We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky Name - Quality Establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #4 of 616 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quirky Name - Quality Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Loog Choob has an interesting story behind its name that brother and sister Yut or Sukanya can share, but in short, the words in Thai reflect the concept of renewal and re-purposing of a building owned by their mother on the designs and concepts created by their architect brother. Situated in a mostly residential area away from the maddening crowd of mainstreet touristville, the Loog Choob is a boutique small hotel that offers quality, well appointed rooms with common areas and kitchen services nestled in several places and a roof top lounge with a pleasant view. The A/C common lounge has comfy couch, tables and a wide selection of DVDs, books... and the nice touch of a piano and a guitar.

At 1700THB for a twin/double room, it's a reasonable price and not more than a short taxi ride to downtown or the Grand Palace. The Nan Leong market is nearby offering up all types of local wares and food options. As we clocked in at 6.30 am straight from overnight flight from Melbourne, Yut's recommendation for breakfast became our morning ritual (if three mornings is a ritual!) Starting any day with the the most delicate steamed buns with awesome filing options and good quality dim sum is my idea of a good start. Evening meal options in the local area is a-plenty if you like to eat on the street, a tad thin on the ground if you are after a wide range of restaurants - it is residential area after all. Get in a taxi and head to the river or downtown if that's your thing.

Yut's performance as a concierge was flawless. The Loog Choob's pre-prepared sheets for all the main attractions with directions and information written in Thai for taxi drivers made life simple, but Yut hand wrote information for lesser known venues and even tracked down a tailor for me that I used 15 years ago.

Such service was reflected from the initial booking contact and the subsequent email update before we left when changes to room availability and options were provided. Btw, this is a cash only reality for payment.

We are in our early 50s (what? how did that happen?!) and shall return to the Loog Choob when we next visit BKK... if the secret stays between us and others who have stayed at the Loog and there might be a room still available!

Room Tip: Every room appears to be well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
134
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

,We stayed at Loog Choob for 3 days in early December at the start of our 6 weeks travel in South East Asia and then one night in Janury on our return. Our first stay was a perfect start to our journey, very comfortable, peaceful, friendly and the latter was like coming home before we return home. We agree with all positive comments written by other reviewers. Yut, Su and the family were always very friendly and sincerely happy to help. It was always ver clean. Su lent us one of their laptops which was very useful for our searches for the next step of our journey. We are vegetarian and we sometimes found it difficult to find vegetarian food. Yut very kindly brought us vegetarian dumplings on our last day as we had a very early flight. His uncle was very helpful to arrange a vegetarian restaurant.

We also loved the design and decor of the building. It is modern, stylish, very comfortable. Everthing is thoughtfully designed.

We would recommend Loog Choob to anyone who will visit Bangkok and if we go to Bangkok again, it will definitely be our choice.

Yut and the family, thank you for being such fantastic hosts...
Esin - Ahmet

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Loog Choop was a fantastic place to stay for our three days in Bangkok. The guesthouse is amazingly well designed, clean, the rooms are well set out, everything has been thoughtfully designed with the guest in mind. The family who staff the guest house assisted us with everything we needed. The rooftop is a fantastic bonus for sunset drinks. We tried many of the restaurants and street food recommended by the owners which were excellent. Highly recommended for travellers who like to stay in guesthouse accommodation and experience the real Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaunagh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

This place is simply excellent. Exceptionally clean, very modern, very comfortable and the place feels like home for a couple of days.

Don't be out off by lack of breakfast provided because you can get small boxes of cereal at the 7 Eleven or delicious fresh fruit from the market close by. There are bowls and spoons at the homestay for you to use.

The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful, taking lots of time to recommend places to go and how to get there. Without even being asked, the owner wrote instructions for us to get the bus to our next destination with Thai translation in case we had to ask for help.

You will not find better in Bangkok, so don't bother considering anywhere else :-)

If you are sensitive to noise, I advise you take ear plugs as it is a city, and there is noise from early morning.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurablue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night, but loved the place. Very clean and modern rooms, lovely owners who went out of their way to help us order dinner and get a taxi. Not particularly central for most of the tourist attractions, but provides a good chance to visit some local restaurants and sights. The rooftop is beautiful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had the great pleasure of staying a small week at Loog Choob and tried both the suite and a regular room. Both were very good indeed. Lovely beds, luxury shower and in the suite; a fabulous bathtub in the middle of the bathroom. Mmmm...! Aircon worked perfectly. A kitchen was available which we found very convenient (unfortunately some of the other guests left their dirty dishes by the sink - maybe excepting their Mom to pop by and clean up?)

The location is ok, as it is easy to get around by bus (44, 53...), taxi and tuktuk. And very close to a boxing stadium :-)

The best with Loog Choob - however great the facilities (comfy room, roof terrace...) - is the service and the smiles of the staff. Everybody was very helpful and we never got the impression that we bothered them if we asked for a piece of advice. On the contrary.

I am happy to give Loog Choob my warmest recommendation and will certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulsan, Ulsan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We never felt we were at a foreign soil. Anytime we need anything, the staff were there to help. Good interior design, with living space and roof top.... even provided as with some croissants and bread for our breakfast. Really enjoyed the stay! Highly recommended.....

Room Tip: Family suite or Junior suite is located at top floor and you have a living space all for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 616 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 616 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 616 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing