We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Music but something is missing about service..”
Review of Oskar Bistro

Oskar Bistro
Ranked #87 of 11,055 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Description: Equal parts restaurant and bar, Oskar Bangkok caters to diners and late-night partygoers offering them hearty fares and signature cocktails in a casual atmosphere. ▶︎ HUNGRY? Oskar’s menu is the brainchild of French Chef Julien Lavigne, a Michelin-starred restaurant collaborator. His creations display a passion for French and Mediterranean food. Diners can enjoy family-style dishes with a twist, ranging from bite-sized appetizers to hearty main courses, whether in the cozy dining room or al-fresco on the decks overlooking the vibrant Sukhumvit Soi 11. ▶︎ THIRSTY? A handpicked and affordable selection of our favorite vineyards worldwide make up our 100-bottle wine list with over 15 available by the glass. The cocktail line-up offers an extensive list of classic and signature cocktails expertly crafted by our bartenders. ▶︎ PARTY? A rotating line-up of Bangkok’s best DJs spin tunes every night. Not to mention our successful Oskar-themed parties held all-year round.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Music but something is missing about service..”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very crowded and good music but music is sort of loud so you need to shout while you are having your conversation. Drink is very tasty but food is very salty and service from Male staff is not so friendly... They need to put some more smile or pay more attention to their customers.. Female staff are ok... Good place to hang with good mixed crowd ...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackoPisut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    232
    40
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bad Gleichenberg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and good open wines”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday evening to Oscar at Soi 11, it was packed.... Amazing... We had to wait for a table at least for 15 min, we didn't mind and had a glass of wine. The selection of the wines is small but very good selected also the value for money is good. Then I ordered a braised beef check with mashed potatoes.., definitely the highlight at this evening, perfect braised and the mashed potatoes were grandmothers style. I'm sure we ll be back soon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanielFreismuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great vibe..excellent food and drinks”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Fab place, service was top notch, food was lovely and the vibe was great. We had the foie gras salad , prosciutto pizza, chicken satay skewers and lots of great drinks. We loved the place so much we back ever day

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank abcdindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food, good vibe, not the best value”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Couple, June 2014 & July 2014

A place to go if you are tired of street food and want a trendier sit down meal. Very good atmosphere, excellent menu selections with daily specials and a good drink list. Pricey for Bangkok - but cheaper than you would pay for a similar meal in another city (it is still Bangkok).

We ate there twice - once at the beginning of our trip and again at the end of our trip. Location is great - easy to get to and near other bars, restaurants and the night market.

First time we had a whole fish ($18 Cdn) and a grilled salmon salad ($14 Cdn) - very fresh ingredients - salad was excellent. Second time had an amazing tomato goat cheese basil crostini ($8 Cdn), steak with kampot green peppercorn sauce ($20 Cdn) and a salmon coquette ($13 Cdn). All well seasoned, not greasy or oily at all.

Would recommend this to a friend to go to - but I would warn them that it would be a pricier meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellnghonestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Restaurant with club vibe”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Oskar’s is a restaurant with a club vibe, which was evident with the DJ who started playing later in the evening {great tunes by the way!}.
The place is cozy with several seats around the large bar area. We had a great spot at the window, right next to the bar. We had an amazing dinner, enjoyed the great vibe in this restaurant and obviously the amazing food. Would recommend this place to anyone who is visiting Bangkok.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Writer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oskar Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Oskar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing