We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6-star service level!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is my first time staying at Okura hotels. I went there with my husband last week for 3 nights. I must say this is definitely the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in Bangkok. I’ve been to Banyan Tree and Kempinski, both 5 stars, but the service quality and ambience of the hotel cannot be compared to Okura.

Upon check-in, the staff at the Front Desk were very professional and efficient. One of them escorted us to our room and carefully showed us every detail that we needed to know including the light control panel, mini bar, etc. Free Wi-Fi was available throughout our stay, although connection may not be fast enough sometime.

The hotel is at a prime location. It is directly connected to BTS station with sheltered pathway, and it’s only within 3 minutes walking distance. 7-11, Dean & Deluca, and fruit juice and newspaper stalls are just located inside the office building next door that is connected to the hotel as well.

After check-in, we had lunch at the hotel’s Japanese restaurant. We ordered the Weekend Lunch Set, which had a huge portion and was extremely delicious. The restaurant is on the 24/F, same level as the lobby, with a great city view. The service of the staff in the restaurant was excellent; although they don’t speak very good English but at least they tried their best to accommodate our needs.

For breakfast, we had a choice of buffet or Japanese style. Since the buffet style breakfast had so many food choices, we went for buffet breakfast for 3 days. Selection was superb, as well as food quality. You also get to choose from the Egg menu with a few omelet choices etc. The staff there were also great as they always make sure that you are being looked after, and they keep the tables and utensils really clean unlike other hotels that do not hire enough people to tidy up finished tables. The restaurant is also located on 24/F with great view.

Spa service was another two thumbs up. The service and skills of the therapists are so much better than those in other 5-star hotels, i.e. Banyan Tree. Although quite expensive, around 3800Baht for 2 hours (this is special promotion already), but I would say it’s worth the price. It’s so pampering that I decided to go again the next day.

Swimming pool is just next to the spa, on the 25/F. The pool was at standard pool size, with infinity edge. Only drawbacks are that they do not have umbrellas attached to the beach chairs/tables, and they do not have a pool-side bar.

We also had a nice dinner at Elements restaurant, which is just next to the swimming pool. We ordered Wagyu beef 350g for two persons (a must-try!) and 2 appetizers, fois gras and lobster. And we were already quite full. They even provided us with Petite Four. The presentation and food quality was at 6-star level.

I also need to highlight the exceptional service of their Front Desk and Security staff. On our second night, my husband’s wallet was stolen on our way back to the hotel. We asked the Front Desk for assistance. One of their staff helped us to find all the contact numbers for reporting the lost credit cards, and advised us to go to the police station next morning. Since we cannot speak Thai, the hotel had arranged a Security Officer (I think his name is Sampi) to accompany us to the police station as a translator. And because we did not have any more language barriers, the whole process at the police station only lasted for 30 minutes. Since the report was written in Thai, the Front Desk staff helped us to find a translation service which is just next to the hotel, and we had the report translated in English in less than 24 hours. During the whole incident, the hotel staff, those at the Front Desk and the Security, were all extremely helpful and professional. Although I cannot remember each of their names, but anyone who had helped us during this incident was very much appreciated.

Given the prime location, service level, food quality, etc., I will definitely choose Okura again on my next trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unun218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

We’re (I am!!) absolutely glowing – thank you so much for your very detailed review. First and foremost, we’re delighted that you enjoy our amenities including our talk of the town Breakfast Buffet, the traditional set meal in Yamazato, and that truly memorable dining experience in Elements, our European fine dining. We are very proud of the team there and we have shared your review with chef Cyril Cocconi. We also know how disturbing it can be when one loses his wallet and we are so glad to read that our team managed to assist you in such a professional manner and you were in the end able to enjoy a perfect holiday here in town, nearly forgetting this rather regretful moment. Lastly, we’re thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our location in the heart of the city with the convenient direct access to the Sky-Train System. We greatly appreciate your business and fantastic endorsement, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,730 - 1,736 of 2,791 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

I am sure I gonna be back again in Bangkok. Too easy to take BTS. The staff they was very nice service.
I was very comfortable to be there. Especially at the club as I can joy every time I want. Good hotel, good service, good location and very nice pool etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vpuechmongkolchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this great review about The Okura Prestige Bangkok. Our central location and easy access is indeed a big plus and we are really pleased to read that you enjoyed our Club Floor rooms and all the offerings in the Club Lounge. Looking forward to welcoming you back for more very soon!
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We chose to lodge in this hotel during our anniversary trip was because it was new and it's reviews are all good in tripadvisors and hotel.com.

And, our four day 3 nights stay in this hotel was proven to be a solid evidence to show that this hotel is really so great!!

Location:
Wonderful, just next to BTS Phloenchit, and it has a conncected skywalk, so convenient! And Chitlom/ Siam is also within the walking distance, of coz, it was hot in day time to walk from the hotel to Chitlom - Central World, but at night time, it was breezy in BBK and it was not a bad choice to walk from Chitlom to this hotel!

Hotel Exterior:
It is located up above a commercial building, the exterior is new in style and easy to be located by all taxi drivers.

Hotel Facilities:

The Room - is spacious, the washroom/Shower area and toilet are seperate while we could enjoy bath tub and watch TV at the same time, as the washroom is a open-style! (Of coz u can close the sliding walls!)

Swiming Pool:
Infinite type, the view is marvellous!!!!

Gym: Large, ok.

Restaurants: Very nice! we could choose to have western buffet at it's "Up and Above" restaurant/ Japanese style breakfast at its Japanese outlet (heard that this Japanese one is famous in Japan), but we decided to have three consecutive days of western one, as it was so good with lots of good choices of food, including herbal tea, order-to-make egg dishes, pork noodles, chinese style dim sum...even, there was fresh honey comb!! I really could not believe such wonderful supply of quality food!!

Service: More than impeccable!!!!
Very very nice!! All staff smiled cheerfully to you when they saw you, they even bowed with 90 degree sometimes!!! Not only referring to the front-desk staff, but also the housekeeping and repair and maintenance staff at lobby!!!
This hotel mostly impressed us was: As they knew we were on our Re-honey moon (wedding anniversary), they offered us a surprised blueberry cheesecake, a beautiful flower bundle, a congratulations card and even a rose bath!!!!!!!! This was what we unexpected!!! AND certainly, such kind of service must impress every guest too!!!

To conclude, this hotel grades A+.....

Room Tip: We just stay in deluxe room, but the view is good and it's so nice already!! Higher floors are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Okura Prestige Bangkok. We couldn’t be happier that you felt our staff made you feel so welcome and that you were able to enjoy your anniversary here with us! We’re passionate about service and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experiences with each member of our staff that you encountered. The 24th floor breakfast buffet overlooking the hustle and bustle of the city from above is a must-do, and we are more than pleased that you took pleasure in our food offerings. We hope that we have the honour of welcoming you back to our Bangkok Hotel soon and all the team is so pleased to note that we made you feel so special for this so very important occasion! Happy Anniversary!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile


I m a bkk local people , Checked in 2 times in standard room type ,the room and all hotel decoration were very new because this is a japanese 5 stars brand new hotel in town and the totally room's style is all about Japanese which everything in the room such as such small toilet separately from bathroom , traditional bathrobe available , a very good taste of original green tea , the overall was very nice

The hotel located at heart CBD of Bangkok and connected BTS ploenchit station that very comfortable for both tourist and business people

Hotel's Breakfast had 2 choices of different outlet of restaurant and kind of food which can choose either international buffet at all day dinning or Japanese a la cart set ( light meal) at Japanese restaurant , a few guest had Japanese breakfast was very good if prefer a quietly

This hotel is vertical separately located in the same building of office and retails which on the office space ( lower zone ) and retail shops in the G floor a 24 hrs convenient store , another Japanese restaurant & bar and Dean & Deluca coffee are available as well

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yossakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Khun Yossakorn,
Thank you so much for your review of The Okura Prestige Bangkok! Sometimes the biggest luxury is to escape home in one’s own city and be pampered in a hotel with a lovely dinner, thus we absolutely appreciate that you did just that. In all our Okura Hotels were are proud of our Food and Beverage offerings and our motto is to provide best Accommodation, best Cuisine and best Services and every month we have very unique happenings on offer. Chef Hagiwara has prepared a special for the first anniversary of Yamazato, and I hope you will have a chance to try Chef Cyril Cocconi monthly ‘Food is Art’ events in Elements. We appreciate your business and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed 4D3N with Okura, staffs are nice and helpful. Location is good, very close to BTS (just two BTS stations to arrive Siam Square). They have an outdoor infinity pool, gym, Spa and restaurants. You can choose either buffet breakfast at Up & Down Restaurant or traditional Jpn breakfast set at Yamazato Restaurant. Both are yummy(^^)!!! Hotel free wifi very stable, no matter in-room, the pool or restaurants. The bedded is soft and comfort. The in-room lighting and alarm clock are using the new modern system. We are using Japanese toilet in-room, can wash pat pat (bottom) ^^ kekeke!! The hotel is new and guests mainly come from business, not too crowd and noisy. However, travelers need to take care their kids at the pool as it is normal adult size deep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel located in the heart of Bangkok, from where you were able to enjoy very easy access to nearby upscale shopping centres and delicious restaurants alike. With the direct access to Bangkok's Sky Train System sightseeing becomes an even greater pleasure as you are able to reach areas such as the river front or Bangkok’s renowned Week-end market in less than 20 Minutes and we get so many great reviews on this. Also, we’re delighted that you liked the well-appointed luxurious guestrooms and the choice of breakfast venues. We hope to welcome you back to Bangkok soon!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It is definitely a hotel which is designed for Japanese customer. Guest can choose to have breakfast in coffee shop or Japanese restaurant. A number of Japanese channels are available. As a non Japanese, I would prefer to have more international channels such as CNN. Service is generally good. You will be escorted by receptionist to your room. It is rarely done even in 5-star hotels nowadays. The hotel is connected to BTS station which makes commuting very convenient. Room is comfortable with nice amenities.

One disappointment I had is about the coffee shop. We went down to coffee shop at 9:15am on a weekday and table was not available. After waiting for 10 minutes, we decided to go to the Japanese restaurant. I believe the hotel was not running a full house and I wondered how the coffee shop can cope with an increased demand.

Overall, it is a comfortable hotel. However, I'll try other hotels if I visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_ChanChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your review. Guest feedback is the most important feedback we receive, thus we appreciate your observations and have shared your comments with our team. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and that you were not able to have breakfast in the restaurant of your choice is not acceptable even though we have 2 dining options. Our breakfast restaurant does have an impressive setting with lovely city views which is an ideal start to your day; we do want to ensure that every guest visit is seamless and meets our customer’s high expectations and we will work diligently to improve upon and achieve. We hope we will have to opportunity to serve you again in the future and to create a memorable visit.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The service is flawless ! My family (with 2 toddlers) stayed there for 3 nights. My children loved the infinity pool and the paper crane that the housekeeping provided during the turndown service. My husband wanted to try the mango sticky rice from a particular restaurant, however it was not easy to get there due to the congested traffic in Bangkok and traveled with 2 toddlers, Concierge surprised us by arranging courier service to deliver mango sticky rice to our room (which is highly unexpected). Thanks guys !

The major downside was the inhouse food was okay, not a lot of selection.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sq_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so pleased that you had a nice visit and thought that our staff was passionate in the service that we provided for you. I will share your comments with the Concierge team, as they certainly made a difference! We hope that the next time you are in Bangkok you can stay a bit longer and enjoy this traditional Thai desert in probably the best place to eat it: it is called Koh Panitch and is in the Bangrak district and worth every minute for which you are stuck in traffic :). A very local place near the river.
Hoping to welcome you back for the next Mango season!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,627 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Address: 57 Wireless Road, Park Ventures Ecoplex | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £160 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing