We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #9 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly luxury”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In this hotel you have all the luxury you want with a ver kind Asian staff. Rooms are clean and pretty. A good shower and a very comfortable bed... Nice view. Quiet... Good restaurants and a very nice executive lounge. Happy to come back!

Room Tip: If you want pure luxury chose for an executive room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithmulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,665
    1,326
    194
    44
    19
See reviews for
1,012
3,372
329
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The upsides to this hotel are the infinity pool on the 14th floor and the cleanliness of the rooms.Now for the downsides.The food and drinks in this place are way overpriced.O.K you could argue that this place is supposed to be a 5* hotel but this is Thailand and 7 quid plus for a burger and the same for a litre of chang beer is a bit steep.If you have to pay for your breakfast that is a 12 quid touch.But the biggest let-down for this hotel is the location.Yes it has its own private walkway to the skytrain,but if like me you enjoy a stroll of an evening and visit a couple of cheap local bars forget it.There is absolutely nothing within walking distance either side of this place except banks,schools,colleges,hospitals,clinics and office blocks,which for Thailand is quite unbelievableThere is one small Family Mart to the left of the hotel and a 7 eleven to the other side and that's your lot.Yes the pool is impressive but I certainly would give the Eastin Grand a miss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGS_General_Manager, General Manager at Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ray1867

Greetings from Eastin Grand Sathorn Bangkok.

May I begin by thanking you for posting a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I read each and every review myself to ascertain the satisfaction of our guests and use this opportunity to address any observations raised by those who stay with us.

I must offer my sincere apologies that your stay did not match that of the vast majority of our guests.

I regret that you considered our food and beverage to be “way overpriced” as our prices are fully commensurate with other hotels in our market segment and we constantly monitor our competition and what they are currently charging. If I may inform you that our latest survey indicates that in the many cases we are actually cheaper than our immediate competitors and on a number of items charge less than properties that are in the hotel categories below us.

The standard price for our breakfast buffet is 530 baht (9.70 gbp).

Eastin Grand Sathorn has been well noted on Trip Advisor for its convenience in allowing guests to have easy access to both the entertainment, shopping and river areas of the city in a matter of minutes and I am sorry that you considered it to be terrible based solely on your inability to have an evening stroll to visit a bar. However if you were not aware the next BTS sky train station down at Saphan Taksin would have allowed you to access the Asiatique riverfront entertainment zone with a plethora of bars etc. which has been highly recommended by our guests.

Thank you

John Westoby
General Manager
Email: gmadmin@eastingrandsathorn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a perfectly adequate hotel that is very well located by the skytrain, only one stop from Taksin and the big boat station for getting up to the Royal Palace etc. The immediate vicinity is uninteresting, so its proximity to the skytrain is its biggest asset. The lobby is functional: this is not a hotel to linger in, although the Club facilities are well worth it. The rooms are just a little too cramped - even the corner room I had. The hotel could certainly do with more lifts, as there is a bad rush hour wait. It is a good hotel but not deserving of some of the hyperbolic praise heaped upon it. An easy landing in Bangkok, but not a place to stay too long in.

Room Tip: It seemed good value to go for Club Lounge access and a corner room, which was brighter and bigger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RimboofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

It is very strategic to business and leisure.

Food is great! The breakfast buffet, I love it!
Sweet and very polite staff
Infinity pool and bar, just nice to hang out & relax after a busy business day!

I will certainly stay over and over again in this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliBethEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location right near the skytrain. It has a lovely pool area and restaurants, room service was also great.
The staff were very helpful and check in was made easy.
Highly recommend this hotel for those who wish to relax while exploring the city of Bangkok.

Room Tip: Recommend getting the premium deluxe room, well worth the extra money. You get a beautiful room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Bangkok is exactly what you think-it's loud busy and at times a little too much! For our children it is the gateway to partyville but to two middle aged travellers it was at times overwhelming!So a good hotel was essential for our brief stay in Bangkok-and this hotel ticked every box. It was calm and very comfortable. We were upgraded to the 31st floor and had a wonderful room with a huge bed and great bathroom. Having breakfast every morning was a treat too with every nationality catered for. Plus as I booked with the hotel we got the deal with the sky passes which again was a great bonus-this was an easy way to get around. The pool was chilly when we went but my husband liked it. What made it for me was wondering back after the frenetic markets and sites to the wonderful bar for cocktails-yes you will pay more than in the many bars in the city but it was so pleasant . They have restaurants here which are Ok too-though again pricy compared to what you can buy in the city. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book with the hotel directly and they have many deals on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

While recently traveling to Bangkok, my parents and I stayed at the Eastin after the recommendation of friends. It was great! My parents commented on how the two things that most exceeded their expectations while we were in Thailand was the hotel breakfast and the pool.

Th breakfast was an impressive spread featuring local fruits and main course options for tastes from around the globe. The infinity pool on the 14th floor was a great place to relax and rejuvenate away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We went on multiple food tours while in Thailand and were surprised at how well the food at the hotel stacked up. And don't forget about the happy hour at the bar in the lobby. It was a great way to get a night started and very reasonable.

Also, being connected to the BTS was awesome. We took the train and subway around just the city, and it was great to walk off the train and right over to the hotel without ever having to go down to the street.

Not sure when I'll be back in Bangkok, but for those headed I would recommend the Eastin. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn

Property: Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Address: 33/1 South Sathorn Road | Yannawa, Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn is one of the premier hotels in Bangkok's luxury hotel sector. This deluxe property is centrally located in the Sathorn business district, and a short drive via the nearby expressway to Suvarnabhumi International Airport. It is unique in being the only hotel in Bangkok with its own direct access to the BTS Sky Train system at Surasak Station literally bringing the city to your doorstep. All 390 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites are decorated in soft, subtle tones and feature the latest amenities for the comfort of both le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing