We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel, incredible restaurant, incredible experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Go for the infinity pool, Japanese restaurant breakfast, panoramic views of the city and the relaxing spa...but stay for the brilliant Elements restaurant where Henry Jordan, the new chef, is spearheading an awesome menu that dazzles the tastebuds. Our 7-course meal was one of the best that I've ever had. No complaints, only big respect for this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepperStormTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so much for giving us such a glowing review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you enjoyed our property so much, from your room, the Okura Spa to our restaurants.
As our first guest room is located on Level 26, we are certainly blessed as we can guarantee a 'room with a view' every time - actually it starts from the moment one arrives in the Lobby on Level 24! We are also very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our Elements Restaurant and I have shared your Kudos with Chef Henry Jordan and his team.
Thank you for your business and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,868 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This Japan based hotel is very superb. The service is super excellence, especially when we visited the swimming pool - they provided us with complimentary fruits and drinks immediately without we asked. The Teddy bear gift for my children is also something unique. This is definetely a hotel for family. The location is also next to Ploenchit BTS station so it would be easy for any guests to go to any other parts of the city. Excellent hotel in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Julius H,
It was a pleasure turning on the computer this morning and reading your review. I am glad that you and the family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here in Bangkok and that you made full use of the hotel, especially our signature pool. Glad you could also take advantage of our direct BTS Sky-Train connection, especially with children, this means of transport is the easiest if you wish to explore the city or just head out shopping.
I and all our 380 associates hope of having the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Okura Prestige when next in Bangkok.
All the best
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This year we spent our Christmas holidays at the Okura Bangkok - we normally stay home and spend the time with friends and family. The hotel is beautiful and contemporary and extremely convenient. Although it is not directly on top or connected to one of the major shopping centres, it is very well connected and with great amenities. The BTS is just downstairs, together with internationally accessible ATMs, 7-11, Dean & Deluca, the hotel patisserie, Boots and a Mac store. There are also a few restaurants nearby too if you want to get out for a quick bite. Breakfast at Up & Above is FANTASTIC! Great variety and quality. We also had the choice of a Japanese breakfast too.

Generally kid friendly - restaurants have high-chairs, kids plate set, own toiletry set, slippers, teddy...and a special Thai Santa came too to deliver gifts to all the children. There are no kid facilities though (ie. playroom or activities).

Improvement suggestions would be to improve the interface/function of the room control panel - really bright light and beeps are sure to wake light sleeping babies. We had to press at least 6 times to shut all the lights off. And bathroom sliding panel should be totally opaque so that when parents want to take a shower after the kids have gone to bed it doesn't light up the room. We almost resorted to sitting in the closet after they finally fell asleep. Would also be nice to offer bed rails to prevent kids from falling off the bed.

However overall, we are very happy with our stay at the Okura and would be happy to recommend to any family wanting to visit Bangkok.

Room Tip: If travelling as a family in multiple rooms, request the adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear sherry w,
We value our guest’s feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed our Hotel so much.
Indeed, we are so centrally located, surrounded by major embassies and being on top of the Park Venture Office Complex has several advantage such as benefiting of the direct train access, the convenience stores and yet to come, a direct walkway to the soon too open Central Embassy, what is now being earmarked as Bangkok’s newest retail landmark.
Thank you too for your input with regards to the room and its suitability when travelling with very young children.
To facilitate your next stay, do contact me directly at samir.wildemann@okurabangkok.com and we will ensure you a room where the bathroom is separated by a wall from the bedroom. Appreciate too your other feedback and will certainly look into your suggestions.
We hope to see you again soon at our luxury Bangkok Hotel and we are very thankful for your recommendations and needless to say - we would be thrilled to welcome you back!
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We only had 5 days off from work over Christmas and decided to indulge in a luxury shopping getaway to Bangkok. As this was our first trip to Bangkok and we only had a few days, we decided to make to most of the Okura's concierge service. They even managed to get us a last minute reservation at a Michelin star restaurant during the busy Christmas season. Yes, we unsuccessfully tried ourselves to get a booking :-)

The hotel was well equipped and the staff friendly and extremely efficient. We loved house-keeping's subtle humour with the paper origami animals. I had one of the best beef tenderloin paired with a premium red wine experiences at Elements restaurant.

As we spent a fair bit of time shopping, the Okura is located 2 train stops from the Bangkok shopping hub (Siam Paragon and about 5 other malls). Be prepared for world-class shopping.

The attention to detail was incredible and we left Bangkok in the hotel's limo service back to the airport. This was an unforgettable introduction to Thailand and we will most definitely go back to this jewel.

Well done Okura !

Room Tip: Any room with club lounge access !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hanco-n-Sanmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Hanco-n-Sanmari,
Thank you for reviewing our boutique property here in Bangkok over your 5-day holiday break.
Being in a central location with easy access to all of the larger shopping centres and strolling through Bangkok’s busy pavements is a must while here and being able to directly access Bangkok’s BTS ‘Sky Train’ from our building brings many areas in the city within easy reach, and soon the new Central Embassy Mall will open just across our hotel!
Thank you so much for also sharing your dining experience in our signature Elements Restaurant and Chef's Henry Jordan’s culinary delights! Glad too that our Concierge team was able to assist you thanks to their excellent connections and I have shared your kudos with them.
We hope to see you again soon for another shopping excursion!
All the very best
Samir Wildemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Okura in Bangkok for essentially 3 nights though really only 2. From check in to check out, everything about the stay was fantastic, including the day trip we booked through the hotel to the Floating Market and Bridge over River Kwai. Location is great; it seemed very central to what we were looking to do. Close to several embassy's. The rooms are designed well, very clean with great bath amenities. The infinity pool is super cool, though a little chilly. Room service was fantastic! Our only regret is not dining at the special Christmas Eve/Christmas Day Buffet dinner. The manager escorted us through the buffet and the dishes looked wonderful! While we only stayed two nights, the hotel allowed us to use the gym facilities our third day before heading to the airport at 11pm to catch a 2am flight. The entire staff was wonderful and efficient! We were very happy with our stay.This is how hoteling should be!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Baldwin996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Baldwin996,
We place tremendous value on guest feedback and can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s a joy to know that the service 'fantastic'– that's what we strive to achieve with every guest stay.
We’ve shared your praise with our entire team and we all thank you for your business and for being such a fan; we look forward to your return visits in the years to come!
With our very best regards
Samir Wildemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at The Okura Prestige for 4 nights in December. we arrived very early in the morning , however , the staff checked us into our corner room in quick time , knowing we were exhausted from traveling . The room itself was underwhelming when we first arrived. A lot of beige ! but after a good sleep , we began to play with the lighting options , blinds , black out and sun shades ( all at a press of a button) lovely big bathroom with great views of the city skyline.Japanese loos with a heated seat... rather nice soap and shampoo in the bathroom too ! although in the photos the room appears quite large , it isn't , and we did feel the need for a little more space .The bed and Linens were lovely , but we were so overwhelmed with beige and veneer that has seen better days !!!!!We ordered from room service which was a breeze , i have strict food requirements and the lady who took our order was efficient and understood my needs exactly, Our delicious food arrived promptly ! Breakfast is a lavish affair , they have thought of almost everything , and i defy you not to find your choice ! we liked that the staff greeted us by name , we thought it was a nice touch.We ate in the Japanese restaurant. We did enjoy our meal , but the nearby JW Marriot Tsu Nami restaurant , is superior in setting and cuisine.The swimming pool is pretty amazing , it hangs off the building an infinity over the Bangkok skyline... however , there is no sun on the pool after around 8am , which means no topping up of the sun tan I'm afraid !Really , we have no complaints about the Okura , and did enjoy our stay there. Would we stay again ? Well , for the money , we feel there are better options in Bangkok and so probably wouldn't stay again.... being lovers of Japanese food , we were excited at the prospect of eating in their fine dining restaurant... but it was a little disapointing , not bad , just not as good as elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your candor and assure you we take each guest comment to heart, from kudos to areas where improvements can be made. We strive to always ensure our product is as exceptional as our service. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and it would be my pleasure to look after you personally.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This property caters to Japanese tourists. Since I love Japanese culture and design, I found this hotel particularly beautiful. And the service was top notch.

Sadly my stay didn't start out well as I was required to wait 1 hour before I could check into my room even though I checked in after their stated check in time. The front desk person was quite apologetic at least (a plus when an annoyance like this occurs).

The rooms have very nice design but are on the smallish side for Bangkok (many of the other 5 star hotels have larger rooms). For example, they have a work desk with 2 chairs. One chair blocks the TV. So if you want to watch TV, you are required to move the chair to the other side of the bed to watch. Now is that small or what?

Unfortunately my room had some issues that required maintenance to be called multiple times. For example, my closet light never turned off. It took them over 24 hours to fix and during that time, I had no light in the closet. They really should be able to fix this more quickly.

If memory serves they offer premium movies for free which was a nice touch.

I also enjoyed lunch at their Japanese restaurant on multiple days and like it a lot. During Christmas they even had some carolers come in and regale us with song.

I recommend this hotel - although they must get their rooms fixed and designed slightly better. Functionality over form please.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear TravelinShane,
Thank you for your review and most of all thank you for your business and we would be delighted if we would have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.
Thank you too for praising the high service levels which you rated as being ‘top-notch’.

On the other hand I must sincerely apologise that we were not able to solve the little hiccup we had with your lights in the walk-in closet, this should have been a very simple matter to fix and we certainly have to ensure a speedier and more efficient intervention. With regards to the room functionality and design, our guest rooms come in many forms and layouts as our building's exterior is uniquely shaped, we do have a dozen different room types and our standard room size averages 46 m2 (495ft2), all the way up to 302m2 (3250ft2) for the largest suite.

Please feel free to contact me directly (samir.wildemann@okurabangkok.com) for your next stay and I would be delighted to have you experience another room layout than the one you most recently occupied.

Wishing you the very best for the New Year

Samir Wildemann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 895 in Bangkok
4,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 895 in Bangkok
8,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Address: 57 Wireless Road, Park Ventures Ecoplex | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £159 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing