We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how to rate! ”
Review of Siam Oriental Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Siam Oriental Inn
Ranked #428 of 644 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Not sure how to rate! ”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Not sure how to rate this place, basically it's a fantastic location right in the middle if Koh San Road.
Completely basic accommodation, but I paid 600 baht for a twin room, air con, bathroom with free wi-fi.

You can choose cheaper rooms without a bathroom, single beds, cold water only etc.

It worked out at £10 or £5 per night sharing with a friend. What else could you expect for that price??

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rpb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
7
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is very cheap and has very little to offer other than a clean and safe place to sleep. It is very noisy from the bars downstairs and the room itself is a little depressing... there is also a 500baht key deposit which I almost the cost of a night's accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louremenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Cheap and cheerful hotel right in the middle of Khao San Rd.
The rooms are basic, but for the price you won't be expecting luxury. Each room has a bathroom, which is small, but has a toilet and a shower, so what else do you need?!
The rooms we stayed in were quiet enough, could only hear a faint buzz from the street.
All I will say is DON'T GET A FAN ROOM AS THEY ARE SCORCHIO! A/C is very necessary!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

After an all night train trip in 3rd class from Udon Thani to Bangkok, we checked a few guesthouses and decided on a room here as the bed appeared clean even if the room left a lot to be desired.
After showering we lay on top of the bed and were chatting when i noticed a small bug walking across my hand, which i examined before giving it the royal flush.
I was suspicious so went down stairs to use the wifi(as there is none in the rooms) and did a little research.
Sure enough there was an exact picture of my intruder and suspicions confirmed.

BED BUGS
BED BUGS
BED BUGS

Personally, my hotel worst nightmare.

Staff knew about the hotels problem but still proceeded to sell rooms.

I was however given a full refund after complaining. Needless to say we immediately checked out.


》Just down the road we had the same issue but in 3 different rooms in the same place!!!
-
We are now staying at LAMPHU HOUSE which is beautiful and clean and with great staff.
No bed bugs here and finally i can get some sleep.

Shame on you Siam Oriental.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzrobbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place is right in the heart of Bangkok's backpacker vein. Although some might find the street itself to be a little noisy. Get a room in the back to minimize the ambience from the night-crooners. The place is cheap, clean, and the staff is nothing but smiles. All rooms come with A/C, and depending on what you pay for "upgrades", the TV, Hot Water showers, etc could be added to your room selection.

While some might consider this place a tad "spartan", it's what one would expect for a room in the US$10 bracket.

The only thing about staying on Khao San is having to deal with the ever-annoying "Tailor Suit for you, sir? Cheap=Cheap. I make good suit for you, sir" cackle from the Indians who prowl the street like cockroaches

Room Tip: Call in advance. This place fills up very quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights for 490 baht. Accomodation clean and basic if you put bin outside then it'll be emptied but room is not cleaned daily so bathroom got a bit dirty. Great location if you want to be in the thick of it. We never had problems sleeping here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Cheap, bed with NO bed bugs, shower, working toilet, for a short stop over in Bangkok if you want to be in the heart of it and your on a budget this is perfect. I don't think in Bangkok you need to spend much time in the room as there is so much to see out of it. Yes it was loud but this ending at 12-1 and we got a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,122 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siam Oriental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siam Oriental Inn

Property: Siam Oriental Inn
Address: 190 Khaosan Road, Taladyod, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 644 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 62

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing