We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Ranked #121 of 650 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Nice, comfortable and centrally located”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I've been to Bangkok 7-8 times already but this is the first time I've tried this relatively new 'boutique' budget hotel. Stayed with my sister for 1 night and here's a quick list of the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Very clean room with excellent bed, bathroom, and good amenities. I slept better here than in other 5-star hotels.

2. Good value for money. We initially booked for a Mini room (THB 1,900/night for the room w/ buffet breakfast) but we decided to upgrade to a Medi room (THB 2,100/night w/ buffet breakfast) Small price difference.

3. We requested for a late afternoon check-out (regular checkout is before 12 noon), and we were granted our request because for some reason, we had a Medi room. A late checkout would not have been possible with the Mini (maybe because that room might be in higher demand?)

4. Centrally located. From Ploen Chit BTS station, it's an 8-minute walk (I timed it) to the hotel down a quiet and safe street. British and Swiss embassies are on the same street, so it was a good and secure neighborhood to be in. Malls are just 2-3 stops away via BTS. But the best part is that the Wireless river taxi pier is just behind the hotel. My sister and I rode this river taxi (a bit smelly though), and after two quick stops, we were right in front of Platinum Mall!

5. Because there was martial law curfew at that time I was in BKK, I was worried about finding a cab that would take me to the airport at 4am for my return flight. Front desk was so kind as to arrange for a cab to bring me there.

6. Free Wi-fi with decent speed levels


Cons:

1. Hotel's signage is not prominent enough so it took us a while to find it. Our cab actually had to go back to Wireless Road just so we could scour the area more carefully to look for the hotel.

2. Online reservation form wasn't working so I had to call long distance from Manila to Thailand just to place a reservation. Quite inconvenient. Also, the language barrier was a bit frustrating since the person who answered didn't speak good English.

3. Front desk was rather rude to my sister, who checked out later than I did. She went out to shop, and when she got back, she was locked out of her room; the key card wouldn't work. She went down to front desk to have it fixed, and for some reason front desk shouted at her because she should have given the card before 12noon to have it re-coded or something (this was because we requested for afternoon checkout). Well if someone had given her instructions in the first place, this would not have happened. According to my sister, she was shouted at, and then front desk apologized afterwards. It didn't happen to me, but my sister is not the type to make up stuff. I just don't get why hotel staff should shout at the guest. So whoever was manning the day shift on May 25, 2014 may need to polish up on frontline guest service skills.



Overall, I still like the hotel despite the hassle in reserving and the hit-or-miss service of the front desk. Hope they improve on those aspects before my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kickgalvanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. I appologize for the rudeness of our staff. We will try to improve the communication between the staffs of different shifts. Hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    42
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
34
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Should you need to be visiting the British Embassy for any reason, this is a great little hotel to stay in overnight. It's situated on a main road so I would advise asking for a room at the back of the hotel, where it was quieter. The room was clean, airconned, good en suite, fridge with cold beers and chocolate at sensible prices! What more could you ask for? I ate dinner at the hotel for ease and it was absolutely fine, not gourmet by any standards but good, cheap Thai food. Breakfast was also OK, again, not a huge amount of choice, but what was there was good. Check in and out was speedy, all in all a good place for a night.

Room Tip: 404 was a good room! Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your compliment! We will keep up our good work amd hope to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Bangkok, just opposite to the British Embassy. It's more of a hostel style than hotel. It's a small, relatively new hotel with no facilities, but clean, and its location is very convenient.Unfortunately, the electronic key card didn't work, but was exchanged immediately upon request. The aircon didn't work either until the staff has arrived and repaired it. There were few spots on the bed linen. But it's cheap, so if you're travelling on the budget, you may consider staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your comments! We will look into the matters of your complian. Hope to serve you again in the near future to witness our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriends stayed in this hotel one week ago for a few days and it was just paradise. Definitely the best place where we stayed in Cambodia and one of the best places in general!!! Staff was amazing, so friendly that they couldn't be any nicer! Rooms looked very nice with beautiful bathrooms and very comfy beds and huge pool just next to it. Restaurant was amazing also with amazing breakfast and very reasonable prices for lunch or dinner, food was just delicious so sometimes when we were lazy to go into town we were more than happy to stayed in hotel restaurant. What is the brilliant part that they provide you with cellphone so anytime hotel's tuk tuk drop you off in the city (5min) you can call anytime and they will come pick you up (free of charge) plus tuk tuk will also take to to Angkor Wat ! We've stayed in many hotels before but we were over the moon with this place!!! Thank you very much for amazing stay :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadka Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lijiang, China
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Overall all the experience was perfect on time with fantastic people. Totally building and rooms were super clean in this area off course its most the tourist attraction and near by the shopping center too.
Trained receptionist and well managed hospitality hotel in bangkok,But sometimes inner noise is a bit loud they could make it less for more better. bath room shower was good enough and free wi fi too.
Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your compliments. We will try to work on the sound improving. Hope you will have the opportunity to witness our improvements in the near futrue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I'm in Bangkok regularly (5-6 times a year at least) and always try out different places some good some not so good. Moonite was most certainly a good place. Check in was efficient, the room came with free wifi and breakfast. I had a room facing the street (which is quite busy) but there was no noise inside the room. The room is pleasantly big with a comfortable bed.
The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, quite varied and long hours. The point I should make you aware of is that it's a 10 minute walk to the nearest BTS and at night it's not always as easy to get a taxi outside the hotel... Once on the BTS it's a short hop to anywhere. So armed with that knowledge, book and have a great time.



Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your compliments and hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

For normal people, hotel is within walking distance of varied shopping areas of Bangkok, in the Embassy District. Maybe hot weather makes others say it is too far away from hotspots ! Accessible to other tourist attractions by boat or Sky train.
Very professional receptionist on arrival; although too early for room to be ready, well able to handle tired Me, and suggest a bite to eat in hotel restaurant.
Food adequate, nothing special, and good service. Breakfast buffet was small selection of Thai and non Thai food, with eggs ordered separately.
Have to mention that the coffee was the best I have tasted in a hotel for a long time.
Used WiFi in reception while waiting, and was also good when we were in the room.
Lovely hard Thai bed (why do some complain about this Thai norm' !!!) in a Maxi room, which had good condiments in the bathroom with a great shower.
I mentioned receptionist on arrival was the best, but her colleague's need retraining with language and customer service skills.
Also the state of cleanliness behind the counter in the restaurant: looked like the walls had not been cleaned since the place opened.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W, Owner at The Moonite Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We will try our best to improve the weak points that you had mentioned, and keep the good works. Hope to see you in the near future to witness our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
Aphrodite Inn Bangkok
#328 of 862 in Bangkok
314 reviews
Luxx XL
#366 of 862 in Bangkok
305 reviews
Sathorn
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
The AIM Sathorn Hotel
#642 of 862 in Bangkok
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 862 in Bangkok
2,264 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
Escape at Sathorn Terrace B&B
#124 of 650 in Bangkok
39 reviews
Silom
The Sunrise Residence
The Sunrise Residence
#494 of 1,210 in Bangkok
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moonite Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moonite Boutique Hotel

Property: The Moonite Boutique Hotel
Address: 5/3-6 Wireless Rd. | Lumpini, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 650 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moonite Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moonite, a modern-contemporary style boutique hotel that locates in the heart of Bangkok, is the ideal selection for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Moonite Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing