We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Ranked #115 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel is 5 min walk to metro station. Ride to khao San and old city was only 70 baht by taxi. Front desk was very helpful and accommodating. Allowed early checkin around 8 am or so because we had landed by an early am flight. Tours from hotel are expensive though and it's better to go to khao San road to get the mini van tours for about 500 baht per person.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for yourcompliments on our hospoitality. We will keep our good work. We will look into our tour program and see if we can change our supplier to have better value tours and wish to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    42
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
34
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious. Overall, the hotel is very presentable. My partner and I stayed at Moonite Boutique Hotel for 2 nights. The reception was still open at around 9pm when we arrived. The receptionist was very friendly and already expected our arrival, she prepared everything swiftly and we got our room in less than 5 minutes. Before we proceeded up, she reminded us that breakfast was from 6:30am onwards in a very cheerful manner which was very welcoming. In addition, she offered to help us call for a tuktuk to travel to Siam area knowing we were quite tired from our flight.

The room is HUGEEEE for a bangkok hotel. I lived in other hotels before and they were way smaller and cramp. The room we lived in was very spacious and clean. There were everything that we needed - towels, hairdryer, mineral water, phone... The air-con was working well, lights were bright enough and you can choose to dim the room is you want. There was a TV with many international chinese and english channels. Location of the hotel is probably a 15minutes walk away from most shopping sites. The walk to shopping areas are accompanied by many street stalls so it's a good choice to walk . The area is quiet, which allows us to have undisturbed sleep. Around the areas are Swiss & British embassy, giving a sense of security.

The staff were very friendly. During our 2nd night, due to our bad pronunciation and miscommunication with most taxi drivers, we couldn't get a taxi to go back to our hotel from Rot Fai Night Market. We called the reception at around 9pm and he patiently told the taxi driver the exact location. When we reached our destination, there was a staff waiting for our arrival and helped to carry our shopping stuff to the lift! Impressive service (:
On the 3rd day, we checked out in the morning. Our flight was at 8:30pm and we didn't want to bring our luggages along. The helpful staff were willing to help us look after our luggages where they placed it behind the reception desk while we continued our shopping and returned to collect in the evening.

Breakfast in the morning was good, however, little variety. It was enough to keep us full and it was delicious. Breakfast and mainly American style (scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit juices...) and Asian style (congee, rice, vegetables..).

TIPS:
1) If you intend to travel to this hotel by train, drop at Makkansan Station and change to another line (follow the crowd), then take the train and drop at Ploen Chit Station. It should be a 5-10minutes walk to the hotel.
2) Alternatively, you can drop at Makkansan Station and take a taxi (should cost about 70bhat during peak hours - varies according traffic conditions).
3) As the hotel is new, many taxi drivers do not know the location of it. It is useful to have the hotel's number and hotel's namecard when you're travelling back to the hotel from somewhere.

Overall, the hotel is the best I've stayed in Bangkok. The price is reasonable, location is good and staff are attentive and welcoming. I'll definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yipminyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your compliments! We will keep it up. Hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Moonite hotel in November for three nights. First of all its in a great location in the centre of the city easy walking distance to major shopping centres and numerous food stalls that pop up during the night . Just ask for directions to big C.
Secondly the hotel is only new and everything is clean. Our room was spotless with comfortable bed and nice clean sheets. It had A/C and good size TV with English channels.
But the best part was buffet breakfast. The selection of food was excellent and you can eat as much as you want and they made really good coffee and tea.
We will be back just for the breakfast alone. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmarinaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We will keep up our good work. Looking forward to serve you again in the neard future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

helpful and friendly staff. clean room. 3 mintues walk to boat pier and it takes 2-3 mintues to go to Pratunam. Also can walk to Big C in 15-20 mintues. Will recommend to my friends.

I stayed there last week and no taxi drivers knew the location of this hotel. Make sure you have the hotel map and phone number at hand. tell them the hotel is on Wittayu Road and opposite to Nai Lert Park Hotel then most of the drivers understand.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puijessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for your compliments! Hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Was here in Oct 2012. The cabbie didn't know this place so don't forget to have the hotel's number ready so the cabbie can call them up.

Room is very new and clean. Only fault was that the toilet seat was facing the shower wall and since I'm tall, it was quite squashy. Otherwise, the room is awesome for the money paid approx AUD50-60, and also includes breakfast.

Location wise, to the left of the hotel, about 10 minutes walk is a large shopping center and MRT station. Directly opposite the hotel is Swissotel and a boat station which will take you to The Platinum Shopping Mall.

The frontdesk team is very helpful so give them a shout if you're curious about anything.

Just a reminder to all travellers, I ran into a scam on my trip in Bangkok and would advise all to heed this warning: do not talk to any strangers who walk up to you with any traveller advice, because a lot will try to push you to go to a particular shop. They will make you buy certain jewellery or suits etc. Scams are well and alive in Bangkok!

There's not much the police can do about it, so please be careful.

Other than this unfortunate instance, my stay in Bangkok was wonderful. This hotel lives up to it's ranking and I sure hope they do well in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JZMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for your compliment! We will keep it up, and hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This gem has been open for only a month. We stayed here for ten days while my husband was recovering from a health issue. We had flown in from Laos and chose this hotel after a full day at Bumrungrad Hospital because it was close by and reasonable. Great choice! The staff could not have been more accomodating working around my husband's needs. They spoke English (the woman exceptionally well for Thailand) and directed me to whatever shops and stores I needed. The room was a pleasant place to spend the better part of 10 days. Large comfortable bed, lovely linens, top notch shower and plumbing, great air con, decent wi-fi, calbe TV, and a large window to watch all the colouful taxis go by. A breakfast buffet was included which had a wide varity of options for such a small hotel. In addition you could get eggs, pancakes, etc. made to order for no charge. This little restaurant was open for lunch and supper, too. Simple menu, but every dish was well prepared and delcious as well as inexpenisve. Not feeling up to going out, we ate here most evenings. The hotel is also very close to the Skytrain which we used a lot as my husband improved. The location was great for Bumrungrad Hospital and lots of embassies, not so much for the average tourist. But I highly recommend it if you are in this area of Bangkok. Just make sure you know where you are going, perhaps download a map. The taxi driver was clueless even with an address. Because the hotel is new he had never heard of it, but it's worth searching for.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your compliment! We had tried our best to satisfy out customers and we will keep trying. We do hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent room and lots of English tv to watch while you're not out in the city. Great stay overall. The location was a bit out of the way which was annoying but a 45 minute cab drive (traffic) was $4. So still fine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Actually our location is in city center, we are walking distance to several famous big malls in Bangkok,but the traffic jam in Bangkok was too bad. We apologize that we did not provide good recommendations to you on the trasportation. If you ever visit next time, we will suugest you the better way to get around, such as, sky train or cannal boat. Thank you for your compliment on our service, we will keep up the good work, and ensure your pleasure for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Luxx XL
#374 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#234 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#391 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
No photo provided
Escape at Sathorn Terrace B&B
#118 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#93 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Sukhumvit
Nandha Hotel
Nandha Hotel
#90 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonite Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonite Boutique Hotel

Property: The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Address: 5/3-6 Wireless Rd. | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonite Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonite, a modern-contemporary style boutique hotel that locates in the heart of Bangkok, is the ideal selection for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moonite Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing