We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend it”
Review of U-Baan Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U-Baan Guesthouse
Ranked #176 of 1,344 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I had a really good experience here. This place is for people who want to stay in a smaller-med, low key and simple hostel that is not in a touristy area (real local neighbourhood) but is close to the BTS sky train and river for ez access to the sights. Great for backpackers, the true value is in the information and help that the owner Joy provide. loved the group dinners out!

Room Tip: Rooms are priced fairly, and kept well clean by Joy. Stay for a few days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easdfasdfsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hostel is a great place to explore Bangkok from. As first times travelers to Thailand we where so glad we didnt end up on Khao san rd!!!! The area is great to experience a more Thai neighborhood. It still is easily accessible to Khao San rd and the party areas but then we could leave and go home!!!!!Joy was very helpful and she took us all out for local food - which was delicious and cheap. When we arrived the hostel was actually full for the next night, as we had only booked one night online, so Joy came up with a plan - my friend shared her room and she managed to get me a bed in a room with one of the other groups and she wouldn't take any money from my friend for the room share. The next few nights we had our own room. It was so helpful and we avoided trekking our things across town to somewhere else and back!!!!! Would definitely stay here again and all the other people we met in the hostel were great too - it attracts a nice crowd!Clean, safe good backpacker option :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

U-baan is great! We had stayed in Khao San previously and hated it, U-baan is a world away from the McDonalds/brits on tour feeling of Khao San (the main road at least) It's in a non-touristy neighbourhood with loads ofplaces to eat nearby - street food and little restaurants/cafes (Joy the owner was also really helpful with telling is places to go, and even came out for dinner with a group of us) and about 4 mins walk from the Skytrain station.

The hostel has clean, no-frills dorms all with air con, a small communal area downstairs with chairs and a great little rooftop to chill out on.

Joy the owner really makes the place. She's so friendly and was often around to ask for advice on stuff/where to go out or just to chat to/hang out with! We were lucky enough to be in Bangkok over Thai New year (the whole city is filled with water festivities/waterfights) and thanks to her had the best experience of our whole stay in Thailand.

If you want to feel like you've had a bit more of an authentic experience of Bangkok in a chilled and sociable hostel I would definitely recommend here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

U-baan was a greate choice for us. We wanted clean budget away from the chaos and nightlift. We got all that, and ontop the super friendly owner Joy who took really good care of us, and evena arrange a barbecue dinner for all the guest. We will definetly go back if we visit bangkok again. The location was quiet and close to the skytrain.

So, if you looking for simple, clean and friendly budget, this is for you.
If you want night life and pretty decorations, not so much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Joy is great, very sweet and helpful. The guesthouse is only a short walk from the BTS and in a typical neighborhood- nothing touristy around, no bars or restaurants either. We enjoyed our stay, though the bathroom was very small and the water pressure was pretty poor. I would recommend if you are looking for a friendly no frills place on a tight budget. If you are looking for more action, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

When you arrive in Bangkok, don't go anywhere else but here. U-Baan is located far away from the touristy and smelly Kao San (believe me - that's very good!), just 5min walk from BTS station in a true Thai area - with less noise but more real street life. You can easily find tasty and cheap food just around the corner plus one super bonus - one of the TOP 10 street food in Bangkok is located near U-Baan. You have to wait for the food more than an hour - but it's SOOOOO worth it! A must for all seafood lovers.
And the greatest treasure of U-Baan - it's owner - Joy. With her never ending enthusiasm, energy and ideas she will guide you through thousands of different sights, one-day trips, markets, food stalls, ect. in BKK. She is nice and helpful beyond words.
Absolutely recommended!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank EmilyW_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I think the name of the manager/owner says it all for this guesthouse... pure "Joy" It's located far away from all the touristic mayhem of Kao San, but only 5minutes walking from the BTS On our second day Joy organized a Thai barbecue in the guesthouse witch allowed us to get all sorts of inside information of Bangkok and also to get to know the other guest of the hostel. After the barbecue we went exploring the Bangkok night life and it wasn't pretty! :-) Highly recommend the place!!!

Rooms are clean and cheaper then on Kao San

Free WiFi!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnaudvdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,623 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#194 of 889 in Bangkok
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-Baan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-Baan Guesthouse

Address: 961 Soi Rat Ruam Charoen | Via Soi KrungThonburi 1 Klongsan., Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 1,344 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U-baan means " stay home" in Thai. We would love all the traveller who stay in our hostel feels like home. We are located in one of the oldest resident area called " Wong Wain Yai". 5 mins walking distant form BTS Wong Wain Yai (silom line). You could experience an original local Thai lifestyle with our neighborhood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing