We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms & location for hospital but noisy”
Review of Skyy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Skyy Hotel
Ranked #564 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed here while i was in BKK for a Colonoscopy procedure at Bumrungrad hospital. The hospital is very close to the hotel (about a 2 minute walk) which makes it very convenient. The rooms are nice except for the see-through shower ( a bit awkward if you're staying with friends). You can close the blinds to the shower however.

My big complaint was the noise during the night. The air conditioning was loud and also the bathroom (after you flush the toilet). My fiancee slept through it all but I was quite annoyed by the ongoing noises. Also, there was no back-up roll of toilet paper which was quite annoying at 3am in the morning.

TV is good, heaps of channels, and reception and everyone is friendly. There are lots of little food places outside and a 7/11 50 metres down the street.

Room Tip: A quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomwatson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent all told a couple of weeks at the Skyy Hotel. We found it to be a very clean, beautifully appointed, well managed hotel, with a very helpful and friendly staff. Both Tyrene and Tantawan were quick to be of assistance in whatever way they could. Their understanding of English was excellent and they made our stay a pleasant one. The hotel I conveniently located near the Bumrungrad Hospital and the BTS for excursions. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Just about any room is a good one! Quiet and very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our family of 3 stayed for over a week while receiving treatment at Bumrungrad, so we got to know it well. Very convenient for hospital patients, as well as a short (though slightly hairy) walk to the BTS for any tourist excursions. Bell staff was wonderful, always helping us with our wheelchair. We ate a lot of meals there, and the food was surprisingly good, though a little slow. We love Thai food so appreciated having Thai as well as western options for breakfast. Front desk a little unorganized in terms of giving consistent information, so make sure you get rates in writing. We like to be close to a busy street but not on it, so the quiet soi with great street vendors was perfect for us. You can also take laundry to the hair salon a few doors down from the 7-11, or do it yourself at a Quick Clean down a small alley halfway to Sukhumvit Rd. Also nice technology in the room where you can plug your iPhone/iPad USB into the wall and hook up your laptop to the TV (ask for the cable). One side note - really appreciated the thought put into the design aesthetics - color, motifs, lighting, shapes all mirroring the sky theme!

Room Tip: A child can sleep on the sofa/futon in the executive room without needing an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in Skyy Hotel for 3 nights with the most comfortable rooms.where service is very good , and a ever smiling staff makes it even better.

Most ideally located, with all eating hubs just a 5-10 min walk away makes it better for the tourist.

Definitely recommended for anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Skyy hotel
Location.
Quiet & somewhat hidden location on Soi 1 in Sukhumvit behind the Bumrungrad hospital.
Closest station is Plhoen Chit station on BTS Sky train, this is around 5-7 minute walk to hotel take exit 4 walk cross the road where KFC is and continue up street, it is on right hand side next to hospital. To get to hotel from Airport, easiest and cheapest way is to take airtrain playa Thai (20 minutes) change on to bts sky train towards Bearing, and get off at Plhoen Chit. Total time from airport 45 minutes to hotel door and will cost 45bht.
Within the area there is the lively Arabic Soi 3 with many shops and restaurants. Nana Plaza is also close by.
Room
Artistically designed looking room, bright white walls with artwork on back wall mirrors with good colourings. The room had a large Samsung TV with many channels and a whole control unit next to bed whereby there is a USB, hDMI, computer port and audio cables so one could connect multiple devices to watch on TV. Above this was a very cool touch pad light control system which was very convenient considering this is no less than 6 different light options one of which is blue and many lighting are below or hidden under furniture creating a relaxing ambient environment. In addition there is flexible reading lights each side of bed. The room also has a comfortable sofa futon style with cushion, a comfortable large bed with soft pillows-slept very well.
The bathroom is also designed artistically with slate flooring and a strong working shower head with a generous amount of amenities.
Facilities
Minimal facilities at this boutique hotel, a small restaurant on the same floor as the reception, again with a lot of artistic furniture. It is rather small but cosy with a balcony. There is a massage place next door in which the menu is in the room but believe this is a separate business, other than that did not notice any other facilities.
Staff
Really friendly and lovely staff, spoke good English were helpful amd always smiled with eye contact. Felt very welcomed at this hotel.
Overall it was an enjoyable experience staying at this small boutique and exceptionally clean hotel, look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed in Skyy Hotel for one night after extending my stay in Bangkok for one night (the previous hotel was fully booked for that night). I paid the walk-in rate which was VERY reasonable - i could have got it cheaper online but I didn’t want to faf around looking for a deal.

Needless to say, the hotel is in a great location in Soi 1, with a 7 Eleven right next door, local food stalls right outside if you wish or simply eat in the hotel, the food was delicious. I had the chicken satay which was very nice as a snack.

The rooms are clean, well kept and everything you need for a comfortable stay. I called for an Iron and within 5 mins there was a knock on my door! The front staff were really helpful in getting me a taxi to the airport and making sure it was metered and safe. If your looking for a hotel in Sukhumvit which is slightly cheaper but not compromising on quality then this is one to look at.

Thank you to all the staff at Skyy Hotel in making my stay comfortable on my final night in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irfan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the Skyy hotel for four nights. The location on Sukhumvit Soi 1 was good, just a five minute walk to Phloen Chit BTS station. We had booked a room with a balcony which at first we were not given. However, once we showed the hotel voucher we were 'upgraded' to a different room. The rooms are very modern but really rather small. Our room came with plasma tv, air con, tea and coffee making facilities, an excellent bed and large shower room that unfortunately did not seem capable of delivering consistent hot water. Breakfast was included, it was a buffet and was really rather poor given the hotel's four star rating. If they could sort out the water heating problem and breakfast this would be a really good hotel. That said we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a large balcony. The small balconies are blocked off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
#309 of 891 in Bangkok
440 reviews
Sukhumvit
Best Western Premier Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Zenith Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Ad Lib
Ad Lib
#62 of 891 in Bangkok
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyy Hotel

Address: 88/8 Sukhumvit Soi 1,Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey-Nua,Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #564 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £36 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skyy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SKYY HOTEL is a City Boutique Art hotel. The Interior follows the feel of the sky through the day. Rooms on each floor features a different theme, which is accented in the hand painted headboard and art piece, flooring and bathroom mosaic. All rooms and public are handicapped accessible. As a city hotel, SKYY is designed to be environmentally friendly in all its systems, electrical, air-conditioning, lifts, water and plumbing. We are IT friendly and offer, ADSL, free wi-fi, Blu Ray DVD player, IPOD/IPAD/IPHONE docks and Business Center. Additionally, for all our guest from different parts of the world, we have 40 channel satellite TV, offering entertainment in many foreign languages. Services available on site are Beauty salon, Foot and Body Spa (opening June, 2012), 7/11 convenience store (opening Sept. 2012), GSBank Xpress Money transfer & exchange, and a Tour and Limousine Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skyy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing