We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that feels like home”
Review of U-Baan Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
U-Baan Guesthouse
Ranked #164 of 1,299 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Amazing hostel. The atmosphere is very welcoming and Joy makes everyone feel at home. This is a really nice place to stay in Bangkok and I would suggest it.
The wifi is good and available in the rooms.

We stayed once in a private double with air con and it didn't get super cold but it was comfortable at night. We stayed another time in a dorm and the air con was adjustable and able to get nice and cold.
The rooms and bathrooms were clean.
The common area is a good place to meet other travelers and socialize. The roof also has an area to hang out with a nice view and chairs.
Joy also has a laptop we were able to use to upload our photos to our storage.
This guesthouse is located outside the touristy areas and is a great way to see more local activities. there is a cool market with amazing and cheap food nearby. Joy can also make many recommendations about places to eat in the area. There is also a BTS station very close by making it very easy to travel about the city and see the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights, and quite enjoyed my experience. I believe you have to drop any western standards to enjoy this guesthouse. It is situated in an area with very few tourists, which makes for a great, authentic experience of Bangkok. Nevertheless, there is lots of shops and markets nearby and lots of great street food!

The room I was in was quite small and cramped, but had Air conditioning and amazing wifi.

The bathroom was a shower and toilet in one (which was an odd experience for me as I had never seen this before, but it was something I quickly adjusted to).

The girl that manages the place, Joy, was really friendly, spoke really good English and was super helpful.

Very well priced :D

The negative aspects of this guesthouse is that most taxi drivers really struggle to find it and that there really isn't much of a common area to hang out in, and the common area that there is, is not air conditioned.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noosag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our host Joy made this place special. Located in a calm Bangkok area near the skytrain, U-Baan ist a guesthouse which offers not much comfort, but one of the nices hosts we met during our travels. When you enter through the front door, you mostly find Joy sitting between her guests, she is always good for an advise and a nice chat. We had lots of fun talking to her.
Our twin room for 650 baht had two simple, hard (like so often in Thailand) beds and an private small bathroom. You shouldnt expect much comfort, but thats okay for the price.
U-Baan is best for people traveling on their own, since you easily get to know other travelers. There is always someone sitting in the entrance hall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at U-Baan (she should rename "Joy's") several times. The rooms are simple and clean. Joy, the owner, is friendly, helpful and fun. She truly cares about her guests and creates a homey and welcoming environment. The location is in a quiet Bangkok neighborhood, which was perfect for us as we were living in the neighborhood rather than visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for the large family room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank developer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed with Joy 3 times during our several trips to Bangkok. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. The best part about U-Baan is Joy. She created a great atmosphere, always willing to help any traveller and always willing to offer assistance. As a result, the vibe at her guesthouse is really friendly and very much like a friend's home. We stayed with our kids (ages 7 &9) and they loved talking to Joy and other travellers. In addition, the other great feature is the real authentic Thai neighborhood. There are lots of places to eat, if you like street food and real local food. Joy recommended a lady down the street who makes great Pad Thai for only 40B/dish. There is a fresh market 2 blocks away and lots of fresh fruits. The GH is also close to the train, which is convinient. If you are looking for a more authentic feel for Bangkok, at great price and with friendly atmosphere, this is a perfect choice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I stayed there in May and had the opportunity to meed Joy. Till nowadays we keep in touch.
I had booked for 1 night but I stayed 5. Ubaan was full and even this way Joy helped me to stay there organizing the rooms and making some changes. The location is perfect, because you are going to stay in a place that is not full of turists where people trying to recharge more in everything you need. It is a place to see how people live in Bkk. If you are interested in have the same go to the crazy Khao San Road, but you are not gonna enjoy the real BKK. Joy helped me with everything I needed, speaking with the taxi driver or ordering food. The rooms are clean and nice as well as the the beds. It is a simple and cozy place. The description of this place is exactly what it is. So read it first and enjoy your trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The host, Joy, is an absolute pleasure and a real laugh.

The dorms are all spacious, clean and just what you need.

The location is great - away from the manicness, just 5 mins to the rail, and its on on the main skytrain line for the main strips + attractions should you want to venture there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_BAR_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
WYH Wongwianyai Hostel
#311 of 1,299 in Bangkok
4 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Blocks Hostel
The Blocks Hostel
#64 of 1,299 in Bangkok
232 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#5 of 1,299 in Bangkok
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#24 of 1,299 in Bangkok
925 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,299 in Bangkok
715 reviews
Silom
Mile Map Hostel
Mile Map Hostel
#92 of 1,299 in Bangkok
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U-Baan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U-Baan Guesthouse

Address: 961 Soi Rat Ruam Charoen | Via Soi KrungThonburi 1 Klongsan., Bangkok 10600, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 1,299 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
U-baan means " stay home" in Thai. We would love all the traveller who stay in our hostel feels like home. We are located in one of the oldest resident area called " Wong Wain Yai". 5 mins walking distant form BTS Wong Wain Yai (silom line). You could experience an original local Thai lifestyle with our neighborhood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing