We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intriguing world.”
Review of Soi Cowboy

Soi Cowboy
Ranked #70 of 536 things to do in Bangkok
Attraction details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Intriguing world.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Soi Cowboy is a unique experience, just go there and get a feeling of this superficial but intriguing world. Best visit after 23:00 when it gets busy. It is next to metrostop Sukhumvit.

As a man, be prepared for girls who try to drag you into one of the go-go bars for a drink. Just politely refuse (or join, if you are into that) and they let you pass. Best is to sit somewhere down, order a drink and enjoy Soi Cowboy street life. I would recommend to seat yourself in front of the club 'Cockatoo' where the famous ladyboys try to attract customers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellingt1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    338
    210
    59
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrigada, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“bar hopping”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went in to pretty much every bar and club. Since I was brown skinned they assumed I was local and was ignored most of the time. Getting to the club was rather funny and was surprised with how many girls would come up to you and ask for just a cola. For less than $5 why not. :) There were about 25 girls inside it was ridiculous. It was hard to get into a conversation though since most of them do not speak English. On another note, if you like vodka cran, they do not mix it very well and cranberry is not as available as other juices. Just stick to beer or shots. :) Oh watch out for the ping pongs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KristelBdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Slightly overwhelming”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a first time traveler to Bangkok I wanted to see this, but its not like a destination I would seek out every time. But, its definitely worth a visit. There's a lot to see, even from the street side, but if you go as a single male as I did, you will be constantly harassed, whereas I am sure if you have a female companion with you, you will be left alone a lot more. Still fascinating.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ClubFred6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

It is what it is. A negative review would be 100% connected to personal believes and this is not what trip advisor is about.
It's simply a red light district you probably haven't seen like this before. 40 bars lining up, drinks are overpriced of course and it's all about sex or rather taking money out of your pocket to permanently store it in the pockets of bar owners and working girls. Still, have a walk through, only takes 5 minutes, take in the experience and carry on.

Helpful?
6 Thank Johannesbrockhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“You're in Bangkok, Right?”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's within an easy walk from BTS Asoke.
Providing you have an open mind (which you should have anyway if you're in Bangkok) then this area is worth a look around.
For me and a few friends, it's just a few beers and looking at girls for a few hours. Easy on the eyes and a nice relaxing night out. No entrance fees but be aware you'll be a target for more activities with the girls. That is why they're there so if that's not what you want then politely say No and keep drinking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soi Cowboy also viewed

 

Been to Soi Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing