We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money.”
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #14 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the money.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Already upon our pick up in the airport everything was in total control. The staff was so good at everything. We booked 2 nights and we had a wood element room on 17th. After 1 night we asked if possible of moving to water element. 20 minutes later they had a room on 25th ready.
Their food, pool, service, wi-fi, fitness and rooms are some some og the best we ever tried.
Highly recommended by us if you want a hotel with a lot of class and a smart decor.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun Thomas S,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you for sharing the feedback and wonderful recommendation about your great experience of your recent stay here.

Next time try other room elements and explore other facilities like So Spa, chocolab and Park Society as I'm sure you will be amazed again!

We wish you a lovely week ahead!

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,017
    760
    183
    54
    51
See reviews for
476
1,824
403
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

So Sofitel Bangkok is a beautiful hotel. The room fit out is lovely. View to the road chaos outside, made worse by current blockades matters not when the comfort is so good within the hotel. The attentive yet gentle staff ,pool, gym and breakfast could not be faulted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun Claire M,

What a delightful news to hear that your recent stay with us was fantastic and warm! We truly appreciate your excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

We truly hope this will continue and we will do our very best to make you happy and warm!

See you again soon, we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

So Kind Regards

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel lived up to it's online presence. It is a relatively new property, well located directly across from a main park. It is also across from a metro station, and only two blocks from the nearest BTS station. All of the public spaces are beautifully finished and maintained. The rooms are divided into four "elements" - Water, Earth, Wood, Metal, and are themed accordingly. We had a Wood themed room, and it had a beautiful wood floor, and very nice wood accents. We opted for an executive club room, and got a room on the 17th floor facing the park and the city beyond. The executive club lounge was nice, but not my taste in decorating. They offer the usual breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening cocktail hour at the club. However, we opted for breakfast in the Red Oven each morning, available to all guests, and it is both a beautiful space and offers a far wider selection of western and eastern breakfast options. The rooftop bar is also a very nice space, on the 29th floor, with sweeping views over the city, and a fun vibe with interesting drink and small bite selections. Staff throughout the hotel were professional and helpful. As a part of the executive club package, you also get two one day passes for either the BTS or the subway, and a 1000 baht per person spa credit, which we used for professional massages. One of our favorite things about Bangkok is that inexpensive massage is available all over town, where you can stop in without appointments at store front establishments and get a one hour foot, leg, and shoulder massage for 200 baht (about $6!), which is a real treat. We had one every day of our stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wohlerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun Wohlerguy,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive review for the Sofitel So Bangkok.

I appreciate that you have been enjoying most of your stay with us thanks to our hotel room design and features, the different high quality Food and Beverage options proposed and our attentive and friendly staff.

For your hopefully next stay with us, you could maybe try our new event in our HI-SO Bar, the Rainbow party every saturday.

So Kind Regards,

Akira Y
Director of So Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very cool business/boutique hotel and pleasant to stay. Fairly new and a fun concept behind its design. Even the staff is dressed artsy. Generally, the service is great and everyone very nice (except the waitresses at the bar on the roof top they were a bit snobbish unfortunately)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaraLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun ZaraLara,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us the feedback about your stay at So Bangkok recently.

However, I am very sorry that your experience with rooftop bar service was below your expectation. Regardless the level of business, you should be able to expect the same excellent service. Please rest assured that we will not take this matter lightly as I have addressed this matter to Khun Nok, our DIrector of Food & Beverage to rectify this urgently.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back and better serve you as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

Have a great weekend!

So Kind Regards,

Akira (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I had been to Sofitel So Bangkok before on a business trip and was back again for another Official conference. This time accompanied by three other gentlemen from office. This is one Hotel which has strived to maintain its classy standards since time immemorial. We booked ourselves rooms overlooking the Lumpini Park and the BKK lights. During our five days stay we usually spent the evenings helping ourselves with a few cocktails on the roof top counter followed by a lavish dinner at the Park Society. It was a great feeling. The Club Lounge, which is one reason I keep coming back here , once again fascinated me. Great staff and some great food. The Red Oven restaurant is a perfect place for breakfasts and even square meals. Some great atmosphere in there. Loved it all the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanGarciaAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun AllanGarciaAG,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you for your feedback and good recommendation on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay overall, especially with the design, and Club Signature.

We hope on your next visit, we'll be able to tempt you with other services and facilities like our So Spa, Infinity Pool and Chocolab and many more!
Please come back soon as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you our regular guest!

Have a great weekend!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Y. (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here in both the Earth and Metal themed So Suites for a week, and it was a fantastic experience. The staff are attentive without being overbearing, knowledgeable for tourist queries and well versed in English and French. Thai culture oriented hotel with a thorough splash of European modernism, the pool area and gym are well equipped, views are amazing, rooms are tidy, clean and crisp with modern touches.

The hotel is in a great location, near to Lumpini MRT station and a short stroll to Sala Deng BTS, Patpong night markets are close as is a veritable cacophony of local and international restaurants.

The pick-up/drop-off service (at a cost) via BMW M5 was comfortable and fast, the tie sweet tea and chocolates are a nice touch as well. Especially good when you're arriving at 1am, not to have to bother with a taxi and getting a nice little sugar kick to perk you back up.

The only negative we experienced, and a minor one at that, is that the lifts require a keycard swipe to access your level and certain lifts don't seem to read the room keys as well as others. You'll sometimes find yourself in the lift on an adventure up/down past your floor a few times before you finally have successful access to your floor.

Highly recommended, will 100% stay here again next time i'm in BKK

Room Tip: If you're staying for a reasonable period, speak with the staff about being able to try differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun James E,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

What a fantastic review and feedback you share with us here. Thank you so much!

As for your concern regarding with the lifts, I have shared your useful comments to our General Manager, Mr. Gilles Cretallaz and we are very concerned. We are in the process of making all the lifts accessible to each floor.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon as there are so many things to explore and we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest!

Have a great weekend!

SO Kind Regards,

Akira Y. (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Decided i needed a weekend break in BKK to escape Pattaya. So with the great deals i decided to stay at Sofitel So.
What a fantastic choice. I love the look of the hotel. We stayed in a earth corner room with great views of the park.
Check-in was fast and efficient. All of the staff were very friendly.
The only area for concern is the buffet restaurant. We decided to have dinner at the hotel before going out. the food and service attention was great but the delivery times sucked. We ordered a Margarita and a coke. These took over 10 minuets to arrive and they arrived sepratly the margarita first then the coke 2 minuets later. i could see the bar. and she was working alone and had too many orders. But please inform your staff to deliver all drinks togther not one by one. how hard is it to make the margarita then grab a can of coke from the fridge put some ice in a glass and serve ?
i was also surprised that the GSA in the club lounge could not speak basic Thai. When i Arrived i asked for an orange juice. She replied sorry i am not Thai. Which is Ok as you are in BKK but at least teach your non Thai staff some basic Thai.

But i will return when i am back in BKK

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun Matty C,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

We are so glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay recently, especially with the spacious room with magnificent view of Bangkok and the Park.

However, all the points you raised have been carefully noted and shared to the concerned Department heads, and I will conduct more staff traning for them to learn basic Thai language.

Please do accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointments you had experienced with the service at the Club Signature.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back as we love to have the pleasure of seeing you as our regular guest.

Have a great weekend!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Y. (Ms.)
Director of So Guest's Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,208 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing