanding. Expect the best Thai smile and friendly service. The pool gives you a nice view over Bangkok and lets you relax in the heights over the hectic street sounds that happen when you look over the edge of the pool.
Only the breakfast was not as good as expected. I am lucky to have enjoyed Bangkok's culinary world many times and have eaten better food in hotels around Bangkok/Thailand. Unfortunately there was hardly any fruit choice at the buffet. Still choosing this hotel will satisfy all your needs when you aren't a foodie or don't eat breakfast anyway. Maybe the club lounge that was offered to us during check-in for 1500 THB per night had a better food choice. Unfortunately we didn't take the deal.

Room Tip: Try to get a room up high to enjoy the beautiful view over Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcellTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,573
    1,302
    192
    44
    18
See reviews for
974
3,326
323
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

had a great time at this hotell, spent a week lounging at the pool and the excecutive lounge. excellent people, location, room and of course the stunning pool area. loved it. will of course come back to this hotell. it is located one stop(BTS) from the river where you can take the boat to chinatown or khao san road if you like. and only three stops(BTS) to the shopping district Siam/centralworld/MBK. i would recommend everybody to go here :) it was our third time in Thailand and by far the best time.

Room Tip: choose one of the executive rooms it cost a bit more but you will have a stunning view from your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAntonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent 3 nights here at the hotel at the end of a 3 week holiday in SE Asia.

Positives:
-Great transport links
-Excellent breakfast
-Fantastic infinity pool

Slight negative:
-Service from concierge

Transport
The hotel has good transport links with a BTS station (Surasak) right next door can get to this by a skybridge. The Grand Palace was only a short journey from the hotel (one stop on the BTS to the river and then a boat to Tha Chang pier) - was very easy to get to. The main shopping malls are only 4 stops on the BTS - so very convenient.

Hotel is right next to an expressway so was able to get to the airport within 40 minutes - however the roads around the hotel can get very congested in the morning and evening rush hours

Breakfast
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice on offer loved the dim sum, rice noodles, congee, and sushi. also had a good choice of fruits, pastries, cereals and western style hot food.

Pool
Fantastic views from the pool which is situated on the 14th floor

Concierge
I found the service lacking with one of the guys at the concierge desk. My wife and I asked him some questions on two separate occasions and both times we found him cold and aloof and certainly did need match standards I was expecting at this hotel. However this was a minor blip in a very enjoyable stay at the hotel

Would recommend hotel and I will certainly come back on my next trip to Bangkok

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corion34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was taking my girlfriend on her first visit to Thailand and we had our first two nights in Bangkok before we travelled onwards. We decided to stay at the Eastin Grand Sathorn mostly because of the many positive reviews here on TA, and that I felt the urge to "splurge" a little bit if it's just a short stay.

I originally booked us in an Executive Deluxe room, as I wanted the incredible bath tub-view of Bangkok. We also added the package with the BTS day-passes included for our stay. On arrival we were upgraded to a Premium Deluxe room as the room type we booked was not ready at the time, for free - awesome.

The bathroom had amazing natural lighting, with both a tub and a shower, and all the necessary amenities like razors w/shaving cream, toothbrushes w/toothpaste etc. were available. The rest of the room was spatially equipped with a king size bed, an office station, a chaise lounge and a sofa group as well as a closet which could open from both the bathroom and the bedroom. The in-room safe was easy to use and the Wi-Fi was fast and stable. The mini bar was decently stocked and there were tea/coffee-making equipment available.

One thing we noticed was that there was a locked door connecting to the next room (we think) and because of this we could hear a lot of what was going on in the neighbouring room. They should probably look into soundproofing these some, but it didn't bother us that much.

We are both pretty late sleepers and not really breakfast people, but we found the breakfast in both the regular restaurant and the executive lounge to be good with a wide selection of choices. One thing I have experienced many Thai hotels have trouble with is getting the bacon done right - but at the Eastin this was no issue.

We only made it once to the infinity pool at the 14th floor during our short stay, but everything there was great. The view is incredible once the sun sets.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Theres a direct link on the third floor to Surasak BTS Station, which can take you to the Siam area in 4 stops for shopping or to Saphan Taksin at the river in 1 stop the other way if you want to go sightseeing. The Chao Phraya express boats go from right down the station exit. Also, be sure to try the boat noodles at the street restaurant at the bottom of the stairway down the other exit of Saphan Taksin station - incredibly good and incredibly cheap!

There is a Family mart almost right next to the hotel - often missed because everyone just hops on the BTS from the third floor. Take a left after exiting the hotel on the ground floor and you should be there in about 50-100 metres. Great if you need to stock up on basics like water or just need some late night snacks.

The staff in the Executive lounge did great in helping me arrange for a taxi for our onward travel in Thailand for the next morning, printing out directions, phone numbers and addresses for the taxi driver and getting a price quote. The taxi driver did however charge us a little extra on arrival at our next destination than the originally quoted price, which honestly was no problem because I was going to tip him that amount anyway. As it was a regular taxi I doubt there is anything the hotel could have done to prevent this from happening.

The staff in all the hotel departments were great, friendly and attentive, and I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone considering. We are probably staying here again next time we visit BKK.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better view - executive lounge is also recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I spent two nights here over a weekend break from traveling in Asia on business. I spent a lot of time on TripAdvisor researching hotels and chose this one for its BTS station (inside the hotel) and its view of the river. Interestingly, we ended up never using the BTS but it was certainly very conveniently located. We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My room was fairly small but it had a nice long shelf/bench for setting luggage on and I still had room to put other things on it or even sit on it. The bed was fairly firm but still comfortable. The bathroom was good-sized - there was plenty of counter space and a big walk-in shower. However, the lighting in the bathroom was terrible. It only lit up the sink and the counter but my face was in the dark. It was very difficult to see to apply my makeup. This was my biggest complaint about this hotel.

We were on the executive level so we could enjoy the happy hour. We were at the top of the hotel so we had a great view of the river. Breakfast was good and hotel service was prompt and excellent.

But the best part about this hotel was the infinity pool on the 14th floor! After several hours of touring Bangkok temples in 97 degree heat, coming back to the pool really made our day. The pool is gorgeous and so refreshing. The view from the pool is amazing. The bar area around the pool is large and comfortable. Once we settled in there, we never wanted to leave. :-)

I want to give a special mention to Berm, who works at the concierge desk. On our last day, we told him we wanted to shop someplace indoors with A/C before we left for the airport. He made a suggestion and arranged free transportation for us from the hotel to a shopping area and then on to the airport. We saved a lot of time, not to mention money with his help. Thanks Berm!

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again. The concierge desk gave us several suggestions in advance of our trip for tour guides and a spa down the street (AMAZING massage!) and made all reservations for us in advance. We just found this hotel and all its staff to be very helpful and gracious!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and one with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jobethco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was only a short stay there this week, but the staff and hotel ammenities were both fantastic. Our luggage had gone missing on our flight and the staff were diligent and persistent in efforts to retreive our luggage. Check in was simple, breakfast was lovely and the quality of room was excellent... especailly for a well priced hotel. We also enjoyd a room service lunch.

Room Tip: Great views from our level 28 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel are located near to bts surasak which are connected to 3rd floor of hotel thru aerobridge. Its convenient to go Grand Palace and surrounding area from this hotel thru bts. The road are heavier traffic during morning and evening hour. The Health Land Sathon are within 5-10 minutes walking distance. Room are clean and tidy . Services are great. Food varieties are limited. Free wifi at room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ps w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 862 in Bangkok
579 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Property: Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing