We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for location, price and convenient”
Review of The Mix Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mix Bangkok
Ranked #456 of 732 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The BTS Phra Kanong is literally at the hotel doorstep. Also several 24 hours convenience shop nearby (5-10 minutes of walk), choose from Super Mart, 7-Eleven, MaxValue mini supermarket (our breakfast and dinner were bought from here).

Another 15 minutes walk to a small restaurant (to your right facing the road from the hotel), recommended to eat here for dinner. Price are cheap and the food taste heavenly (just remember to tell them no chilli or less chilli), we spent THB800 for 6 person only, ordered 6 dishes that include seafood, pork, vegetable, egg and tomyam soup.

Reception are on the ground floor, first floor are the common area (breakfast area, tv, toilet), rooms are from second floor onwards.

I really love the room, value for money especially for the price we paid it was a steal. Stayed in the biggest room which could accommodate 5 person, private washroom and even a kitchen with stove, fridge and microwave.

One issue I have is that (but for the price we paid it didn't matter much) there is no lift so try to reserve and get the rooms at the second or third floor.

Room Tip: Try to get the room at the second or third floor facing the garden, away from the road/bts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karulann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

the BTS PHRA KHANONG is just absolutely beside you.it only take you about 10 min to reach SIAM.the area around here might not that happening but it is peaceful and nice place to stay.the staffs are very helpful and friendly. A simple breakfast with a cup of coffee and bread is free of charge. Traveller should choose this!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamSilverster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We really liked this hotel. Great value for a large, clean and quiet room. We found the location convenient as it is right next to the sky train. Easy to get around to other parts of the city. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: the room we got had a queen bed as well as a leather sofa bed...so it was large and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bananaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nice hotel on Sukhumvit Road, but in the quiet and less interesting area. Very hard to find for taxi drivers but handy for the Skytrain station. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly and made our stay enjoyable. But nothing close as far as restaurants or entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel has delightfully friendly staff. Unfortunately, this cannot make up for the main issue with this hotel , and that is the noise pollution from extremely heavy traffic on Sukhumvit Road. The hotel sits directly on Sukhumvit, very conveniently close to a BTS (Sky Train) station. On the first night of a 4 night stay, we stayed in one of the larger rooms on the 5th floor (Room 502). We recommend that you avoid this room if you do book this hotel. We were woken around 5am by inexplicable, violent noise coming from the property directly through the wall. The sound was similar to a caged demon trying to rip a bolted steel cage off the wall, and continued off-and-on for around 2 hours. Hotel management moved us to another room the following morning, and indicated that other guests had had similar experiences. This may not happen again - but better safe (asleep) than sorry .....

With respect to Sky Train/traffic noise - as other reviewers have said - 'You don't hear the Sky Train ....'.

However, you certainly hear everything else!

Both rooms that we stayed in suffered from excessive street traffic noise. If you are a heavy sleeper, tend to drink heavily and therefor are oblivious to traffic noise in any event, or if you don't mind traffic noise at all - then no problem. However, from around 5am the heavy traffic increases (it never actually stops), with additional intermittent brake screeches and warning blasts on horns. We basically didn't sleep after 5am or so.

The highest rooms are on the 5th floor. There is no lift. If you have heavy baggage, or have any impairment, you may want to select a lower-floor option. Web hotel booking sites describe the rooms as having fridges, but neither of the rooms that we stayed in had a fridge. If you haven't travelled to Bangkok/Thailand before, this may seem like a minor inconvenience, but a chilled drink, or the ability to buy your own fresh fruit etc and store it overnight for breakfast in the morning is a very welcome thing in the heat of Bangkok.

The hotel advertising makes reference to numerous international eateries surrounding the hotel. In fact, it's a 15 minute walk in either direction to normal Thai restaurants. There may be expensive hotel restaurants in some of the swankier hotels closer to The Mix, but then you would be paying swanky prices to eat ..... If you are looking for food, as you exit the hotel, turn left, and at the first set of traffic lights, turn left again, and you will find a few 'hole-in-the-wall'-style Thai restaurants which serve good, cheap food. If you walk in the other direction, after 15 minutes or so you will come to the first street-table restaurant. Unfortunately, this restaurant is surrounded by signs in Thai which they have posted warning of thieves stealing bags which you carelessly do not have strapped to your person well enough. It makes for unsettled eating.

There are 'Family Mart' 24-hour small convenience stores in both directions (2-5 minutes walk), where you can buy alcoholic beverages and your usual 'Seven-Eleven'-style offerings. Remember to beware the 2-5pm dead interval every day when you can't buy alcohol from stores in Thailand, though.

The area in which the hotel is located is somewhat bleak. Nearby Thong Lo has a much more 'alive' feel to it, and interesting mix of shops, markets and restaurants .....

The hotel kindly provides toothbrushes and toothpaste - a nice touch for those who have forgotten them. However these would be much better replaced by complimentary earplugs. Most people bring their toiletries, but not everyone packs earplugs (which are really what you need here). The rooms were spotlessly clean, mattresses passable (although not great), aircon worked well, Wi-Fi worked well, and shower water heat and pressure were OK. The shower cubicles are tiny.

Overall the greatest strength of this hotel are its staff. We recommend that if you are sensitive to traffic noise that you bring earplugs if staying.

Room Tip: Not room 502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpacemanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yat Tung L, Owner at The Mix Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have taken note of your suggestions. We will be adding fridges to the room this month, in fact the few days you were here the handyman was here to add in electric outlets that are independent from the electricity cut system, an oversight from us when we designed the hotel. Also, I will start supplying our hotel with earplugs in the front desk and guests can request it when the noise is too unbearable.

I hope you will give us another chance if your travels take you to Bangkok next time. Next time you book, we will upgrade you to our garden side rooms, so you can enjoy one of our quiet room offerings.

Thank you,

The Mix Bangkok Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The mix is not in the very centre but directly on the skytrain sation Phra Kanong and has therefore an excellent location. A ride to Siam takes only around 15 min. We stayed in both rooms, in the quiet to the garden and in the one to the skytrain/street. You don't hear the skytrain but the street can be quite noisy. So consider spending some more money to have a room to the rear of the building. Staff is excellent and the rooms are absolutely clean.

The room was sold with breakast. Actually you can take fruits, toast and coffee. Such a self service opportunitiy is a good idea but I think they should specify this clearly.

We will come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kob_ler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yat Tung L, Owner at The Mix Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We really appreciate your kind words for our hotel. We have taken your suggestion and added a description about the free bread and fruit in our website. You can go check it out.

I hope to see you again at The Mix Bangkok when your travels take you to Bangkok again..

Thank you,

The Mix Bangkok Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank DHdeWit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#88 of 891 in Bangkok
941 reviews
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#193 of 891 in Bangkok
1,672 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit Bangkok
#134 of 891 in Bangkok
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,638 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mix Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mix Bangkok

Address: 1533/3 Sukhumvit Road | Phrakhanong, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Thong Lor & Ekamai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £12 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mix Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mix Bangkok is a boutique hotel and guest house located in the heart of Bangkok, Thailand. We are excited to announce our Grand Opening on November 11, 2011. Whether you are a business professional, going on vacation with friends or traveling as a family, we offer short and long-term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Zenrooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mix Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing