We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Oriental Residence Bangkok
Ranked #8 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pluses here are the very luxurious and well equipped bedrooms with a mini-kitchen and a very comfortable bed including a choice of pillow types. The service from staff is first class and friendly.
The downsides are that it is in the embassy quarter and not within walking distance of any shops, cafés or restaurants. The breakfast is horrendously expensive - €7 for a small cup of coffee for instance, and the swimming pool is freezing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martincoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear martincoles,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you appreciated our amenities, the staff and service.

I am sorry you found our location to be quiet. We are about 5 minutes from Central Embassy for luxury shopping and restaurants. Also, many restaurants and grocery are in All Seasons Place across from the hotel. In the near future, another 5 more restaurants are coming within 5 minutes from the hotel. Currently, they are under construction.

We regularly price-check comparative five star hotels to ensure that we are charging a fair price for the quality of food and beverage that we provide so again I am sorry to learn that you found us to be expensive.

Please rest assured that each point you have raised has been discussed in detail with management team and we are committed to ensuring we rectify all issues for future guests.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    375
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
584
1,116
185
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Oriental Residence early 2013, read all the positive reviews before we headed to BKK, showed up and stayed at a 1-bed suite. It was wonderful in so many ways and did not disappoint us. Staffs were very courteous and professional, rooms kept clean and impeccable, and stylish and modern furnishing throughout! We loved their mattress (so comfy we slept like babies!) and interior design so much, inquired about the makes when we came back home. The customer service rep actually did ask around and gave us the brand names! The swimming pool with the city view is also a wonderful place for retreat.
Its location is also very convenient, right next to the hotel are US and Dutch embassies and BTS station is within 10 min walking distance. Central Chidlom, one of the best places for shopping, is also close by, try Food Loft on the top floor! Be sure to try street food vendors near the hotel as well, my husband picked up some good street food that we enjoyed so much.
Whenever asked by friends regarding where to stay in BKK, we always recommend Oriental Residence!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msc0c0ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear msc0c0ha,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at our hotel and I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The Oriental Residence Bangkok is a beautiful little hotel with a team of highly motivated people who want to make sure that you have a memorable time with us and I am delighted that you appreciated this.

Refer to our location; we are located in a wonderful setting with lots of trees and beautiful views of Bangkok but only minutes away from shopping and restaurants. Additional to that, Central Embassy just opened and only about 5 minutes away with more shops and more restaurants.

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. I have passed to everyone and thank you also for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your future trip to Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First visited in November 2013, was only natural that we'd return when visiting Bangkok again.

This time, we stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments as we were a group of four. Oriental Residence provides a real sanctuary on Wireless Road. Bangkok is busy and bustling but this hotel gives you a really nice break from all the noise outside.

Fantastic beds in the rooms (with an outstanding pillow menu) as well as comfortable overall amenities. A tiny downside - the breakfast is a tad overpriced if it's not included with your room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielmarcevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Danielmarcevans,

Thank you for posting a great review of your stay at The Oriental Residence Bangkok. We love welcoming back returning guests, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the fine facilities the hotel has to offer. We agree the location is superb for both leisure stay and business stay as we are located at peaceful area of Bangkok but shops and restaurants are just a short journey away.

The team cannot wait to welcome you back as a regular returning guest on your next visit.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice place to return to after a busy day at work. The atmosphere is of a cozy boutique hotel. The staff recognize you and are friendly. Jack the doorman was especially helpful with arranging my transportation out of the downtown areas. The decor is New England classy and contemporary and rooms have a kitchenette and are generous in size. Only slight negative comment was the limited cable channels and some of them like Discovery channel were in Thai.

The surrounding area has improved a lot since I last visited two years ago. Central Embassy is within walking distance with good shopping so you don't need to travel out of the area if you don't want to. This makes the hotel especially convenient with lots of amenities around.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heelows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear heelows,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with and thank you for returning once again. It is a great reward to receive such positive feedback and we are truly grateful. I have passed your kind words to all the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A good location for a hotel depends where you need to be in the place of travel. If you need to be near Ploenchit and Central BTS or the US UK and Dutch embassies, then this is where to be.

Its part of a residential apartment block where certain floors have been allocated to be operated as a hotel. The small reception and lobby send a clear message that this is not a large property. Its elegant, even cosy. Although it carries The Oriental label, the level of service does not match The Oriental. Not all receptionists, restaurant staff and room service staff speak good English and maintain consistently high levels of discreet attentiveness which are some of the trademarks of The Oriental. Perhaps that's a good thing as it may swing everyone to this property! The chief concierge deserves a mention as he is as good as any leading concierge in any leading hotel anywhere. Use him constantly.

There is only one F&B outlet - Cafe Clair. It has the ambiance of a French brasserie. Breakfast has the usual offerings of a 4 star establishment. The lunch menu offers western and thai food. Both are reasonable to good.

The swimming pool is large, mostly covered and therefore the water is cold. The hotel should consider exposing more to the sun or heating it. The chairs around the pool are comfortable. Service around the pool is not good as there did not appear to be any staff in the morning

The 2 bedroom apartment has an open space with a kitchenette, dining table, living room area, one master bedroom and one very small bedroom. The open space is elegantly furnished and comfortable. The small bedroom would be suitable for 1 adult and 2 young children. Its truly very small. The master bedroom is slightly smaller in size than a 4 star hotel bedroom. Well furnished and stands out for having 2 large wardrobes. Ample storage space for clothes which is becoming an increasing problem in hotel rooms. The bathroom is large with a bathtub, shower stall, toilet stall and 2 basins. Very nice.

I liked The Oriental Residence very much. It insulates you from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok which made me very relaxed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: use the concierge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear siglo,

Thank you for leaving your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Oriental Residence Bangkok. I was really pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed all the aspects of your stay with us. I was very proud to read your comments about my team. They put a lot of very hard work in to ensure our guests expectations are met on a consistent basis. I have already made a special point of sharing these words with them.

I really do hope that we get the chance to meet your expectations once again in the near future.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent our last night in Thailand here, in a two bedroom suite on the 15th floor. Very luxurious space with a nice kitchen and dining area in addition to lovely views out over the city. The staff was extremely competent and helpful. I really appreciated the "pillow menu" as I'm very particular about my pillows! We got an excellent rate thru an online booking site as well. I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear jason r,

Thank you for your review of the Oriental Residence Bangkok following your stay with us and I am trilled to hear that the staff providing outstanding service. We do work incredibly hard to ensure the highest level of service possible is provided to all our guests and I delighted that you appreciated our efforts and was not disappointed.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room that we stayed execellent - literally residence type - kitchen / laundry machine inside, and dining table for inside meal. Try cafe claire - very authentic restaurant providing not only Thai but interenational cuisine. The hotel is situated nearby the embassy, and close to BTS stations - walking distance even to Siam / Zen / Central world. Staff are very professional and helpful indeed. The stay (for a transit) was too short to fully enjoy the entire hotel. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: 120m2 spacious rooms - 2 x twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at Oriental Residence Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear toshio2,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback following your recent stay at the Oriental Residence Bangkok. I was really pleased that you enjoyed the room facilities. I was also really pleased that you enjoyed our food and bevearge service at Cafe Claire and the overall service you received. I have passed on your kind words to the great team here at the hotel and I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

With kindest regards,

Paul Siriroj
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,300 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,124 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Residence Bangkok

Property: Oriental Residence Bangkok
Address: 110 Wireless Road | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Residence Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Residence Bangkok: Grace in every detail, warmth framed by compelling beauty, Oriental Residence Bangkok offers refined accommodation surrounded by a lush tree in the centre of Bangkok. Situated in the prime location, residents at Oriental Residence Bangkok can enjoy the stunning panoramic view of Bangkok’s skyline with easy access to the embassies and shopping centres and business communities. Featuring 145 lavished appointed serviced residences, which include Executive Deluxe, One-Bedroom, Two-Bedroom, and Three-Bedroom Suites, Oriental Residence Bangkok also consist of 46 private residential units. Residents can enjoy unique dining experience from Café Claire – an all-day dining restaurant, Savelberg Thailand a gourmet French restaurant, and 24-hour In-residence dining and Oriental Bar. Exclusive facilities include meeting rooms with natural daylight, residents’ lounge, fitness centre, and outdoor swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Amari Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing