We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms. But hotel is a mess!”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #15 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in the "So Comfy" Earth Element room for two nights. First, the taxi driver couldn't find the hotel, and we had to navigate him through the city to find it. Good thing we had a GPS in our phone! Later, we found out that almost none of the taxi drivers knew the hotel location. Another problem is the area... traffic is so heavy, you cannot go anywhere without being stuck in traffic for long time. BTS is 10-15 min. walk away, and it is a very HOT journey along one of the busiest roads in Bangkok.

First, when we arrived, we were welcomed by this really nice guy, who spoke an excellent english, he was really polite and told us some stories about the hotel. Then we went to the lobby at 9th. floor for check-in. Here, we were presented to the welcome-drink, a fun gimmick where they bring these glasses to the table and mix the drink, which changes color when the last ingredient is added. Then we started a magical journey to 21st floor, where our element room was located. We were happy to find out that we had a view over the Lumphini Park. Though we had to look out through dirty windows - they looked like they haven't been washed or polished at all, on the outside that is. What a shame. The room was as taken out of a fairy tale, WOW!

After the first day, we really enjoyed the comfy bed. We went out the first night, and found out that nobody in the reception area on ground floor were greeting or asking for help getting a taxi. Everytime we had to go to them and "interrupt" them while they were doing nothing.

When walking around the hotel, the staff in Red Oven seems to be very bored. It is not a busy restaurant, and we only spotted a couple of people eating lunch or dinner there. The prices are a joke - over 300 baht for a Tom Ka Gai soup! 690 baht for kids meal? 180 baht for a Latté, that wasn't even warm when brought to our room... And then there is this awkward feature, when signing the paper brought to you with the items ordered to the room: you have to fill in your name and room number of course, but then there is this field called "Tip", and i guess they think it's normal to tip everybody for even the smallest thing. Like bringing a cold cup of hot latté to the room.

We paid a fortune to get breakfast included to our room. But what a joke. Tables in Red Oven are so close to each other, that you can almost smell what they eat on the table next to you. The breakfast buffet was a joke. They ask you what you would like to drink, without presenting any list of choices for you. So i just ordered some orange juice and boiled egg. The eggs never arrived to our table, i guess they forgot. Breakfast buffet ends at 10:30, i can understand that, but 15 minutes earlier, staff starts to take the buffet down, not caring about the many guests still eating and picking food from the buffet. The buffet was a joke anyway - such a mess, impossible to find anything. Bread and pastry is located one place - cold cuts and cheese - a completely different place. Had problems locating the butter too.

The hotel focuses a lot of their energy on promoting countless events, and during our stay two filmcrews were shooting in the kitchen and at a common area. I guess there will be a lot of partying going on in the weekends, and with only 4 lifts it will get "fun" to share those with the party-crowd i guess... The Hi-So Club is not accessible unless you are "something". The Park Society bar has this crazy dresscode, with no flip flops and no shorts. That means many hotel guests. I guess they don't want us to use these facilities.

They have these nice rooms for people who wants to relax and enjoy a good time, but the rest of the hotel is so snobbish! What a shame.

Wanted to book 4 more nights, but instead we will go to Hansar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomasloewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

We have noted each point you have raised and would like to apologize for an experience which left you overall dissatisfied, particularly for the disappointments with the Street Lobby team, Red Oven breakfast and service, and the in-room dinning experience.

We would like to discuss your experience with us in more detail but unfortunately we cannot obtain your details directly from the Tripadvisor site. So, please feel free to provide your contact details to us via H6835-HR2@sofitel.com. As a Guest Experience and Quality Manager myself, will contact and discuss with you at length about the dissatisfied experience for further follow up.

However, at this stage, we can guarantee to you that all the points from your feedback have been brought up to management team and further follow ups have been ongoing. For example; in order to promote the hotel location among taxi services, we just recently hold a taxi campainge event for 2 days by inviting taxis in Bangkok to participate. The event went exceedingly well and over 600 taxis participated.
Please also rest assured that the management team of our Food & Beverage is looking into it to improve all points you kindly commented.

We are sorry once again for your experience. We pride ourselves on our open management approach and commitment to guest satisfaction. On that note; I look forward to hearing from you and thank you again for your valuable feedback, which certainly helps us improve to the best standards.

Warmest Regards

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,846 - 2,852 of 4,384 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

The roof Bar has an amazing view and is worth the two lifts (again, I dont understand this architects' obsession with lifts : why do new hotels require to take at least two elevators to get up to the roof ?).

Service is pretty OK, cocktails are nice and the caipirinha perfect. It is a beautiful place to go before dinner or to get started before hitting discos' floors.

One regret: the seats are a piece of design...but so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HISKANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Dear Khun HISKANDER,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 visit at the Park Society.

There might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

You will have read all the other reviews and it's all pretty good. Had checked into an 'earth' room 4 hours before. Had a query about dinner and found one of the girls in reception- in fact she found me asking if she could help- an impressive start.
'if you have time could you show us one of the 'metal' rooms either today or tomorrow?'. 'Of course, right away!'. And I must have been enthusiastic about the metal room because after her tour (they really are proud of this hotel, and I think rightly so) she sat us down to return in a couple of minutes. ' I have 2 pieces of good news, I have an excellent table for dinner AND if you would like, we can move you to a metal room immediately'. You don't get that every day.

Ps we thanked her as we were leaving for another hotel (we were exploring) ' I know someone there' she said. When we arrived there were chocolates waiting for us. Now that is exceptional!

Room Tip: Depends on your taste, but the metal rooms are the most polished- the website shows them all and a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonyJBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Dear Khun AntonyJBM,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

There might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Club Floor was not yet open and the substitute a poor comparison- Can't help but think the hotel opened too soon as not yet completed. Would seriously need to lift it's game as standard was not up to expectation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusara A, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent experience with us at Sofitel So Bangkok.

Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with regards to the Club Signature that was not yet completed during your visit. As a result, to ensure our Club Signature guests to enjoy their benefits, we then arranged MIXO to ba as an appropriate substitution area for Club Signature guests to enjoy their afternoon tea, canapes and refreshment drinks. However, I am very sorry to learn that the arrangement did not meet your expectation.
Nevertheless, we are delighted to inform you that our Club Signature has been fully operated since last Thursday 16th August.

We hope that you would give us an opportunity to welcoming you back in order to restore your confident once again.

Thank you So very much for your time and valuable feedback as it will help inprove our standards to the best.

Warmest Regards

Akira Yan-Ubol
So Experience Guru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth1999
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel. This is a very modern, urban and contemporary hotel, excellent architecture and amazing chic/modern interiors designed with Monsieur Christian Lacroix, so this will give you an idea of design approach. Even the staff uniforms are modern and chic..

The hotel opened in March 2012 with about 200 rooms and each room has a apple mac mini with full integrated entertainment and free WIFI throughout the hotel. Both park or city view rooms are great, both with amazing views. Rooms are very spacious with floor to celing windows, large bathroom and plenty of room and great amenities. Comfortable beds and free in-room minbar including soft drinks, water and snacks. The pool area is amazing with a 30 meter outdoor pool, sun deck and amazing park views, the gym is well appointed with the latest equipment.

The point of difference with this hotel is the training of the staff, the service was outstanding with being professional, warm and personal. Starting from the checkin process at arrival, to reception and the welcome drink right through to the restaurants and in-room dining. The concierge, reception and guest centre staff (in person and by telephone) were so accommodating and provided amazing follow through.

The hotel location is central, a few mins walk to the train station or 10 mins walk to the sky train. This is a great business or leisure hotel for people who appreciate a modern, urban and contemporary hotel exprience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Dear khun Paul D,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Have stayed twice in the property and this is still under "soft opening". The hotel is definitley very modern in every aspect be in room or in service. The rooms are very spacious and well served. The cofee shop at the 7th floor has a very large spread for all the main meals. The best part of the stay is the offer of USD 40 per night of stay to spend on F&B and spa. The service is excellent barring communication gap with many of the local personnel. It was remarkable to findan Australian female employee who was ever smiling and ready to help. This really overshadowed the language barrier with others.
A hotel I would love to go again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoraDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Dear khun GoraDelhi,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2012 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us an excellent review, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you and seeing you become our regular guest!


So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#39 of 887 in Bangkok
6,602 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £130 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing