We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to go by MRT.”
Review of Wat Hua Lumphong

Wat Hua Lumphong
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.50*
and up
Flavors of Bangkok: Small-Group Chinatown Evening Food Tour
Ranked #73 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Easy to go by MRT.”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

NIce place to visit and make a merit.
Can reach by using MRT.
The MRT station is in front of the temple.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank konmink25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    80
    34
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thonburi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thai-Chinese Temple near University”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Wat Hualamphong stands at the intersection of Rama 4 and Siphya Roads and is located close to the Chulalongkorn University.
This temple is popular for Chinese cremation ceremonies and is usually very crowded with revelers coming to make merit and going to the small adjacent office of the Poh Teck Tueng Foundation, a volunteer service for road accidents and rescue service

Helpful?
4 Thank mamallmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Donations for a good cause”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

There are 3 temples that are under this buddhist organization, of which the most convenient temple would be beside Sam Yan MRT station; you should use Exit 1.

Notwithstanding the praying done by buddhist, the donation of coffins can be done be anyone from any religion, i believe. These died bodies were usually found and unclaimed by any family members, thus this organization raises funds to put them in coffins and let them rest in peace.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Always make a donation here.”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This Wat is close to HuaLampong station and is busy 24 hours a day.

If I have had a successful business transaction, I try to get to this Wat to donate a coffin. Yes, it may sound strange, but the poor cannot afford this luxury and it is my way of simply saying "thank-you".

Oh, don't be intimidated by the number of people...everyone is very helpful and even the smallest donation is appreciated.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Khunant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Temple”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is the temple we frequent when we go to the city and my wife wants to make merit. Easily reached via the MRT. The area to the west of the main temple is where you can see devout Thai's making merit.
My favorite part is the amazing murals on the inside of the main temple itself. While my wife prays I enjoy the paintings.
If your interested in visiting temples while your in Bangkok, you should not miss this one.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mstribling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Hua Lumphong also viewed

 

Been to Wat Hua Lumphong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing