We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called 'Cafe Nice"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cafe ice Residences
Ranked #89 of 728 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we made a last minute booking for a quick trip to Bangkok over New year. We managed to get 2 rooms booked at a good rate. unfortunately when we got there somewhere in the system the booking had become one room. No problem the staff sorted out the problem and the following day David arranged for and a room in another hotel to cover the 2 nights when they were overbooked. Great service.
The hotel is very quaint and the deco interesting . The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfasts very good. The small number of staff means you get to know them. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The location is also very good

Room Tip: there aren't many rooms . They all seemed to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This hidden little place has been decorated with with a fine eye. The owners have given equal thought to anticipating everything a guest might need - there's even listerine in the bathroom. We had a comfortable night's sleep and a delicious breakfast in the garden. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank zabarzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This residence was recommended to us by a friend and we were very happy with our choice.

What we liked:
- the location is perfect for visiting Bangkok: metro stop is basically on the doorstep very convenient
- the room was nice and had character
- the included breakfast was fantastic: you can order what you want from the menu and it is fresh and abundant. Served in the small but relaxing garden

What was not so great:
- it was a nightmare to get the taxi driver to find this place (truly lost in translation we were taken to the I-Hotel first - which luckily was only around the corner but it took a good amount of back and forth and a very stressed-out taxi driver - to get to the right property. It sounds funny now but it was not at the time. Be warned!) - Tip if you go by taxi: print out the name and map of hotel location to show to the taxi booth staff at the airport.

- We booked a taxi to the airport through the staff but when we checked out the taxi was nowhere to be seen and the staff on duty had not been informed about any reservation so we had to flag one from the street. Because of the size of our luggage we had to use two taxis instead of the bigger car that we had intended to book in advance). Do all taxi reservations in advance yourself and don't rely on the hotel staff.

- communication between staff members is a bit flaky: the room cleaner did not understand (or was not informed) that we had a greed on a later check out so she entered our room without knocking while we were inside thinking that it had been vacated. Luckily we were dressed!

- a few steps to drag your luggage up to.

Despite these few downsides we did like the accommodation; we would use it again and we recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros_in_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Lang L, Owner at Cafe ice Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for your most thoughtful, constructive feedback and kind comments, it is much appreciated as it helps us to improve our service and attention to detail.
We investigated the concerns raised about the taxi service at the time and can understand our guest's frustrations. There was a genuine mis-understanding about the booking as we were waiting for the guest to reconfirm that a taxi was required and this was still the case on the day the guest arrived: we will try harder to ensure such things do not occur again as the taxi service is appreciated by our guests.
We agree that it is a good idea to print out the hotel map. In addition, we normally suggest that if the driver is lost, a call can be made to us (number is provided) and a Thai speaker will guide him.
We do not expect our guests to carry their luggage upstairs as our staff will always do this for them
We have reminded our cleaning people to always knock before entering a guest room - in this instance, they genuinely believed that the guest had already checked out. Thank you for the humorous comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a great place to stay and is well situated, being close to the BTS rail and walking distance to Silom Rd. Transport is easy to catch out the front of the guesthouse. The rooms were great - comfortable, clean and big enough with good Wi-Fi reception. The other reviews give a good description of the facilities. I must mention the two great places to eat at the front of the guesthouse and the friendly staff. The fact that they have an honesty bar for cold drinks speaks volumes for the type of people that run this place (and frequent it too). All good.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justdriftingglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed here for 1 week in April with my friend. We had separate rooms with shared bathroom which was located on our own floor. The staff and owners were attentive, friendly, and made us feel like family. The restaurant served excellent food! The cooks were happy to make whatever we wanted for breakfast, including pad thai at 8am! This is a nice alternative to a hotel. It felt like being in your own house in the middle of Bangkok. The guesthouse is located across the street from the Belgium Embassy, so the neighborhood is relatively safe. It's also close to the BTS so getting around BKK was quick and easy. I highly recommend this place for those who like travel as a guest of a country rather than as a tourist with a check list.

Room Tip: Bring a print out of the location map with you, as most taxis did not know where this guesthouse was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Cafe Ice has absolutely everything you need for a brilliant happy place to stay. It is not a five-star hotel, it's a quirky but elegant 8-roomed B&B with lots of airy communal spaces.
Made up of three interconnecting Thai houses with plants, shade, beautiful wood interiors the place has character in a good-for-the-soul kind of way.
Dark wood furniture, crisp white sheets, coffee and tea in your room, endless free bottled water, fresh flowers, peace, beautiful lovely staff, fabulous healthy food in the restaurants – steamed fish with herbs was my favourite – I brought a foodie friend of mine from Paris to supper here - he was completely blown away.
There's complimentary breakfast of fruit, yogurt and the best scrambled eggs ever with herbs, hot shower, high-speed free wi-fi, honesty bar, taxi at airport to meet me … what more does a girl want? Perhaps just more time to stay longer. Happy, Happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

It's a perfect combination of private guest house + small modern hotel. We loved our stay here so much that we ended up extending a few days. In a charming quiet location, the space is nestled on a cozy tree-filled street in an otherwise sort of businessy district. Our room was clean and modern, service was warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts fresh and delicious. The ambiance is wonderful here, there are a couple of communal living room/ lounging areas that offer wifi. The downstairs restaurant serves amazing food (try the pineapple sweet Thai basil drink) and the staff is so helpful and friendly, eager to recommend a good massage place or help with whatever you need. The location is great, just a few minute walk to the nearest BTS stop.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missjessrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Sabai Sathorn
Sabai Sathorn
#164 of 887 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#241 of 887 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#27 of 728 in Bangkok
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
Loog Choob Homestay
Loog Choob Homestay
#6 of 728 in Bangkok
290 reviews
Siamotif Boutique Hotel
#17 of 728 in Bangkok
81 reviews
Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
Amber Boutique Silom
#41 of 728 in Bangkok
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe ice Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe ice Residences

Address: 44/4 Soi Phiphat 2 | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 728 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £55 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cafe ice Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two classic houses - 9 beautiful Thai style doubles - quiet residential street, walking distance SkyTrain, central Silom shopping & entertainment areas. Short / long stay, discounted rates available - most rooms with en-suite bathroom & private terrace. Also garden, roof terrace, living rooms, library & bar, designer kitchen/dining rooms - lunch and dinner can be served at home from our restaurants. Free Breakfast, Wi-Fi, AC, daily cleaning, flat-screen TV/DVD/Cable, room safes, room fridge with coffee & tea making facilities & free bottle water, bathroom amenities, 24hour security. Laundry, airport taxi service & for day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Cafe ice Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing