We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best stays I've had in Bangkok!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best stays I've had in Bangkok!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Stylish and trendy hotel, great service staff, and the little surprises started when we were picked up by limo and treated to superb Thai hospitality from the onset. Room was great, ideal for the two of us. Only minus is it's not exactly in the part of town where we would like to be, but still near enough for shopping and entertainment. We'd come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest


Thank you for sharing a great feedback about your recent stay at Sofitel Bangkok.
We are delighted to hear your stay was fantastic, especially with the services provided by our associates.

We hope you will return soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Have a lovely weekend!


With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,885
    725
    178
    52
    48
See reviews for
459
1,742
382
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Most of Sofitel's sttaff are very kind, and room is so clean,also I love the theme of each room type.
I was satisfied everything when I stayed there.
One bad thing...
The water was not draining out of my bathroom sink.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kyunghwacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest

It is so delightful to know that you had a wonderful stay and appreciated the services provided by our associates.
However, we are very sorry that the drainage in your room did not work well. Our Director of Engineer has conducted an inspection for the whole property to ensure this issue is being rectified.

Thank you so much for taking the time to conveying us your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

With So Courtesy

Akira Y
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Sorry peeps for the late review, this was during my stay for Christmas 2012 and my second stay at this property! Location is excellent, decor fabulous but service was beyond being a nightmare! FOr me I like to use hotel amenities including room service but here it takes great efforts to explain what you need! We had a club room which never had warm water! Menu at the restaurant stayed the same for 3 days for lunch and dinner! Housekeeping did not speak English! My first stay in April 2012 I gave them the excuse that they were a new hotel but the second time this excuse was not valid! Dustin Thani on the same road has far superior service, food and for the same price!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Experience Guru at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Mr. Mohammed A

Thank you for conveying your feedback about your stay with us in last December 2012.
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback as we do believe in improving and exceling ourselves to the best, however, it would be even more beneficial if we receive the feedback not long after your stay.
As you can see since mid February, we only have had excellent and good comments from our guests, which indicates how much we have improved and that we are heading towards the right direction. This is the big credit for our lovely guests like you who kindly provide us sincere patronage and constructive feedback.

When you return on next visit, you can rest assured that our associates who been well-trainned are now filled with confidents and they are eager to provide you with excellent and high standards that we are proud of.

We truly hope you would give us the opprtunity to welcome you back and better serve you with a more typical and high standards that we are so proud of.

Thank you once again for your time and kind feedback.
Wishing you a lovely weekend!

With So Courtesy

Akira Y.
So Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I rarely start a review like this but; WOW! This hotel is brilliant.

Access to the Sofitel So Bangkok is easiest via Taxi from Bangkok's Airport. It shouldn't cost more than 250 Baht and takes around 35 minutes. The alternative is to get the high speed train and change at Makkasan to the MRT (7 min walk) then jump off at Limphini (exit 3) this will cost almost half of the price of a taxi anyway..

From the moment you walk through the doors of the Sofitel So you know that you're somewhere special. The staff are outstanding, the hotel design is modern, clean and funky! The fresh scent of lemongrass throughout the lobby makes you feel alive and the views of the adjacent Limphini Park are magnificent.

There are 3 different types of themed rooms, ours was wood. We booked the entry level room but it was huge! The bathroom had a huge free standing bath as well as a separate rain shower. The room had a large couch, huge LCD screen and every amenity you could possibly require. The mini bar is 100% complementary, you can purchase alcohol if required. The beautiful bed was so comfortable, the perfect place to rest after a day out in Bangkok.

The hotels pool area is amazing. A thin but long infinity pool gives uninterrupted outstanding views of Bangkok and full food and drink service is available. The hotels Gym is small but effective. The buffet breakfast is brilliant, everything you can think of, even ice cream is available.

There is plenty to do within 15 minutes walk of the hotel. Silom Rd is close by as is the MBK shopping centre.

Do yourself a favour, stay here! It's by far the best Sofitel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Guest Director at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Khun Evandstace,

Your comment and feedback about experiences during the stay in our hotel really made our day. We are so glad to hear you were having a Wow! stay with us. We do really appreciate that you really like the design of hotel, particularly with guest room and its amenities, hotel facilities, gorgeous view from our hotel as well as our refreshment and dining outlet. Your feedback would likely encourage us to improve ourselves even better in term of service and qualified productivity.
It is even brilliant to hear our Sofitel So is one of the best among all Sofitel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back as our regular guest.
Wishing you a very lovely week ahead!

With So Courtesy


Pablo Barruti
So Guest Director
Email: H6835-RD@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corowa, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Three of my friends and I stayed here this week through deals.com. The staff are very friendly & helpful. The rooms are great, very roomy, with everything you need. Breakfast is amazing, anything you desire is on offer. The pool has fantastic city views. The Chocolab has the most amazing chocolates & you can also have a chocolate making class. The floors have different elements, water, earth, wood, and metal all quite amazing. Certainly worth the stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Guest Director at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Khun Virginia P,

What a great feedback you wrote us here on Tripadvisor, I appreciate for taking your time writing such sweet words about our hotel together with your great experiences with us, we are so glad that the breakfast and Chocolab were very satisfying as well as the services provided by our team. Your adoration of our element-themes is appreciated.
Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
We truly hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy,

Pablo Barruti
So Guest Director
Email: H6835-RD@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is simply amazing. Apart from the beautiful rooms, the infinity pool, the beautiful breakfast and dinner with breathtaking views, it is the staff that set this hotel apart from any other. Thank you so much to Emilee, you have been wonderful as have all the staff at this fantastic hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Guest Director at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Khun Robyn D,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your previous stay with us. It is so delightful for us to know that you were having great stay with us and willing to be come back here. We do much appreciate for your compliment about our dining outlet and all of our associates. We would like to see you coming back here as our regular guest very soon.

Wish you super week ahead!

With So Courtesy,

Pablo Barruti
So Guest Director
Email: H6835-RD@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Sofitel So had a lot to live up to after reading TripAdvisor recommendations and those from trusted friends. I'm pleased to report that it lived up to our high expectations.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to So Club, which is a So Comfy room situated on the building corners (with floor-to-ceiling glass around the bed).

The room itself was well-equipped: a very comfortable "Wood" room, with a plush King-size bed, Mac Mini as the entertainment unit (very smart) and a decent sized bathroom.

There were two standouts:
1. the service, particularly in the Club Signature where the attention is personal and they remember you and your likes

2. the view over Lumphini Park - think New York Central Park - it's rare in Bangkok for a hotel to have such an amazing, uninterrupted and expansive vista



Things we liked:
- The vibe of the hotel: cool music piped in public areas, the scents, the staff costumes/uniforms, the themed floors and rooms (not gimmicky with bits of whimsy)

- The location: Lumphini Park is a beautiful view poolside and from the room. Plus it's located near Lumphini MRT (underground train)

- The pool and view are breathtaking

- Club Signature: such friendly and helpful people who really want to make sure you have the best stay you can. We had breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks there (all included)

- So Spa: great masseurs and beautiful rooms



Things we didn't like:

- The toilet is enclosed in a room with glass walls. The glass door has a handle that protrudes too far and could whack your head as you get up or sit down on the toilet seat. Just be careful. Ouch.




We had a tour of all the elements. I would recommend (in order of preference) Water, Wood (ours), Metal and then Earth (I couldn't face such a blue room).

We would definitely be back!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SachE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, So Guest Director at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Khun Sache,

Thank you so much for writing feedback about us, all of us are so happy to hear that your stay with us at Sofitel So has met your high expectation, as our guest rooms and other facilities were really satisfying. Monsieur Christian Lacroix, one of the most famous French designers who design staff costumes, and other Thai leading designers are highly appreciated that you have noticed about designs of entire hotel. Regarding design of the toilet, I have inform management team to rectify it immediately as guest security is one of our first priorities.
We are looking forward for your next visit as we are so happy to see you as our regular guest.

Have a great week ahead!

With So Courtesy,

Pablo Barruti
So Guest Director
Email: H6835-RD@sofitel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 852 in Bangkok
6,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,873 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelbag, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing