We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent basic guesthouse, close to backpacker areas.”
Review of Sinad Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sinad Guesthouse
Ranked #520 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent basic guesthouse, close to backpacker areas.”
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Free wifi usually worked, room was basic but tidy, the shared bathrooms were clean, and the shower had hot water. Communication was a little difficult, but it didn't cause any problems. Nice and quietstreet, but only 5 mins from khao San road etc, if that's what you're into! Seemed to be one of the more affordable options in the area, stayed in a single room (which had a double bed).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

You get what you pay for. Bangkok is a very expensive city to sleep in (by south east Asia standards) so this is a good budget option if like me you're trying to sleep for $6 or less a night (almost impossible in Bangkok). Me and my boyfriend Shared a double room for 350b.

The rooms are clean but in need of redecoration. The windows have bug mesh and rooms come with fans.

There is a toilet/shower on all floors and these were clean also but again basic. No hot water but to be honest in Bangkok a tepid shower is actually very refreshing. You need to provide your own toilet paper but there is a 7-11 across the road.

Free wifi throughout and and computers avaliable to use for a small fee.

There is a nice cafe/bar downstairs which is nice to sit and have a drink in.

Laundry also avaliable for $1 a kg (standard cost)
Close enough to Khao San that you can walk but far enough away that it's nice and quiet.

If you've been travelling around for a while you'll probably think it's absolutely fine, but if you're fresh off the plane you might find it a bit too basic.

The ladies who run the place were nice and very relaxed. Considering how cheap it is, I think it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was a fine budget hostel to stay in. The room was very basic it had a double bed, small desk and stool and small mirror with a working fan. The bathroom was shared and was a combined toilet and shower, the shower being a pipe connected to a shower head with a hose pipe. There was no hot water but there was no need for it, the cold shower was really welcome and i kind of enjoyed sqeegying up after myself. For £3 a night and only a 10 min walk away from Khao San road it did the job fine, if your backpacking or staying a short while and don't mind showering via a hose with the toilet (actually quite convienent) then have no fear. Just remember its £3 a night so dont expect much! Wouldnt stay here again but if your a no frills kind of person who is planning on being out most of the time it will serve its purpose.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I'be been here twice in 4 months and I have to partially disagree with the other reviews.
The place is cheap if you consider how expensive is bangkok compared to the rest of Thailand. It's close to Khao San but far enough from that horrible place's noise. Of course is still Banglamphu area so you need to rely on some sort of motorized transportation if you want to do some sightseeing unless you're keen on walking several kms. But it's Bangkok's fault, not theirs. The rooms are basic but quite big, a bit old but definitely not dirty. Ok not comparable to expensive hotels but hey, their target is a low budget backpacker. If you are used to backpacking this place is just fine. I noticed they clean the toilets at least three times a day, bed linen is clean and fresh, free fast wifi and good food as well if for once you aren't in the mood for a dinner out. You also get a shelf with some dozens of books to borrow!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We read that they were close to so many attractions on foot, but when we got there everyday we were taking a bus, sat in traffic for 45 minutes! It is only near to Khao San road, but you can't do that all day and night.
The rooms are quite dirty, very minimal, and the bed is so uncomfortable. At night they ock gates downstairs and people are buzzing to be let in The bathroom only has coldish showers, no hot ones!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimandHer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Let me start with the fact that it's cheap and pretty close to Khao San rd but that's about where the good parts stop. It's filthy and not particularly comfortable. I'd look around for something better as we did after our 2 nights here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
No photo provided
Hi Friends Hostel
#432 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Banglamphu
Warm White Hostel
Warm White Hostel
#93 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Counting Stars Hostel
Counting Stars Hostel
#193 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Banglamphu
K.S. House
K.S. House
#417 of 632 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Banglamphu
Born Free Hostel - Vista
Born Free Hostel - Vista
#176 of 1,187 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinad Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinad Guesthouse

Property: Sinad Guesthouse
Address: 240 soi Samsen1 ,Samsen Rd.,Banglumphu ,Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 1,187 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing