We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL IN BANGKOK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SO Sofitel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SO Sofitel Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN BANGKOK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the gem of all gems in Bangkok! Great views. incredible foods, and wonder experiences to be created. From the moment you check in to the time you check out....

The hotel is wonderful and the staff is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Khun Stephen P,

Sowasdee kaa from Sofitel SO Bangkok,

I higly appreciate the time for sharing your experience about our hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure providing our guests with uttermost quality service.

I look forward in seeing you enter our doors more frequently and soon. Thank you.

So Kind regards,

Akira Y
Director of So Guest's Experience
Sofitel So Bagnkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,821
    714
    176
    52
    48
See reviews for
454
1,702
372
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is my first review on TripAdvisor and I spent four consecutive nights with Sofitel SO Bangkok.

Before the trip started I sent an email to the hotel asking for room upgrade with my loyalty member status. The room was eventually upgraded from SO COSY room to the SO CLUB room with assess to Club signature and it's water element themed. A slight regret that they could not arranged a Lumpini Park view room to me despite I mentioned on the email, maybe due to availability? The room was clean enough but I found some dirt on the white couch. Near the bathroom there was a "hidden door" which's supposed to be locked in which I could see some pipelines inside, please fix it. The room was equipped with Apple Mac, I could play the songs on my iPhone with the AirPlay function, it's SO high tech! Loved it so much. The mini bar was free of charge and the room keeper would replenish it everyday which's good!

The staff were helpful and attentive to details. After arriving the entrance of the hotel, an attendant immediately came and ushered me to 25/F for private check in.
I particularly appreciated the effort of its room keepers for their efficiency and hard work. For example, after having my breakfast in the Club Signature lounge, I went back to the room and I found that the room service was finished ! How could they did within a short period of time!?
I am a Thai Food lover. The Red Oven restaurant was good and I loved the Pad Thai so much, it was so tasty. I thought there was discount for Le Club Accorhotels member when I asked a waiter but after checking the bill there was not, Maybe there's misunderstanding.

It's the infinity pool that made me chose Sofitel SO Bangkok and it did not disappoint me. I think it's worthy to spend time there and I did. My friend and I had a very relaxing moment.

Having a glass of cocktail in its rooftop bar namely Park Society is apparently a nice experience and made my day accomplished. The staff did not forbid me from entering the bar for wearing flip-flop. Appreciated it!

It was a luxurious experience staying in Sofitel SO Bangkok and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pang613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of So Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear khun pang613,

Sowasdee ka from Sofitel So Bangkok,

Beforehand I would thank you for your feedback and recommendations. I am happy to know that we did not let you down in your expectations from the hotel and you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate the time and effort on sharing your experience in our hotel.

I would like to apologize about the couch and the hidden door, I would like to assure you that such problems will not be faced by any guest. I appreciate your criticsm as it will help us to provide you with the best hospitality service and quality.

I hope that you visit us again soon and I would like to recommend you to try more from the huge variety of menu from our great chefs in the red oven in your next arrival.

So Kind regards,

Akira YAN-UBOL PETIT
Director of So Guest's Experience
Sofitel So Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place is really luxurious at every levels. You may want to dress a bit to feel confortable at this classy spot — so try not to show up wearing your beach flip flops.

We booked a So Comfy room with a view over the park. The view was truly spectacular and the room design was something special.

Breakfast is fabulous, with a huge choice of everything. Again, worth it to ask for a table with a view over the park. Food is amazingly displayedn organized by thematics — and there is so many different things. Have a look at bread artworks. Even two different types of bacons are offered, crispy or not. Do I need to say more ?

The pool area is something you need to experience as well. It has a spa and bar attached to it, with comfy couches to appreciate the moment. A wonderful place either at night or during sunsets, after a long day in Bangkok.

Here's a tip : pool area is also where we've chosen to stay after having checked out and before going to the airport on our last day in Bangkok. That way we were able to get drinks, WiFi, chill out and have a shower in the superb spa before our flight back to the UK. A good thing to do before such a long flight. Ask to do the same when consigning your luggage to the staff on your last day :)

Room Tip: Pick up a room with a view over Lumpini park — it worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b1nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Khun b1nnie,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for taking your time sharing your feedback and tips on our hotel! We are happy to know that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok had been conveniently wonderful!

We are looking forward to seeing you again as we love to welcome you as our regular guests!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Can start by stating that the king size bed at the So Bangkok is the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We stayed in a wood themed studio (beautiful design) with club lounge access (great breakfasts, afternoon teas and evening cocktails/snacks) where the staff are very very attentive and friendly! We chose the So because of its location near the TRSC LASIK centre, but it is only a relatively short distance from the major shopping centres and various nightlife. Unfortunately the military coup and curfew meant we had to stay in more than planned, but had a great meal at the restaurant on the top floor. The infinity pool is beautiful and the gym has a great view and has great modern equipment. Also, love the funky outfits worn by all the staff, who are great and cannot do enough for you. Would stay again next time in Bangkok.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RussellJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Khun RussellJM,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your feedback with us! We are happy to know that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok had been wonderful! Although the coup did cause our guest certain amount of inconvenience, we do apologize.

SO we are looking forward to seeing you again as we love to welcome you as our regular guests!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Where to start, such an amazing hotel. Stayed in Water Room, beautiful views over the park and wet room in the bathroom. A beautiful hotel room. Staff were beyond attentive, so friendly and informative..pool area was super. Overall an excellent stay!

Room Tip: Water room with a view over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Khun Silvy84,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your feedback with us! We are happy to know that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok had been wonderful!

We are looking forward to seeing you again as we love to welcome you as our regular guests!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schlieren, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the perfect weekend at the Sofitel So. They have the biggest breakfast choice I have ever seen, a superb view from the room as well as from the pool area, the biggest bed I have ever slept in and what's most important all staff was very friendly, genuine and helpful. Thanks Mr. Paul and Mr. Ness, you were amazing. I had a blast and hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelprincess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Khun Laura S,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback with us! We are very happy to know that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok had been wonderful! like a princes! We hope to see you again soon as we love to welcome you as our regular guests!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing hotel. Beautiful. It would impossible for me to stay at a hotel of this caliber in the US. Staying at the Sofitel felt so luxurious. Staff bends over backyards to accomodate any request. I couldnt figure out the remote control, so i called the front desk, in 15 minutes there were two repairmen at my door. Clearly there was a miscommunication. There was nothing wrong with my TV, (just the user) but i appreciated the level of urgency and responsiveness. Gorgeous hotel. Wouldnt stay anywhere else if ever in Bangkok again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira Y, Director of Guest's Experience at SO Sofitel Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Khun chnkylvr,

Sowasdee Ka from Sofitel So Bangkok!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us! We are happy to know that your stay at Sofitel So Bangkok had been wonderful!

We are looking forward to seeing you again as we love to welcome you as our regular guests!

So Kind Regards,

Akira Yan Ubol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,918 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,777 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SO Sofitel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SO Sofitel Bangkok

Property: SO Sofitel Bangkok
Address: 2 North Sathorn Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SO Sofitel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a prime central location on the corner of North Sathorn and Rama IV roads, opposite Lumpini Park. SO Sofitel Bangkok offers panoramic views of both the park and the city's skyline. Few steps from Lumpini MRT Subway station and only10-min walk to Saladaeng BTS Skytrain station. Guests can conveniently access shopping & nightlife attractions including Silom, Terminal 21, Central World, Siam Paragon. Don Mueang and Suvarnabhumi International Airport are approximately 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your SO Sofitel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing