We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Siam
Ranked #1 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Marvellous decoration full of high quality antiques mixed with the modern outfit in a colonial style building that resembles a refurbished train station!
Choose one of the second floor rooms facing the river.
Enjoy the breakfast at the river front. with very attentive service though sometimes they might mix up your breakfast orders....
The hotel is in an area far from the more bullish area of the city, and close to the hotel there are no places to walk around or have dinner...but this is compensated by the fact that they have their own boat that takes you to the more bullish area of Bangkok (35/40 min transfer time) . With the chaotic traffic in the city this is a very good option and also you enjoy a nice river tour!!
The rooms are very beautiful and cozy and have all the stuff to make you relax and enjoy them after a day's tour.
We don't like the environmental friendly big ceramic shampoo containers cause their are clumsy ( and dangerous) in a wet area!
Must stay there!!

Room Tip: any second floor rooms facing the river...they have more view than the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    58
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
76
318
37
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

World class hotel, service, attention to details, staff best I have ever experienced. Words can not express the experience must visit to understand. Nicky our Butler was attentive, knowledgeable and added to our visit. These accolades would not be possible without involvement of general manager Jason Friedman

Bob

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overall, a chic and cool river retreat in the middle of chaotic Bangkok. The architecture was a cross between modern Thai, French Colonial and authentic original teak village houses. All littered with very interesting antiques. Certainly a quirky blend, but it worked beautifully. We had a standard suite that was very large and well appointed. The bathroom was also quite spacious.
Highlights:
-The teak yacht that the hotel provides for river transportation was spectacular. We had it to ourselves for a private river sightseeing tour the evening we arrived.
-The Thai restaurant located in the traditional wood homes next to the river was excellent.
-The service was very good. I did not realize that we had a private butler, but that would explain why he went out of his way to address us by name and set up our meals within the hotel and make helpful suggestions for activities.
-We were given a Nancy Chandler map and guide that was the single most helpful item we had to explore Bangkok on our own using the hotel boat and public transportation.
-Breakfast was very good by the river every morning with fresh squeezed juices and made to order food and coffee drinks.
Not our favorite:
-Did not like the refillable bottles of shampoo, bath gel and conditioner. Yes, I know it is more 'echo friendly' but is still kind of grosses me out...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The design and materials used in this hotel are one of a kind and absolute stunning while still comfortable and functional. The rooms are luxurious and large. The gym is so unique with a boxing ring and having breakfast down by the river made me feel as though I was in a different world. The location is a bit further than the other hotels but the hotel's boat conveniently takes you into town. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netanel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on our way through Thailand and absolutely loved it. I can honestly say I have never stayed in a City Hotel that is so beautiful. The attention to detail is second to none and no request however small is ignored for a moment. We had a villa at the river front & the space & privacy it affords is easily worth the money if you are staying for a few days.

Room Tip: Go for a Villa, you know you are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0pster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I have been to a lot of hotels and resorts in Asia and I can say The Siam is in the top for service, rooms, food, spa, amenities, and location. The hotel is very tranquil with a riverside location that has a lap pool, lounge area, deck, and restaurant that directly overlooks the water. Two restaurants which are both fabulous. A great spa. The rooms are spacious, even the standard ones. We had two rooms for our family which included one river view suite room. Incredible amount of space with a living room area and huge bathroom. The staff is very attentive to all your needs. The manager Jason greeted us several times and made us feel very relaxed to make The Siam our home. Our butler was amazing as he looked after everything following up on many details and somehow seemed to always be there for information and assistance. The other real plus is the private boat that The Siam uses to move you along the river to different restaurants and areas. We used this several times as it was very convenient and a great way to travel. The hotel has an extremely nice gym and fitness center with its own boxing ring for lessons. The private screening room (cinema) was a real treat to spend an evening watching a movie and dinner. All set up by our extremely attentive butler! Another interesting feature of the hotel is the vast amount of antiques and historical items on display. We spent several hours just walking thru the hotel and looking at all the antiques on display. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and families with older children (teenagers).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJames88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Siam for 3 nights in November. Loved....loved.....LOVED it!!!!

The hotel is fresh and elegant- interesting and beautiful. Our room was a very large room on the top floor with a wonderful view of the river. Huge bathroom - nice amenities. Really wonderful.

The common areas are beautiful and clever. The spa is personal, clean, lovely.

The breakfast is great - interesting and fresh.

The best part of the Siam however is the service. The staff from beginning to end is awesome. They can't be more resourceful or more helpful. We adored the butler ( who also is manager)! He was so helpful making dinner reservations - recommendations on shopping - nothing is too much. He even stood on the pier and waved goodbye when we would head out.

Can't recommend this property enough!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,181 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 862 in Bangkok
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Property: The Siam
Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 3 acres of verdant frontage along the city side of the Chao Praya River, The Siam is a private urban luxury resort located in Bangkok's Royal Dusit district. The Siam features 39 of the capital's most spacious suites and pool villas as well as a uniquely historical Thai House, Connie's Cottage. All rooms are outfitted with plush furnishings, super-sized king beds and lofty ceilings. Each suite is individually designed with original turn of the century oriental artwork and antiquities and is catered for by a personal butler. Complimentary WiFi is available property-wide. Guests have an array of superlative amenities at their fingertips: restaurants, cooking school, bar, café, Opium Spa, gym, yoga terrace, Muay Thai boxing ring, beauty salon, library/cinema, infinity pool, gift/antiques gallery, conservatory and traditional Thai houses. The Siam is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing