We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bangkok Gem”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #15 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked this hotel 8 months ago for a room with 2 double beds as their was 3 of us travelling, also booked hotel limo from airport to hotel 6 weeks before arriving.
Landed at airport and no limo took a little while to find hotel rep but she soon sorted out transport,
arrive at hotel and room type not available so they did an upgrade and took us to the room only to find someone else in it, back down to reception where Paul the Guru appeared and placed us in a wonderfull room on level 22 and threw in free airport transfers and breakfast for what we had been through.
After this things just got better with a coctail and canape evening the next night for all guests to meet with the customer relations people where we had the good fortune of meeting Layla who gave us great advice on what to do and where to go in Bangkok. The following day Paul appeared again and introduced us to Ken the tour operator who is the best person to see for any parts of the city you want to travel to in safety and without being ripped off.
Restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner with food to suit anyone.
Was our first trip to Bangkok and the hotel made it memorable, will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor with park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron1954Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Khun Ron1954Sydney,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Sofitel So Bangkok! I am very sorry about the rocky start, but I’m so happy that we were able to recover and provide you with a much more positive and memorable experience.
We also very much enjoy our So Guest Meet So Team Lobby Parties, and I will be sure to share your comments with So Laila, So Paul, and So Ken. It will be a big motivation to them!
On your next visit, be sure to check out our rooftop restaurant Park Society, with views of the night skyline!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,362 - 2,368 of 4,428 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

One more trip at the Sofitel So Bangkok and i must admit despite some hick up, i would recommend this hotel to both business and leisure. I have spent 8 nights for this last stay and planning another 10 nights by year end.
Great Service from the concierge guru to the check in team, red oven, club signature and hi so bar on the roof top.
The pool view is certainly one of the best you can get in Bangkok. Food at the Park Society is amazing again with the view, together with an attentive and professional service.
For some of you who want to enjoy the morning sun, you can always enjoy the sun deck on the back side from 8 am till 5 pm, all this in complete privacy.
Can't wait to be back !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanHHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Khun StephanHHongKong,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok! I’m glad you enjoyed all of our facilities as well as our services, and I’m so happy you would recommend us for both business and pleasure!
I hope that on your next stay you will be able to try one of our innovative spa treatments, such as our Serenity of Five Elements massage or our So Rejuvenating Facial.
See you again soon!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was my first visit to Thailand. I had heard about top service at the hotels but really had no idea how outstanding the Sofitel So visit would be. We arrived after midnight and was greeted warming at the door and front desk. The decor of the hotel is very modern and chic without being overwhelming. The young lady that checked us in also showed us to our wood element room on the 19th floor - great view of the city but no streets noise to be heard. Our luggage arrived very soon after we settled in the room.

The room was very spacious even with two beds, desk, and small couch. The bathroom was spacious as well with a full tub, shower, and separate toilet area. There is a glass wall that you can see directly in the bathroom from most of the bedroom. I think this is very romantic unless you are traveling with your bestie like I was. Even in this case, there are shades you can close for privacy. There is a nice size safe that can hold 2 iPads, SLR camera, passports, and Bose headphones.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast buffet is outstanding and I completely agree. It was also great that it was included in our rate. The breakfast area is huge and has tons of natural light come through. The buffet has both Western and Asian food. One morning I had dumplings, samosa, and fried noodles. The next morning I had pancakes and a omelette. There is different cheeses, cured meats, craving station, breads, and even ice cream.

The hotel is located very close to public transportation.

There's no doubt when I head back to Bangkok that I will be staying at Sofitel So as well as recommending it to all of my friends and coworkers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Khun cstocker,
Thank you for your reviewing your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok! How great to hear that we were able to make your first visit to Thailand memorable. I am happy that you enjoyed our Wood room, Red Oven breakfast, and romantic bathroom!
During your next stay, perhaps you could try our a la carte breakfast in Club Signature, as well as the many other Club benefits!
Have a lovely day.
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

So my buddy and I checked out various 5 star hotels (we have worked for various around the world as well) in Bangkok and the Sofitel So was one of the few that exceeded our expectations. The hotel atmosphere, hotel room, facilities, service were all perfect! Even all the hotel areas smell nice too! We would like to take this opportunity to thank Audrey and Ismael for their exception level of service (unfortunately we didn't take all names), but all members of staff deserve a great compliment!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deleeuwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Khun deleeuwj,
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok. I’m delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a perfect experience! I will be sure to thank So Audrey and all of the staff, which I’m sure will motivate them to work even harder.
We would love to see you again here at So Bangkok, and on your next visit be sure to attend our ‘So Guests Meet So Team’ lobby party so that we can all get a chance to welcome you back!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently as part of a Scoopon deal and absolutely loved it!
We stayed in the metal element room on the 15th floor - it was gorgeous, very spacious and very comfortable. We had a great sleep both nights, and there is also a pillow menu available if you wish to have different pillows. The decor of the hotel is stunning, impeccable.
The service from staff was faultless they really couldnt do enough to help you, and no request was ever too much - from tips about attractions and how best to get there, to ordering taxis etc, to just general queries and service - they were always so friendly and helpful.
The pool area is lovely and we spent an early evening having a relaxing dip whilst looking over the peak hour Bangkok traffic and watching the city starting to light up.
We ate breakfast both mornings at the Red Oven which was absolutely delicious! I have never seen a breakfast buffet with such a wide variety of choices - pastries, breads, muffins, cakes, waffles and pancakes, icecream, cereals, fruits, traditional English brekky, Thai style brekkie, egg station, hams/ cold cuts, cheeses -the list goes on, pretty much everything you could think of. We didnt have to eat until dinner both mornings after the amazing breakfast at Red Oven!
Make sure you take a hotel card with you when you are out and about, as some taxi drivers dont know where the hotel is located. The hotel have these readily available in Thai, so you can just hand those over to the taxi driver.
We had a great stay, and left wishing we had longer there. We will definitely be returning to the Sofitel So Bangkok one day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Khun Bec_Troy,
Thank you for your fantastic review of Sofitel So Bangkok! It is always great to receive positive feedback, and I’m glad you enjoyed our Metal rooms, MyBed pillow menu, staff service, Infinity Pool, and Red Oven breakfast!
I hope for your next visit you will be able to stay with us longer, and get a chance to have dinner at our rooftop restaurant, Park Society. The views are stunning with food delectably designed by Chef Paul.
Have a great day!
With So Courtesy,
Akira Y.
Director of So Guest’s Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

It is a modern designer hotel at intersection of Sathorn Road & Rama 1V road. This hotel has designer room in different themes- water, earth, metal, & wood. All these theme rooms are allocated on different floor with corresponding looby designing. Upgraded to water room on high floor 27 floor with views over Lumpini Park. Water room had bath tub with window facing out over beautiful park views.Room was a designer room with state of art TV, Apple note pad, interactive menu . On other hand lighting in room was not upto mark.This hotel service standard is excellent - right from Check in , conceirge, restaurant, club lounge. we had breakfast at red oven restaurant which had ample varieties & was delicious. Club lounge on 25 floor had nice decor. It has small terrace with nice river views. Club lounge provided complimentary afternoon tea with snack from 2.30 pm to 4 pm, free cocktail hours from 5 pm to 7 pm. .Tried their spa which was good. Ask for taxi from conceirge as they see to it that taxi driver charges you be metre. This hotel also provide complimentary tuk tuk to Siam Paragon.
Overall a Amazing stay in this designer hotel.

Room Tip: Go for water room or earth room . Try high floor room with views over Park as these room tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RANJU30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves M, General Manager at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Khun RANJU30,

So-wasdee khrub from Sofitel So Bangkok.

I would like to start by apologizing on the delay of this reply. I am the new appointed General Manager of the Sofitel So Bangkok and one of my ultimate goals is to reply to all reviews on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, I highly appreciate you for taking the precious time as to provide your experience during your 2013 stay at the So.

Even though you have given us a great review for the most part, there might have been some challenges during your first visit then, however, I can guarantee you now that if your plan brings you back to Bangkok and that you choose to return to Sofitel So Bangkok again, your experience will be thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of better serving you.

So kind regards,

Yves Mudry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AjaxAnth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Akira Y, Director of So Guest’s Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,622 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 889 in Bangkok
4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £132 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing