We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Oriental Residence
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,824)
Filter reviews
4,824 results
Traveller rating
3,621
870
210
62
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,621
870
210
62
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslumpini parkclub signaturepark societyred oven restaurantrooftop barearth elementwater elementwood elementpool partyearth roomchristian lacroixwater roompark viewwood roomwater themewelcome drinkstaff uniforms
Filter
Updating list...
3,189 - 3,194 of 4,824 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Seem to be the talk of the town for now and being in town we So decided to try the Red Oven Restaurant. It is their all day dining restaurant and in the evening has a very nice scrumptious buffet spread. The high floor to ceiling glass windows gave you a sense of spaciousness and a panoramic view of Bangkok City and the Lumpini Park. I am sure by daylight, the view is just So breathtaking.

Buffet spread of different food items were in small and limited potions but I can understand since they just opened and the restaurant was not busy. Selection were sufficient and delicious. However, the grilled + Japanese section tucked away in a far corner of this hugh hall looks So pathetic. Along this corridor there are lined with dining table + chairs and hardly any space to work except in a single file. So very poor selection of meats i.e. the usual suspects were presented not at all special.

You can tell that the servers were extremely new and So raw. We had to ask for the wine menu, we had to ask for more bread, we had to ask for a change of cutleries, we had to ask for water So you can imagine by the end of the evening how exhausted we were just asking. Wines are served by a representative from Wine Connection. Non of the servers could help you with any wine selection or recommendations except this one lady running single handedly around the room. We did not want to take our chance just incase she missed us So while we are getting our food at the buffet, we accosted her and asked her for some recommendation. She chose a red that was So perfect for us.

The desserts were rather pathetic too, they are kept in a refrigerated glass showcase and I think the temperature that it was set was too low and all the lovely basic french pastries that had cream in them were So hard like a rock.

Towards the end of the evening, I asked for more water and was told that the cashier had closed their journal and could not serve me water. Apparently water is not included in the meal and we had to pay and that was fine with me. At that point, I got rather irritated, stood up and walked to the hostess stand and demanded to see the manager. Was told that the manager had gone home and I demanded the next level who can assist me. Too much hassle just to get water!!

Next we wanted to split our bills into 3 but was told "mai dai" cannot in Thai Language. By than we were So "over" and wanted to leave immediately. So one of us paid up.

Frankly, never to be repeated. Too many choices in Bangkok

Undoubtedly the So product is very superior, modern, trendy and flamboyant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank gsbmSinCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We have noted each point you have raised and would like to apologize for an experience which left you overall dissatisfied, particularly for the disappointment with our services and food quality at Red Oven. The issues have been brought up and discussed among our Management team. A solution has been given to ensure that such an incident will not occur again in the future.

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedback which will help us improve both of our services and products. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I am very impressed with this hotel. From check-in till check-out, everything is perfect.
I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014

Dear Guest,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

There might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Pluses:
1. chic, contemporary and spacious room.
2. we got a promotion, so that we spent on dinning and drinks within the hotel up to 2,400 Baht.
3. minibar in the room was complimentary. We've got soda water, soft drinks and snacks in the fridge. There was a coffee brewing machine in the room, and they used illy coffee.
4. the infinity pool was excellent. There was also steam room and sauna room, which was free to use.

Minuses:
1. The food quality was unstable, and sometimes not up to standard. I ordered poached eggs during breakfast on all four days. Well, they didn't look like poached eggs, but just a messy egg white and egg yolk putting on a toast on three mornings. The other morning? well it was good because the cook was supervised by her boss in person after we'd complained about it. Also I ordered mixed berry smoothies in a series of 3 days at the swimming pool. Well it looked and tasted different everyday.
2. There were rooms for improvement for the English proficiency of the staff.
3. Wifi was down for the whole night as the IT team was said to be not working during the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the park
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KKLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We are glad to hear that you like our room design and enjoyed our room amenities and facilities. However, we are sorry to hear that some of our services and products did not reach the standards we pride ourselves on. We have noted each point you have raised. We would like you to inform you that we are implementing some measures and trainings to ensure our services and products are improved.

Once again, thank you so much for your comments. We are looking forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Nusara Arampienlert (Ms.)
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews