We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location but average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan
Ranked #222 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The best thing in this hotel is it's very very good location near MRT (metro) and AirportLink train station. Both are easily accessible by foot and this hotel is very good option for short time traveler who needs good access in to city and to airport.

The downside of the hotel is the noisy corridors. All sounds from other rooms and corridor are audiable in the room so having good and relaxing night might require good sleeping skills. The rooms are also quite small and breakfast is good but very limited.

Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PirkkaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

As we were scheduled to fly quite early in the morning from Bangkok to Chiang Mai we chose this hotel, mostly because its location next to the airport link station Makkasan.
It was a great stay and not just because of the location! Altough the place is located in a desolate area, inside the hotel everything is perfectly fine! Super friendly staff, the room was clean, nice interior, Best Shower In Thailand So Far! Great bed... Perfect!
And if you want to go out in the evening, the staff guys will tell you where to go, the place is just one metro stop away from where the action is...
We had a good time!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and had no A/C noise at all Advise for those who want to travel to the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and my husband couldn't have chosen a perfect hotel than this. It was accessible not only to the Makkasan Airport link, but connects us to the City & Express line stations with no problems at all. On our check-in we were informed that 2 single beds were booked by our travel agency but after telling Teddy that we came for our 2nd honeymoon, he temporarily gave us a king bedroom on the smoking floor with the promise that he'll move us the next day. As we were out early the next day to tour the temples it was ok with us. As soon as we came back, our bags have been moved to a non-smoking room with king bed! My husband loved the breakfast buffet especially the fried rice and we just couldn't get enough of everything! Kwang was also very helpful when we had to print off some documents. Everyone is always greeting us whether we just woke up or coming back from a tour of the city. Thumbs up to everyone who works there! I guess the only downside is that the pool wasn't operational when we were there, but it was so small I don't know what will happen when everyone decides to go for dip! Nevertheless, my husband and I agree that we'll definitely come back to this hotel next time we're in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the road view, we were given a room at the back on our first night and it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVPuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a couple for 1 night while stopping over in Bangkok before heading to Phuket.
The location is close by to makkasan station, which is pretty straightforward to get to from the airport by train. However the roads (like most in Bangkok) are a hazard to cross. Making the short distance to the hotel a bit of a nightmare with luggage in tow.
Check in was easy enough, staff were friendly and spoke reasonable English.
The amenities were adequate, and the air con was cold and quiet.
The best part of the stay was the breakfast especially the fried rice, being the best we had during our 2 week stay in the country.

Overall it's a good stop off location if you're headed in or out of the main airport. Reasonably priced with a good breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very very friendly people. (Although thats a given, in this country)

A fantastic option for those wanting a layover actually in the city, and not the airport. Take the City or Express line (costs almost nothing!!!), get out at Makkasan, walk across the street, and you're there!!! Okay - the signage is only on the SW corner of the huge intersection, and the hotel is not visible from street level. (Check an online satellite view map before you go).

Once there you could hop on MRT train to Siam or any place you please. Next to a (legit) massage place with in-room service.

Hotel has fast working wi-fi. Rooms are clean. Bed is comfy. I didn't hear a peep from the train. What more could you want?

All my reviews are for value relative to class, and happy to pay this price again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justarandomperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel in early December 2012 for 3 nights. This boutique hotel was very new yet affordable with clean guest room and variety of breakfast (from continental to Thai style). The staffs were polite, friendly and helpful.

The location is very superb. You can take airport rail link from Suvarnabhumi airport and jump off at Makkasan station. The hotel is only 5 min away from the station by walking. There is also MRT close to it which could take you to most shopping centers, public parks etc.

My only complaint is wifi. My room somehow could not pick up much of the wifi signal, making me annoyed for a bit as free wifi in Bangkok is almost impossible. So I rely on wifi in this hotel. At least, they have 2 computers in the lobby with internet connection.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank Enigmatized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We used Unico Premier as a base for a two night stopover in Bangkok. It is a basic budget 3 star hotel that is clean, great service, and very easily accessible from the city and airport. I would recommend it for travellers who don't plan to be at the hotel much, rather use it only to sleep. Brilliant for getting around with being nextdoor to the metro link.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sezzie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#88 of 891 in Bangkok
941 reviews
Mercure Bangkok Makkasan
#226 of 891 in Bangkok
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#227 of 891 in Bangkok
1,271 reviews
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
At Mind Executive Suites
#221 of 891 in Bangkok
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan

Address: 57 Asoke - Dindaeng Rd. | Makkasan, Bangkok 10310, Thailand (Formerly Unico Premier MetroLink)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £28 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful 90 Room Boutique Hotel, managed by Furama International , is located in the heart of the city, yet is just 15 minutes by train from Suvarnabhumi Airport, thanks to it's ideal location adjacent to the Makkasan Airport Link Terminal. The award winning design features modern, minimalistic decor while providing full amenities for a comfortable stay. Metro Cafe offers chic and casual all day dining. The meeting room can accomodate upto 50 pax and comes fully equipped. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate the ease of travel within the city with the MRT Phetburi station (Exit 3) located in front of the hotel. All rooms feature an ensuite bathroom, LCD flat TV, personal safe, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. Unwind at the Rooftop Swimspa Jacuzzi Pool or workout at the Fitness Center. FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan is well worth a visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your FX Hotel Metrolink Makkasan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing