We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loog Choob Homestay
Ranked #7 of 667 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate nights, with a trip to Ayuthaya in between. Our first night was in a standard room, which was WAY bigger than we would've gotten from a hotel that would've charged double. We spent our second night in the Junior Suite that had an immense bathroom with a stand-alone tub along his and hers sinks. It also had access to an outdoor lounge and a rooftop deck with a great view of the city.

Loog Choob's quirky design and excellent service from the family who owns and stays in the same building more than makes up for the out-of-the-way location of the inn. The only problem with the location is access to taxis and late-night restaurants - but then again the price you pay more than makes up for ti!

Definitely my first choice for a quiet getaway / staycation in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite - the added amenities, rooftop access, and patio more than make up for the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanJoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    32
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
136
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 3D/2N (last June 2013) after travelling from Ayutthaya during the first leg of our trip. I have been to Bangkok a couple of times already so I decided to stay in Loog Choob based on the reviews they've been getting. All I can say is, it has well exceeded my expectations. The pictures don't do justice and you have to see the place to appreciate it yourself. Apparently, the place was designed by one of the owner's relatives who is an actual architect. Slabbed right in the residential district of Bangkok, I am amazed with how they were able to maximize the space they have. The place looks very modern and boutique-ish but has a very cozy and family-friendly vibe. (The top floor was actually rented by one whole family when we stayed there) We very much enjoyed staying in this place and we oftentimes, hangout on the open roof deck before we rest at night.

Apart from the appeal of the establishment, the staff (who are actual family members who owned the place) are very friendly and accommodating. From prior planning before we arrived in Bangkok up until we departed from our stay there, they have been very friendly and helpful all throughout. If they are able to read this, I'd like to say THANK YOU AGAIN to Yongyut, Sukanya and Nipon. (Not sure if I got the spelling and their names right as it has been a year)

If you are familiar with Bangkok and would like to stay in a very cost-friendly but great homestay, I'd recommend for you to try this place out. You can always haul a taxi or walk a few blocks as there's a nearby bus station. There are also some few places that serve great meals if you are a foodie which the staff at Loog Choob will give you a map.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpao87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Start with the niggle. Location wise it is nicely situated in terms of peace and quiet as well as being in the 'real' part of Bangkok. However, it must be pointed out that if you're out drinking or Sukhumvit or another 'central' area and want a taxi, quite a few were not interested in coming, so if centrality is important there may be a slight issue.
Truly though, this Homestay is well named. Four nights staying here and it feels like home, it feels like a place that you can instantly relax but also that you're being looked after at all times. The building itself has been ingeniously renovated to maximise both space and aesthetics, while the rooms are just gorgeous (we experienced both the smaller and larger rooms - both are fabulous value but the junior suite on the 5th floor is most highly recommended). The little details, such as being able to borrow the machine machine whenever necessary and then magically having a drying stand appear outside your room, alongside the delicious pastries and use of all the pantry's contents, made our stay here blissful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We came from an open jaw trip in Cambodia and headed to Bangkok to celebrate my birthday. It was a very tiring 8 hour bus trip. When we arrived and saw the suite, I was totally overwhelmed because I did not realize that it was that great. It was beautiful, comfortable, clean, relaxing, and sweet!

They also have a very scenic view on their rooftop where you can think peacefully. In the morning, small breakfast like biscuits, breads that you can toast with different jams are available, coffees also. My mother also washed our clothes because they had washing machines. They taught us tips on how to handle tuk-tuk drivers and gave directions on where to go and eat. I felt home.

What surprised me more was, they bought me a birthday cake - which I have totally forgotten about buying it once we arrive. I initially asked for the fee and they said that it was "on the house". I was like, "Are you serious?". I was very speechless and couldn't not imagine someone from another country would do that very touching and exceptional customer service. I brought the box back home and I wished I could also bring the plastic knife. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diwata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff (family-run), they go the extra mile to help you and to make the most of your stay.
Beautiful place with very nice rooms, quite close to the center yet not in a very touristy area which gives you the possibility to discover something new and off the beaten tracks.
Wonderful base to explore the city but itself so comfy and homey that you can easily spend some time in your room/the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had stayed at a more basic hotel in Bangkok, and decided to upgrade to the Loog Choob for the extra nights we were there, it proved to be an excellent decision. My partner had been quite sick for a few days, and the day we moved hotels was one of her worst, so when we walked into our room, it honestly felt like we had hit the jackpot! It was just what she needed, the room is spacious, and beautifully decorated, the bathroom is also lovely and well equipped.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valenzuela2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Do not be quick to judge the location of Loog Choob! We arrived late at night and the owner was outside waiting for us with a huge smile. Everyone was imcredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble! Facilities are brilliant - there is a washing machine available for use and although loog choob don't provide breakfast we had crossiants waiting for us in the kitchen area every morning. Beautifully designed home stay that 6 weeks into our travels still remains at the top of our ever increasing list of accomodations! Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to return soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 866 in Bangkok
1,510 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 866 in Bangkok
1,704 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 667 in Bangkok
538 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#4 of 667 in Bangkok
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loog Choob Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loog Choob Homestay

Property: Loog Choob Homestay
Address: 463/5-8 Loog Luang Road | Si Yaek Mahanak, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 667 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Loog Choob Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to experience the real lifestyle of Thai people but to stay in a place as comfortable as a luxury hotel in a much cheaper price? LooG Choob is a perfect answer for you. Loog Choob is a unique designed homestay, renovated from shophouses, a common residence for Bangkokian. Our well-furnished facilities definitely make you feel the most relaxed after roaming around the busy Bangkok. It is in a quiet residential area with a view of canal side. Local markets, foodshops, and shophouses are plenty in the neighborhood. Moreover, the major attraction tourist sites are very easily to be reached by walk or taxi. "Feel like a 5 star hotel with lots of family touches." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loog Choob Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing