We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, especially for shopping and BTS”
Review of Siam Swana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siam Swana Hotel
Ranked #76 of 670 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central Location, especially for shopping and BTS”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel is only 2 mins walk from the BTS station, which enables you to access most parts of the city, including the airport. In terms of the location, it's great if you are looking for something fairly central, yet for a reasonable price. I should point out however that it isn't in a particularly 'touristy' area, and it's quite a distance from Khaosan, which could be a problem if you are looking to venture over there at night. There is a small pool at the front of the hotel (although I never saw anyone in it) as well as a nice little bar and several shops across the road, so it's got everything for a short stay. The rooms are very clean and modern with good air-con, and the staff are very friendly. The only real downside for me was the fact that there was no window in the room, which did make it a rather claustrophobic, especially after a 15 hour flight. That aside, if you are looking for something that is cheap and central, then I'd recommend it, but only for a few days' at a time. If you do stop there it's probably worth having an image/map with the hotel's Thai translation as we found that very few taxi drivers knew where it was (albeit we only used a handful of drivers out of the several thousand in the city).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APRW0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    141
    81
    15
    7
See reviews for
39
121
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for one night before flying on to Vietnam.

The room was functional and very clean. The air conditioning unit was effective and fairly quiet. We stayed in room 106 which is on the ground floor. It was surprisingly quiet despite being close to the road and the car park. No loud music, no loud guest, good night sleep.

The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Two bottles of water were provided free of charge and there was a mini bar.

The hotel is within a 3 minute walk of the MRT which is great when carrying heavy rucksacks (and just one stop from Phaya Thai sky train). When we checked in we asked for a taxi for 4am, which was ready for us when we checked out.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a stop over room. Probably not great for a longer stay - especially if you are wanting to make use of the pool. As noted by others, it is small and practically in the car park. Transfer to Don Mung airport at 4am takes about 20 minutes and costs 400thb.

Room Tip: Booked via Travago - about 30 pounds per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbeemerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Despite a good location and a (first) good looking, we've had some bad experiences here.
The swimming pool is almost in a public parking place, and looks more like a thub...
Rooms are hot, due to lack of windows and a/c is pretty old and noisy. At night, some asian guys like to spend time talking, laughing and screaming by the pool, and since the room door is cardboard made, is hard to have some rest, especially if staying at the ground floor.
Cleaning is not so great, we also found that smalll complimentary shampoo and bath foam were already used when we checked in..
Here is the best part: at check out, they charged me 100THB for a small face towel that (they said) we litter and wasn't impossible to clean... First time in more than 30 years around hotels...

Speechless..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank etn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We found this hotel randomly on trivago app. Great value for 1 night, superb location near BTS link and central, cool, modern, swanky hotel with a cool pool and the rooms are modern and quiet and clean too. We loved it here. Could of stayed for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

After spending a night near one of the protesting sites, decided to see what else was around but still close to Siam and Siam Swana hotel was a great find just short walk to the BTS station Ratchathewi (N1) a short walk down a soi. The room was very comfortable and clean and well priced the walk in rate for a double room was 1600 baht. It would have been good if there was one news channel in english on the TV. Also across from the hotel is a great massage place with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabaideeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel looks quit new. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, our room didn't have a window, but it doesn't matter. Staff is very helpful and kind.
Out rooms was near the sushi place so we could hear some noice from the kitchen but it didn't bother us.

Near the BTS station, only about 2 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

First, this hotel is far, far better than the nearby, more famous, four-star (yeah right!) Asia Hotel! Unhappy with that I stumbled upon this hotel. Anyway...

The hotel itself looks brand new! It's in a fantastic super-covenient location, just a quick walk from BTS Rachthewi station for quick access to Siam and MBK/Siam Paragon etc, and a few minutes walk to the Khlong Saen Saep express boat services to Rattanakosin Island (i.e. old Bangkok).

Breakfast is not free but why would you pay for it?! The soi outside is filled with street vendors and there's a 7-Eleven across the road. There's a fantastic market a few minutes down the soi where I go to get my favourite Thai breakfast of fresh steaming-hot soy milk (nam tao-hu) and deep-fried Chinese dough (pa-tong-go) for about 15 Baht. But don't leave it too late or they will run out!

There are also alot of dry cleaners nearby should you wish to get your clothes washed.

The hotel has no lift, but it's absolutely fine. Upon arrival the porter straight away rushed to bring my bags up to my room. The room was very clean and well-furnished. The rooms have no windows, but the way the room is furnished it doesn't feel like that at all! I thought it was absolutely fine - I mean it's Bangkok - what kind of views would you expect anyway!

Great value for money and a super convenient location. I have found my new base in Bangkok!

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift so if you have trouble navigating stairs, ask for a ground floor room. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteamEngineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Asia Hotel Bangkok
#334 of 867 in Bangkok
1,393 reviews
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#156 of 867 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#119 of 867 in Bangkok
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok City Hotel
#276 of 867 in Bangkok
1,046 reviews
Siam
Patumwan House
Patumwan House
#47 of 670 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Siam
Evergreen Place Bangkok
Evergreen Place Bangkok
#18 of 1,245 in Bangkok
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Swana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Swana Hotel

Property: Siam Swana Hotel
Address: 359/1 Soi Phayanak, Phetchaburi Rd., Phayathai Bangkok, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 670 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siam Swana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siam Swana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing