We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, AMAZING staff!”
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Siam
Ranked #1 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Siam is a beautiful place - the pictures prove it. What the pictures can't show is the incredible warmth and hospitality of the staff. We visited in July and were blown away by the level of customer service. We were passing through Bangkok, en route to another city up north. The manager, Nicky, happened to be from that city. Not only did he type out a list of recommended locations and activities, but he also gave us his personal phone number, in case we should need his help later in our travels! Nicky and the staff looked after us incredibly well. It was a great way to be welcomed to a new country and a new culture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffersonAlcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I was recently a guest at the Siam Hotel and I had a truly excellent experience there.
It is a credit to this beautiful hotel that I chose it as the venue to propose to my girlfriend. Every aspect was perfect from the time we stepped on the boat, for the half hour cruise up the river to the hotel, to the staff who met us at the pier upon arrival and guided us to our table on the pier where the champaign was awaiting us on ice. Dinner in the private "chefs school" dinning room over looking the river was excellent as was the food and drinks in the deco bar after dinner. The staff where very attentive and everything was perfect. The suite was fantastic and our stay was most enjoyable.
This hotel is beautifully presented, unique and interesting with the owners personal collection of antiques on show through the hotel including in the room.
The service from all the staff in the hotel was impeccable and we where taken excellent care of during our stay. I should probably mention that the initial email correspondence with sales department was the only area that let down an otherwise perfect experience.
All and all it was an excellent experience and one that myself and my fiancé will never forget... Thank you to all the staff at the Siam for a great job well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is spectacular. Absolutely jaw dropping. The best hotel at which I have ever stayed. I was very impressed when the GM Jason took the time to reply to an email that I sent him whilst he was on holiday, having difficulty booking a room with two small children. He replied by saying that he would love to have us as guests and that the children can stay in our room at no extra cost. On arrival, we were met by the incredible Nicky who took the liberty of upgrading our room! After sleeping in late we saw Nicky the next afternoon who organised for us to have a late breakfast (which are absolutely fantastic by the way). The food at this hotel is superb.

The attention to detail in this hotel is staggering. Aesthetically stunning, its beauty is equally matched by unparalleled service. The rooms are absolutely stunning. The villas with swimming pools are extraordinary. The spa is stunning. Elle and Yung were incredible with the children.

In short, it's a hotel created by visionaries and run by visionaries. Breathtakingly elegant and stylish with an attention to service that makes you feel like the owner as opposed to a guest. I could happily live there! This surely must be the best hotel in Bangkok.

Thanks to all at the Siam, especially Nicky whose grace, thoughtfulness and professionalism made our stay at the Siam such an an extraordinary experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seansrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed one night in the Siam suite, which is the most basic one but still definately is far from an ordinary hotel room. Each one has a different theme, and we stayed at the music theme suite. It was beautiful and very spacious. You have a big bed room and a separate lounge area with TV, minibar and sofa. The bath room is also really nice with tub, separate shower and nice products. If you're new to Bangkok (and also if you're not) check out the complimentary nancy chandler's map, with lot's of tips on what to do and see.

When it comes to food we had some mixed experiences. The afternoon tea at the cafe cha was average and does not come near what you get at the Mandarin Oriental for example, though it is a tad cheaper. However, we had some really nice food from chon, the Thai restaurant. You can also get a nice table overlooking the river. The breakfast was ok, but we opted for the bread basket, which was not so much bread and more pastries, not the healthiest choice.

The best thing about the hotel is its beauty. Everywhere you go there is something to rest your eyes upon, be it sculptures from the ming dynasty or the magically beautiful garden. It all gave a really nice atmosphere and a sense of deep relaxation. All stress was forgotten.

One word of advice. If you come to bangkok and want to be in the middle of town and close to all shopping and entertainment this is not the place I would recommend. It is a bit off, even for the Dusit district, but if you look for a place to relax this is it, and there is also a lot to do at the hotel (spa, yoga, muay thai, snooker, etc).

One of the most expensive places in Bangkok, still we felt it was worth the price and then some.

Room Tip: The siam suites on the north side overlooks a fire station, we had no issue with that but would prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a truly remarkable hotel. On the river, wonderfully designed and decorated with a vast collection of antiques. The rooms are fabulous and the staff are superb. Nothing is too much trouble. The Spa is one of the best we have visited, the food was perfect. Don't miss this if you can go the extra few baht.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. A view of the river is good in this extraordinary city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Siam exceeded all expectations. The boutique hotel has luxurious rooms and the best bathrooms. The spa treatment was the best. We had a river cruise and drinks afterward on the patio dock. After that we had a wonderful dinner at the Thai restaurant. The night was magical. The hotel was designed by Bill Bensley designs and gave you a real sense of Thai culture. The hotel is in walking distance to the Palace. It is really the place to stay while in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

In my travels I often hear about new hotels which are "unbelievable". I view such comments as the sign of somewhat inexperienced travellers exuberance on discovering places far from the norm of home. The Siam is truly unbelievable, from the entry way, to the rooms with their river views, to the Spa, everything had a special touch to It. The General Manager and staff were highly attentive to us, had wonderful suggestions as to things to do. We felt like we were indeed guests of a family.
We extended our stay, rather tHan move to the writer's wing of the Oriental where we had reservations. Jason and team, please keep The Siam as lovely as it is today. We are looking forward to visiting again soon,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbuRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 883 in Bangkok
8,452 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £308 - £653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 3 acres of verdant frontage along the city side of the Chao Praya River, The Siam is a private urban luxury resort located in Bangkok's Royal Dusit district. The Siam features 39 of the capital's most spacious suites and pool villas as well as a uniquely historical Thai House, Connie's Cottage. All rooms are outfitted with plush furnishings, super-sized king beds and lofty ceilings. Each suite is individually designed with original turn of the century oriental artwork and antiquities and is catered for by a personal butler. Complimentary WiFi is available property-wide. Guests have an array of superlative amenities at their fingertips: restaurants, cooking school, bar, café, Opium Spa, gym, yoga terrace, Muay Thai boxing ring, beauty salon, library/cinema, infinity pool, gift/antiques gallery, conservatory and traditional Thai houses. The Siam is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing