We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel, Clean and Safe !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moonite Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Ranked #114 of 604 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Colombo
1 review
“Great Boutique Hotel, Clean and Safe !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for six days. It is very clean, safe, and new building. Staffs are good and friendly. Restaurant is very small and limited variety of food is available. If you are Veg or Seafood consumer not the place to eat. Restaurant staff could not speak English and inexperienced.

Overall it is good hotel for stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thushianthan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will look into the issue of provide more food variety and improve our staff's language skills. Hope to serve you again in the near futre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    41
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
33
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
594 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This is my second time back to Bangkok in less than a year and have been looking forward to again staying at The Moonite Boutique Hotel. Located on the same block as the Switzerland Embassy, this hotel is a quiet section of Bangkok but still within easy reach of the city life.

In returning here everything so far is as exceptional as the first time I stayed here. A friendly and welcoming staff, free wi-fi that is fast and reliable along with modern and nicely decorated rooms.

Cheaper hotels can be found in Bangkok but for about US$60 a night that includes a free breakfast that can leave you full all day, I think The Moonite Boutique Hotel is a gem in this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Maybe one towards back of hotel as Wireless Rd can get busy at times and the occasional noise may bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for the compliments. I am glad you enjoy your holiday and you stay at The Moonite Boutique Hotel. Hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I adore this little hotel and its delightful staff, hence the 5* rating.

This was my first trip to Bangkok and wanted to stay somewhere that was clean, provided a good breakfast, free WiFi, air-conditioning and had good transport links. I'm not a fan of the 'faceless' generic corporate chains, I prefer a smaller hotel with a more personal touch. This boutique hotel ticked all the boxes, and the wonderfully helpful staff made my stay in Bangkok perfect.

As a solo traveller I'm used to being provided with a tiny box room, but my room at The Moonite was spacious with a large comfortable double bed, mini-bar, safe, TV and good shower.

Breakfast had a wide variety of choices and there was plenty of it. You could also order cooked breakfast items, as well as tea and coffee.

The free WiFi was easy to connect to and worked well.

As mentioned before, the hotel is a 5 minute walk to Phloen Chit BTS Skytrain Station. Although it's true that the main sights aren't on your doorstep, I managed to travel everywhere with ease using the excellent transport system: BTS Skytrain, MRT Subway, SRT and River Taxi's. All of which were cheap, safe, reliable and well signed.

The Moonite Boutique Hotel is an excellent hotel, good value for money and one I shall return to if and when I get the opportunity to visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babykong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your compliments. We will keep our good work and hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just got back from the Moonite. In a nutshell: nothing to complain about!

Design/ambience wise its nothing special: clean, modern, brand new - has the feel of a good business hotel so perhaps not one for honeymooners! But if like me you were just there for a weekend and wanted something clean and convenient then its a great and v affordable option.

Location is in a quiet area but close enough to the train station and a short cab ride away from more happening areas.

Breakfast was included and was surprisingly good. The staff were very pleasant, keen to help and always with a smile.

For the sake of haveing at least one bit of constructive criticism: the hot water wasnt very hot - tepid at best!

All in all a great place if youre looking for a clean, convenient, affordable and well located place (think an excellent 10/10 motel rather than a hotel)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prester_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for your cooments. We have look into the hot water system. We appologize that during your stay, there is a small problem on the hot water system and we had fixed it already. If you have chance please give us opportunity to serve you again. Hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel is 5 min walk to metro station. Ride to khao San and old city was only 70 baht by taxi. Front desk was very helpful and accommodating. Allowed early checkin around 8 am or so because we had landed by an early am flight. Tours from hotel are expensive though and it's better to go to khao San road to get the mini van tours for about 500 baht per person.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thank you for yourcompliments on our hospoitality. We will keep our good work. We will look into our tour program and see if we can change our supplier to have better value tours and wish to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious. Overall, the hotel is very presentable. My partner and I stayed at Moonite Boutique Hotel for 2 nights. The reception was still open at around 9pm when we arrived. The receptionist was very friendly and already expected our arrival, she prepared everything swiftly and we got our room in less than 5 minutes. Before we proceeded up, she reminded us that breakfast was from 6:30am onwards in a very cheerful manner which was very welcoming. In addition, she offered to help us call for a tuktuk to travel to Siam area knowing we were quite tired from our flight.

The room is HUGEEEE for a bangkok hotel. I lived in other hotels before and they were way smaller and cramp. The room we lived in was very spacious and clean. There were everything that we needed - towels, hairdryer, mineral water, phone... The air-con was working well, lights were bright enough and you can choose to dim the room is you want. There was a TV with many international chinese and english channels. Location of the hotel is probably a 15minutes walk away from most shopping sites. The walk to shopping areas are accompanied by many street stalls so it's a good choice to walk . The area is quiet, which allows us to have undisturbed sleep. Around the areas are Swiss & British embassy, giving a sense of security.

The staff were very friendly. During our 2nd night, due to our bad pronunciation and miscommunication with most taxi drivers, we couldn't get a taxi to go back to our hotel from Rot Fai Night Market. We called the reception at around 9pm and he patiently told the taxi driver the exact location. When we reached our destination, there was a staff waiting for our arrival and helped to carry our shopping stuff to the lift! Impressive service (:
On the 3rd day, we checked out in the morning. Our flight was at 8:30pm and we didn't want to bring our luggages along. The helpful staff were willing to help us look after our luggages where they placed it behind the reception desk while we continued our shopping and returned to collect in the evening.

Breakfast in the morning was good, however, little variety. It was enough to keep us full and it was delicious. Breakfast and mainly American style (scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit juices...) and Asian style (congee, rice, vegetables..).

TIPS:
1) If you intend to travel to this hotel by train, drop at Makkansan Station and change to another line (follow the crowd), then take the train and drop at Ploen Chit Station. It should be a 5-10minutes walk to the hotel.
2) Alternatively, you can drop at Makkansan Station and take a taxi (should cost about 70bhat during peak hours - varies according traffic conditions).
3) As the hotel is new, many taxi drivers do not know the location of it. It is useful to have the hotel's number and hotel's namecard when you're travelling back to the hotel from somewhere.

Overall, the hotel is the best I've stayed in Bangkok. The price is reasonable, location is good and staff are attentive and welcoming. I'll definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yipminyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for your compliments! We will keep it up. Hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Moonite hotel in November for three nights. First of all its in a great location in the centre of the city easy walking distance to major shopping centres and numerous food stalls that pop up during the night . Just ask for directions to big C.
Secondly the hotel is only new and everything is clean. Our room was spotless with comfortable bed and nice clean sheets. It had A/C and good size TV with English channels.
But the best part was buffet breakfast. The selection of food was excellent and you can eat as much as you want and they made really good coffee and tea.
We will be back just for the breakfast alone. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmarinaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thank you for your compliments. We will keep up our good work. Looking forward to serve you again in the neard future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#238 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#383 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Sukhumvit
Alt Hotel Nana
Alt Hotel Nana
#33 of 604 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Nandha Hotel
Nandha Hotel
#133 of 604 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Metro Pratunam Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,128 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
White Ivory Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 604 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonite Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonite Boutique Hotel

Property: The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Address: 5/3-6 Wireless Rd. | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonite Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonite, a modern-contemporary style boutique hotel that locates in the heart of Bangkok, is the ideal selection for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Moonite Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing