We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #6 of 641 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Having booked this homestay based on tripadvisor ratings, I was expecting it to be nice. What I got far exceeded all my expectations.

This homestay is beautifully appointed. The room was an excellent size (4th floor), VERY clean, and had everything one would need for a great stay. Friday was stocked with water. Soap and shampoo were in large refillable bottles, and were a nice quality. The terrace/balcony had real bamboo and was a great place to lounge. Towels were soft. Coat hangers, glasses, q-tips...even an electronic mosquito killer (which I didn't need). I have to stress how clean the room was - it was perfect.

Across the hall was a small kitchenette complete with kettle, microwave, toaster, snacks and everything you need. There is also a small freezer where you can purchase treats or frozen dinner type meals (20 - 80THB). For breakfast, cereal, pastries and toast were set out. When I had my 4am departure, pastries were ready and waiting for me!

The owners are beautiful hosts who truly love what they do. They are very attentive to detail and are always ready to help if you have questions.

The location is quite good. It's not in the centre of it all, however, it's not too far off either. It's on the west side, just east of the old city. Short cab ride to all the temples, or you can walk. Khao San Road is about 15 minutes or so. Beware though, the roads are a little confusing. Get a GOOD MAP that has detail on it. Many of the tourist maps skip a lot of little streets.

Overall, I highly suggest this place. It made my time in Bangkok truly memorable, and knowing that I was supporting Thai local people made me feel even better about this stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    31
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
135
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have just spent two nights at Loog Choob having stumbled across it on Tripadvisor and it was brilliant. The welcome was perfect and the place is amazing. You feel completely relaxed and at home immediately. It is bit out of the way of the tourist parts of Bangkok but if you want genuine Bangkok life - night markets, street food etc. you just have to step out the door and explore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanenClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

On our way to Bhutan we spent a few days in Bangkok, staying at Loog Choob. Very helpful staff, beautifully designed building and rooms. Wonderful roof deck with views of the skyline.
We found the staff to be very helpful. They really saved us when we overslept for our pickup to the airport. This was every traveler nightmare. We set the clock incorrectly for our 2 am flight. Fortunately we were awakened by the staff and we hopped in the taxi and made it on time. Thanks to the people at Loob Choob Homestay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndoverBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the hotel for 3 nites. The room was small but it was lovely and new and kept clean always. The manager was so helpful, he showed us the direction to Mega Complex and many other local attractions. The hotem location was excellent,too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knorrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Suffice to say, my friends and I didn't want to leave the hotel after 3 days in Bangkok. It is one lovely boutique hotel tucked away from the usual hustle and bustle of Bangkok. We didn't mind that it was not near the train stations or the shopping malls because the vicinity is quiet and peaceful - just the way we like it. After all, getting around in Bangkok is quite easy and cheap.
The wonderful staff was very accommodating and helpful, especially with our queries about getting around, where to eat and what places to avoid during the Bangkok Shutdown period. They got everything that we need - movies, luggage scale, simple breakfast, complete guides to the city. And did I mention that the rooms are exquisite considering the price we paid for? Total winner. :) They even allowed us to stay way beyond our check-out time (because our flight schedule is still late in the evening). I don't say this a lot for the hotels I book in other countries - I usually would like to try out other hotels the next time I visit a place - but if I find myself in Bangkok again, I would still definitely stay in Loogchoob. It's probably the best accommodation I had in years and it was worth every Baht we paid for. :))

Room Tip: If you're a group of 3-4 friends travelling on a budget, you can actually fit in the Junior suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaReynoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a small family-run hotel in downtown Bangkok. It is a fully-renovated building and the facilities are excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice with all modern amenities and fixtures. Rooms have an outdoor area. The common areas are really inviting (library, office, lounge, kitchens, rooftop, etc.)

Room Tip: 3rd party ATM machines in Bangkok charge a hefty fee. Try to avoid them and use proper bank machines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Loog Choob Homestay was a really nice play to stay in Bangkok. It is located close to the old centre of Bangkok. The Thai people speak very well English and have great advice for good places to eat and where to go in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVerbeek1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 641 in Bangkok
521 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 641 in Bangkok
425 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,194 in Bangkok
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 641 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing