We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop over room in central BKK”
Review of Siam Swana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siam Swana Hotel
Ranked #320 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for one night before flying on to Vietnam.

The room was functional and very clean. The air conditioning unit was effective and fairly quiet. We stayed in room 106 which is on the ground floor. It was surprisingly quiet despite being close to the road and the car park. No loud music, no loud guest, good night sleep.

The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Two bottles of water were provided free of charge and there was a mini bar.

The hotel is within a 3 minute walk of the MRT which is great when carrying heavy rucksacks (and just one stop from Phaya Thai sky train). When we checked in we asked for a taxi for 4am, which was ready for us when we checked out.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a stop over room. Probably not great for a longer stay - especially if you are wanting to make use of the pool. As noted by others, it is small and practically in the car park. Transfer to Don Mung airport at 4am takes about 20 minutes and costs 400thb.

Room Tip: Booked via Travago - about 30 pounds per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbeemerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Despite a good location and a (first) good looking, we've had some bad experiences here.
The swimming pool is almost in a public parking place, and looks more like a thub...
Rooms are hot, due to lack of windows and a/c is pretty old and noisy. At night, some asian guys like to spend time talking, laughing and screaming by the pool, and since the room door is cardboard made, is hard to have some rest, especially if staying at the ground floor.
Cleaning is not so great, we also found that smalll complimentary shampoo and bath foam were already used when we checked in..
Here is the best part: at check out, they charged me 100THB for a small face towel that (they said) we litter and wasn't impossible to clean... First time in more than 30 years around hotels...

Speechless..

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank etn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found this hotel randomly on trivago app. Great value for 1 night, superb location near BTS link and central, cool, modern, swanky hotel with a cool pool and the rooms are modern and quiet and clean too. We loved it here. Could of stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

After spending a night near one of the protesting sites, decided to see what else was around but still close to Siam and Siam Swana hotel was a great find just short walk to the BTS station Ratchathewi (N1) a short walk down a soi. The room was very comfortable and clean and well priced the walk in rate for a double room was 1600 baht. It would have been good if there was one news channel in english on the TV. Also across from the hotel is a great massage place with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel looks quit new. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, our room didn't have a window, but it doesn't matter. Staff is very helpful and kind.
Out rooms was near the sushi place so we could hear some noice from the kitchen but it didn't bother us.

Near the BTS station, only about 2 min walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

First, this hotel is far, far better than the nearby, more famous, four-star (yeah right!) Asia Hotel! Unhappy with that I stumbled upon this hotel. Anyway...

The hotel itself looks brand new! It's in a fantastic super-covenient location, just a quick walk from BTS Rachthewi station for quick access to Siam and MBK/Siam Paragon etc, and a few minutes walk to the Khlong Saen Saep express boat services to Rattanakosin Island (i.e. old Bangkok).

Breakfast is not free but why would you pay for it?! The soi outside is filled with street vendors and there's a 7-Eleven across the road. There's a fantastic market a few minutes down the soi where I go to get my favourite Thai breakfast of fresh steaming-hot soy milk (nam tao-hu) and deep-fried Chinese dough (pa-tong-go) for about 15 Baht. But don't leave it too late or they will run out!

There are also alot of dry cleaners nearby should you wish to get your clothes washed.

The hotel has no lift, but it's absolutely fine. Upon arrival the porter straight away rushed to bring my bags up to my room. The room was very clean and well-furnished. The rooms have no windows, but the way the room is furnished it doesn't feel like that at all! I thought it was absolutely fine - I mean it's Bangkok - what kind of views would you expect anyway!

Great value for money and a super convenient location. I have found my new base in Bangkok!

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift so if you have trouble navigating stairs, ask for a ground floor room. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteamEngineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 comfortable nights. Close to BTS, Siam and great river taxi to centre of BKK. Staff is lovely and attentive. Great bar for a quiet evening drink at good price. Bed is good. TV channels with films. Booked 2 more nights for our way back to BKK.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chs201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#366 of 891 in Bangkok
1,443 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#410 of 891 in Bangkok
270 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#113 of 891 in Bangkok
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Diamond City Hotel
Diamond City Hotel
#752 of 891 in Bangkok
417 reviews
Bangkok City Hotel
#271 of 891 in Bangkok
1,084 reviews
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#154 of 891 in Bangkok
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Swana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Swana Hotel

Address: 359/1 Soi Phayanak, Phetchaburi Rd., Phayathai Bangkok, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siam Swana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siam Swana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing