We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service with high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Rangoon, Yangon, Myanmar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best service with high standard”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My stay at the Okura Prestige Bangkok was such a wonderful times. The staff are very helpful, efficient and you feel like home when you are there. From the check-in to the check-out, it all went so professional and proved it's high standard yet friendliness. The room are so luxurious, and have a good view. I enjoy watching the night scene from my room while working/reading. Okura will be my second home whenever I'll go to Bangkok. And it's location is just perfect, perfect for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nang Aye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,077
    356
    71
    28
    25
See reviews for
407
933
197
484
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Okura Prestige Bangkok is conveniently located, just 1 minute's walk from Phloen Chit BTR Station. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff made us feel very much welcomed. The hotel room is spacious enough with comfortable beddings. Internet service is also quick. We are particularly impressed by the idea of having the bathroom and the Water Closet separated. If you want privacy, the sliding doors can definitely help. The ToTo signature flushing toilet can make the toilet experience enjoyable, which is as fun as having a toy in the room.
The breakfast served at Up and Above is excellent and the food is refilled frequently.
Overall, we are very satisfied with the services, facilities and the food of Okura Prestige Bangkok and would definitely recommend it to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

FInally Okura is waking up and branding a real top notch five star hotel to compete with Four Seasons and the Mandarin Oriental Hotels. I think there are 3 so far, Bangkok, Taipei and Macau.

i have stayed in many Okura's in Japan and although clean and simply renovated i would not give them a 5 star rating, perhaps 3.5 or 4 depending upon the location. Tokyo and Kobe being the better ones.

Back to the Okura Prestige in Bangkok. Great hotel design and nice big rooms and very good service as well. All the restaurants in the hotel are nice as well and worth a visit.

My only issue in this hotel, and many hotels in Bangkok, is that the pools are cold !!! Although the air temp can be 32-34c, the pools are way below that. It's disappointing that such high end hotels don't heat their pools like in Hong Kong and Macau.

And for location, this is pretty good too as its almost in the main downtown area and close to the BTS and MRT.

Over all i loved the hotel, but for me the cold pool was very disappointing. The sun doesn't really face the pool. WAKE UP Okura management, HEAT THE POOL ( i don't mean hot, just enjoyable )

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback with our staff. Thank you too for the comments relating to the water in the pool! As it is in the shade for two month in the year, we are actually planning to heat the water for the next ‘tropical winter’ season!! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Samir R. Wildemann
General Manager
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but had Christmas Day Lunch Buffet here. We had the buffet plus drinks package and the sparkling wine was really nice. The buffet itself was average - nothing wrong but nothing spectacular. Nothing compared to the Four Seasons (we did this last year).
The staff were all very good and helpful.
We had a look around the public areas and I have to agree with previous comments that although the pool is spectacular it is on the wrong side of the building and is unappealing due to the fact it gets no sun.
I probably would have rated it 3.5 if that was possible.
Also the location of the hotel offers little to tourists.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Okura Prestige Bangkok is the top line of the Okura brand and is her first step in Asia out of Japan. The hotel has set a high standard for luxurious hotel for her competitors in Bangkok. It successfully gives the feeling of being privileged from the entering to leaving.

Located close to the Phloen Chit BRT station, it is reasonably close to the tourist spots at Siam and Chit Lom while it is reasonably away from the crowds.

The hotel is situated on the top floors of a composite office building. On ground floor, there is a subtle reception lobby where the bell boys greet the guests with warm smile and bow (a Japanese touch). The hotel lobby is on 24th floor which also houses the all-day dining restaurant and the Japanese restaurant, Yamazato. With a view to the city through the slanting curtain wall and high headroom, the lobby is spacious. A grand staircase leads up to the 25th floor where the amenities are housed. Check-in process is quick and a beautiful lady led us to the room and explained the facilities with good English.

The room is not big in Bangkok standard, but the design details is very attentive and nicely done. Beddings and toiletries are of very good quality. Water closet is standing alone from the bathroom which is a typical Japanese layout. The WC is equipped with heated seat, funny water jet and warm air that make the process a fun. Yet, the basin in the WC cubicle is too small. With sliding doors, the bathroom and walk-in closet can be hidden. The bar hub is well-equipped. One smart detail is the water heater which can be pulled out that it is not necessary to deal with the troublesome power cable. Lighting and temperature can be controlled with the touch screen panel. It is easy to use and the preset lighting modes are convenient.

A complimentary high tea set goes with a stay of two nights or above. It was very delicious and I love the pastries and dessert vey much. The sun shine on a winter afternoon plus the open view at the balcony are nice compliment to the nice food. Breakfast is served in either the all-day dining restaurant (up & above) or the Japanese restaurant (Yamazato). At up & above, the food is good in quality and quantity. Egg menu is offered and the egg Benedict is yummy. One comment to mention is that the table services should be trained up further: my table was cleared up twice while i was picking food at the buffet counters. Although the waiters had quickly set up the table for me again, it would not be a nice experience. Contrary to this, the breakfast menu at Yamazato is fixed with only choice of rice or porridge. The patronage is much lower, I was one of the five guests that morning. The food is good, but frankly, it is more of a Japanese experience which I would not try twice, although I was reminded by a friend in advance.

The pool receives the most comments in this site. It has all the basic gimmicks like comfortable sun beds (although just a very few), infinity edge and nice open view. But it has a fatal disposition that it is shaded most of the day and most of the year. Maybe this explains why the pool is always empty!! The fitness centre, just next to the pool, is well equipped and opens 24 hours.

All in all, the hotel worths a stay for its luxury, but may not be a good choice to return considering its price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yhpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear yhpian,
Thank you for choosing The Okura Prestige during your recent trip to Bangkok and we appreciate sharing such detailed description of our hotel on this platform. I am delighted that you enjoyed the convenience of staying in our central location and also that our staff had such a positive role in your overall experience.
We do regret that our pool, which received several comments lately, is indeed in the shade for 2 months in the year during the height of the winter solstice. The reverse side of the 'coin' is that we will have sun exposure from sunrise to sunset in the summer months. Thank you once again for your review and it would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back.
With very best regards

Samir Wildemann
General Manager
www.okurabangkok.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We visited Bangkok quite often and always endeavour to try new hotels, just to have different experiences. We stayed in the Okura Prestiage from 8th to 11th January 2013 and this gave us surprising satisfaction, Good location, excellent services, friendly staff, comfortable room. The swimming pool and the lounge is a must. The breakfast is substantial with choices beyond our expectation. Staff are helpful and friendly plus knowledgable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackchan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Visited Bangkok with family over New year 2012/2013 and stayed in the Okura Prestige. Fast and thoughtful reservation confirmation together with location map and even a text in Thai and English language for any local driver "Please bring me to the Bangkok Okura which is in.....".
Cool interior, minimalist design like often used in Japanese styling, but with Thai design touches.
plush sofas and seating in the lobby, in the bar and especially superb on the terrace on 24th floor, with a view on Bangkok's skyline. Japanese kites and other nice decorations give a nice accent.
Breakfast buffet was a very good selection of Thai , Japanese, Asian and Continental food, my wife especially liked the fruits. Mangos and Bananas in Thai are REALLY good and here you can have them all . For me, the Coffee was really good, which is not always so even in good hotels, and my favorite was the "Egg Benedict".
I heard that they even have their own bakery to make french bread and sweets.

The hotel has a roomy gym with the latest equipment, a SPA and best of all, an outside pool on the 25th floor, that overlooks Bangkok, similar to the one of the Marina Bay sands in Singapore. After shopping in the city at 36 degrees Celcius, the pool is a good place to cool down and play with the kids.

All in all, I think that the Okura combines the best of Thai and Japanese caretaking for adults and kids, central location, style and atmosphere, a real experience that I will use again when I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raifuomachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Property: The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Address: 57 Wireless Road, Park Ventures Ecoplex | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing