We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrive in style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Siam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Siam
Ranked #1 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Arrive in style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Catch the hotel's elegant varnished wood old-style shuttle boat from Central Pier for a relaxing 40-min ride up river to this fabulous hotel. Disembark and be ushered into the comfortable Chon Thai restaurant, designed as an East Asiatic Company-era colonial house - open on the ground (river!) level and air-conditioned upstairs. The menu is interestingly different from all other Thai restaurants - I recommend the Tom Som Pla sea bass fillet soup.
Stroll through the magnificent hotel halls: breathtaking, calm. cool and enjoy a tea in the café. General Manager Jason Friedman will ensure that all his (helpful, smiley) staff work together to give you a most pleasurable time in this still new but old-seeming charming oasis. William.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    53
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
286
36
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived to be greeted by our Butler Oat,and it only got better The hotel is beautiful,full of antiques and curios,tastefully laid out and displayed .from a full size billiard table to a grand piano all of which are available for ones enjoyment our day butler Jill was always there to assist and both made our stay that much more special
The room was a dream and we looked at several others being nosey and each category was sumptuous and so well finished you can not fail to be impressed.
The Spa was all you could ask for and more The dining options were excellent as were the bars and all that we ate was of the highest standard,
There is only one draw back being that you are a little out of the center which if your first time in Bangkok makes journeys a bit longer,But there is a complimentary boat service running through the day to the evening.
WE WILL GO BACK AND STAY LONGER WITH ITS MAGNETIC CHARM AND APPEAL

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were fabulous but you may want a plunge pool and sun deck so choose a room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here five nights in January 2014. Beautiful room and great service. Breakfast every morning outside overlooking the river. We had one problem. Breakfast was so enjoyable we felt like just sitting there waiting for lunch time. We simply did not want to leave. At various excursions we could not wait to get back. The hotel is beautifully decorated with, what we were told, the owner's antiques. The hotel is in the old section of the city and offers free shuttle service in their own very elegant river boat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

One of our wedding presents from our friends was an invitation for a cooking class in this beautiful hotel during our honeymoon in Thailand. Upon arrival for the cooking class in the hotel (we had our stay booked somewhere else already) we were greeted by the Executive Chef Jane-Therese, an Australian national with a very friendly and welcoming attitude. We immediately had the feeling that there is someone handling us that truly values being a good host and chef. She took us on a TukTuk tour to a local market where she gaves us some indepth explanations about different local as well as international products and after an absolutely interesting hour there she took us back to the hotel. She gave us a little tour of the hotel (being hoteliers ourselves this was highly interesting to us) and then accompagnied us to the cooking class located in a little teak hut right on the banks of the river in the gardens of the hotel, a beautiful place indeed. There she handed us over to the Thai Chef Kun Oil who explained to us the products we were going to use. She always cooked the dish in front of our eyes and then we were supposed to repeat the process ourselves, followed up with us eating everything that we had cooked before. We had a fantastic time with lots of humour, wonderfull people and a stunning location. If you ever have the chance to meet Jane-Therese and her team or visit this stunning retreat, you should do so!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltenbummler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner and I first stayed at The Siam in July 2013, the hotel bookended our trip down to the islands. So deeply impressed and delighted were we that we returned for six nights over Easter this year!

I have to say...we had built up the place so much in our own heads and are expectations were so soaring, and yet once again The Siam exceeded them on every count. There is truly few other places like this place. It is our favourite place on earth! Serenity, service, tranquil beauty, tantilising gourmet delights...the place has it all.

It was my seventh trip to Thailand...before discovering The Siam, I never imagined I would ever visit the country JUST to stay in Bangkok; this amazing city usually does my head in after a few days and I need to head south to relax. But with an urban oasis such as this, well, we simply had to return! It was the most relaxed we have been in a long time.

So many pleasures - we love the short boat journey into town and didn't get in a car once the whole week (apart from the airport transfers!). And you just feel so decadent, when you're catching the boat from Sathorn Pier back to the hotel, you can see all these tourists crowding onto other hotel boats, and every time we had the beautiful teakwood Siam boat all to ourselves.

The wonderful Jason, general manager, who we met briefly last year made a point of tracking us down one day to welcome us back again and we had a nice old chat and felt very welcomed. He also gave us some terrific dining options and suggestions which we followed up happily! Jason used to be GM at Hamilton Island's Qualia on the Great Barrier Reef (a short flight from where we live in Brisbane), which we have visited once before and found exquisite. He certainly knows how to pick his roles!!

We have simply got to mention Anh (I forget the spelling!) our fabulous butler. He was even better than the butlers we had during our two visits last year. Such a humble, gracious, good-humoured, intelligent and capable and THOUGHTFUL man. He made our stay all the more seamless and relaxed.

The long and the short of it is this - go there immediately.

Room Tip: Even the entry level Siam Suites are breathtaking. We love the Riverview and Mae Nam Suites because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisOutwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our first trip to Bangkok and we were undecided between staying at the Mandarin Oriental or The Siam. At the strong urging by our travel agent, we chose The Siam. We were certainly not disappointed. After flying a total of 22 hours from South Africa, we were looking for some peace and quiet. We found it at The Siam.

When our van arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by a smiling and bowing staff of 6-8 people. At this point we met our butler, "Mac" who quickly became our best friend. During our 4 days Mac always seemed to appear just when we needed him while never being intrusive. He seemed to be everywhere. He even came into the hotel to see us off at 4:30am, and provided us with a beautifully bagged continental breakfast to take with us in the taxi. If we could ever import anything from Thailand our first choice would be Mac.

Before arriving we had indicated that we would like to take part in a 1/2 day Thai cooking class. A month before our trip, we were sent an extensive list of dishes that we could chose from for our class. After spending an hour with the chef in a local market selecting ingredients, we were taken to a beautiful small indoor/outdoor room that was set up for our class. There were 3 identical cooking stations along with a beautiful table set for the two of us. We were given printed copies of the dishes selected. The chef described the first dish and then cooked it at her station. We tasted it so we would know the right way to do it. Then it was our turn to each prepare the same dish at our own stations. Of course, Mac was right there with us to answer any questions. He also likes to cook and had spent time in the US, so he was very helpful in recommending ingredient substitutions we could find at home. We repeated this process for our 3 chosen dishes. We have taken many cooking classes all over the world, but never have we had such an elegant and interesting experience.

Our River-view suite had river view, but only from quite a distance. If a river view is important, we would recommend springing for a villa. The room was huge and very comfortable with just about every amenity anyone might want, including many English TV stations and a large inventory of free in-room movies. The entire hotel is home to a very impressive collection of art. Just walking to our room or breakfast we really enjoyed the beautiful and peaceful surroundings. We used the complimentary boat transportation provided by the hotel to visit other parts of the city, including time spent at the Mandarin Oriental. In retrospect, we believe we make the right hotel choice.

Room Tip: If we return we will stay in a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RGT6416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was my first trip to Bangkok and this hotel was recommended by the travel agent for luxury and for getting away from the crowd. She was right!! The hotel property was impressive and tastefully decorated. It felt a bit like being on a movie set with all the antiques displayed nicely around the hotel property. The rooms were equally impressive and large. Tons of closet space and a sitting area, comfy large bed, and a more than generous bathroom space. What impressed me the most though was the service by the staff. No grumpy faces, just a bunch of genuinely happy workers who all remembered my name. I remember the spa staff (who got to now me quite well over the two days I stayed here) and I especially remember Jill since he showed me to my room and made recommendations for activities. I had a tour guide (arranged separately) for activities around Bangkok and Jill had the presence of mind to call the tour guide and ensure that I set aside some time before I leave to enjoy a complimentary massage that was arranged when I booked my room. That's service for you, when the hotel staff ensures you take advantage of their complimentary services! The hotel is a bit of a distance out from the city and I never utilised their personal ferry since I had access to ground transportation. I also stayed one night at the St Regis which was easier for getting back to the airport. Overall I would highly recommend The Siam. I got my money's worth and received top class treatment in the process.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siam

Property: The Siam
Address: 3/2 Khao Road | Vachirapayabal, Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Siam 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 3 acres of verdant frontage along the city side of the Chao Praya River, The Siam is a private urban luxury resort located in Bangkok's Royal Dusit district. The Siam features 39 of the capital's most spacious suites and pool villas as well as a uniquely historical Thai House, Connie's Cottage. All rooms are outfitted with plush furnishings, super-sized king beds and lofty ceilings. Each suite is individually designed with original turn of the century oriental artwork and antiquities and is catered for by a personal butler. Complimentary WiFi is available property-wide. Guests have an array of superlative amenities at their fingertips: restaurants, cooking school, bar, café, Opium Spa, gym, yoga terrace, Muay Thai boxing ring, beauty salon, library/cinema, infinity pool, gift/antiques gallery, conservatory and traditional Thai houses. The Siam is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Siam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing