We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of The Pickled Liver

The Pickled Liver
Ranked #47 of 142 Nightlife in Bangkok
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great bar. Should be officially recognised as the premier Bangkok footy bar whatever team you support; all the footy that one can handle and a cosy warm atmosphere both in terms of surroundings and staff.

A wide range of beer, cider, and spirits are available along with Western, Thai, and Indian food. The Thai meals are as good as anywhere in Bangkok.

For some reason there is a true sense of camaraderie amongst the Bangkok regulars who come here and and a warm openness where locals and tourists from all walks of life seem to strike conversations up as if they were old friends.

The trip up Soi 7/1 is an eye-popping event on its own in the evenings. It's like running the gauntlet through a range of stereotypical Thailand nightlife establishments and there at the very end on the right is the bar - indoors for air-conditioning and home-like comfort, outdoors for the smokers and nightlife watchers.

Definitely the most friendly and homely bar for me that I have found in Bangkok to-date.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

What a great find.....very friendly bar staff on afternoons and on evenings. Happy hour is 3 till 7 20bhats off the usual prices. Super fast free wifi if you need to keep in touch with family or friends. A brilliant find for us on our first day. Great place for people watching. Enjoy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey_and_Kev2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just ignore the dross places on the way down the Soi”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great place to watch sport, can watch all Premier league and some championship games.
All other sports catered for.
Beer selection is good and menu simple but tasty

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank pddThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Homely place with a relaxed atmosphere, populated by many British football fans. I don't think you can get a more authentic British pub outside Britain than this. Very friendly, relaxed staff. My wife had a chat with the owner, who in a humble way praised his "great staff", and I think this indicates something about the general atmosphere in this place. Highly recommended.
(BTW it can be a problem navigating to this pub: Entering Soi 7/1 (not Soi 7) you pass Bangkok Beat on the right and then have to go past a number of sex-orientated bars before arriving at the Pickled Liver at the very end of the soi)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DonDan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Pint of Ale!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I really enjoyed having a couple of quiet pints of beer that finally has more taste than lager. Being away from the UK for over a year and a half, this place is nicely comforting and the beer though pricier than the local stuff, is thoroughly worth it. Glad that we were warned about venturing to the end of the street to find it as the night before we had turned back, unfortunately we had already eaten on our visit, but the food menu looked nice and reasonable. Also important for me and my very small bladder, the toilets are lovely and clean. A great place for fulfilling your ale craving!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CatwooMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pickled Liver also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Pickled Liver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing