We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up and above restaurant - not up to standard for a 5-star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Ranked #6 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up and above restaurant - not up to standard for a 5-star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Today we had a Sunday brunch at the "up and above" restaurant. We had researched it and it was supposed to be the "best" brunch in town. How deeply wrong that was.
It offers a buffet brunch at a) 2,700 Baht incl. soft drinks and b) 3,000 Baht free flow drinks and wine. When asking for the choice of wine, we were told there was only one - white Sauvignon blanc and one - red (no mention of any kind). So no choice. Main dish has to be ordered from a separate menu. 2 choices, and were told immediate that one of the dishes can only be ordered once.
Started with the buffet which was rather ordinary for our taste and the price it was supposed to cost. Cheese choice consisted of 3 kind of cheese.
But the worst was the staff, their uniform looked sloppy and not well kept. I highly recommend the management to re-train the staff, as we had to constantly asked for their service (take away empty plates, refill of water and wine, ordering the main course).
The clou was that after the official brunch time had passed for 10 min. we were presented with the bill, without having asked for it. That left us really bewildered and left a sour taste in our mouth.
Maybe the management could go over to the Kempinski and get some idea of what a Sundau Brunch of this kind has to look like and how the device should be conducted.

I will not return to this overpriced and under serviced "up and above" restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MonikaD,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The most valuable feedback that we receive is that of our guests, and thus we take your comments to heart. We are both dismayed and shocked by this feedback, as we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service delivered by a warm, caring staff. As this is more than out of character, I can assure you that it is being investigated by us. We extend our sincerest apologies for your dining experience, and we would be grateful to speak further if you are comfortable doing so; please email samir.wildemann@okurabangkok.com with a phone number where we can reach you. As well, should you be again in our area of town, we hope you will consider giving the restaurant a second chance. We’d love to ensure that you have the opportunity to experience our Sunday Brunch just as it should be: warm, welcoming and wonderful.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,007
    345
    65
    27
    25
See reviews for
391
896
193
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great location, only a few minutes walk to BTS, very convenient to get around BKK. Hotel staff were friendlly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was nice and the spa experience was great! We are from Bkk but we definitely will choose the Okura Prestige for an in-town R&R if we don't have time to go out town. The serenity of the hotel, the view from the breakfast room and the spa certainly can make you feel rejuvinated. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalanaphotisathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Khun lalanaphotisathain,
Thank you so much for your review of The Okura Prestige Bangkok! Sometimes the biggest luxury is to escape home in one’s own city and be pampered in a hotel with a lovely dinner, thus we absolutely appreciate that you did just that.
In all our Okura Hotels were are proud of our Food and Beverage offerings and our motto is to provide best Accommodation, best Cuisine and best Services and every month we have very unique happenings on offer. Chef Hagiwara has prepared a special for the soon to come second anniversary of Yamazato, and I hope you will have a chance to try Chef Henry Jordan's weekly Food, Family & Friends event on Fridays at ELEMENTS.
We appreciate your business and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It was a real nice stay in this Hotel. Great location right at the corner of the road, you can walk within the hotel to the adjacent BTS station and travel to other places. Rooms are pretty spacious, nice and clean with a good view from your room. Hotel has two nice restaurants Up & Above and Yamazato (Japanese) with good food choice. View from the pool is simply superb as it is on the edge. WiFi connectivity is decent and Hotel staff was supportive too.

Only hitch is that you have to switch over to different Lifts in order to move up and down. Overall a pleasant stay worth for your memories.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SssAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear SaPn,
Thank you so much for giving us this review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you enjoyed our property so much. As our first guest room floor starts on the 26th Level, we are certainly blessed as we can guarantee a 'room with a view' every time, actually it starts from the moment of ones arrival in the Lobby on Level 24! We are also very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our Yamazato and Up&Above Restaurants, and up one level in one of our lifts (oh yes!) you will have to try our Elements Restaurant the next time where Chef Henry and his team are just about to launch our Spring-Menu.
Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

In my opinion, the best hotel and rooms on Wireless Road. Room was excellent, service was awesome and nothing to complain about. Enjoyed my stay and will stay again when I get the chance. Just a short walk to the BTS, which is only 2 stops from Siam BTS. Plus its also away from the protest areas so getting in by taxi was no issue at all. So will definitely stay again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Danielocs,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re elated that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the exceptional service that we pride ourselves on. We also really pleased that this trip to Bangkok allowed you to experience our property on Wireless Road and that you were pleased with your accommodations and benefited from our very central location. Bangkok notorious traffic is at times 'hard to beat'. The easy access to the airport highway as well as direct access to Bangkok's Mass Transit System is a big plus.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Execellent location, service and food. I can said This is the cleaness hotel in Bangkok. The breakfast variety is awesome! Excellent staff. Highly recommended to everyone either for business or leisure.

Room Tip: The Okura club floor for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MolMolHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review labeling us as 'The Best Hotel' in town! We’re overjoyed that you had such a seamless experience at our boutique property. Our staff is devoted to providing excellent service, and it’s a joy to know that you experienced just that. We hope to welcome you back to The Okura Prestige here in Bangkok in the future and express our thanks from the entire team for your feedback.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms and food were all excellent. Gym was well equipped and the pool has a great view over the city. Wifi was good throughout the hotel, although I has to login multiple times a day.

The best spot was outside on the 24th floor balcony with a nice cold drink.

It adjoins a train station so you can quickly get around and avoid some of the traffic. A 7-11 and a good coffee shop are in the same complex.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidChatterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear DavidChatterton,
Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback and support of our Bangkok Hotel is greatly appreciated; we hope to welcome you back again in the near future, whether for business or pleasure.
Sincerely
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I couldn't fault this hotel at all. Service was excellent. Breakfast buffet had a good variety. Room was top-notch. Infinity pool has stunning views. Central location made it easy to travel around. Best stay in Bangkok. Well worth it. One hotel to come back to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmiw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamirWildemann, General Manager at The Okura Prestige Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Much thanks for your review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your guest room and the hotel’s central Bangkok location.
We take pride in maintaining and continuously improving this beautiful property and truly appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience. We also believe that little details make a big difference and are glad they were appreciated.
What’s more, we’re glad you had time to enjoy our signature pool overlooking Bangkok’s skyline. We hope to welcome you back to The Okura Prestige Bangkok in the future and sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Samir Wildemann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,769 reviews
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Bangkok

Property: The Okura Prestige Bangkok
Address: 57 Wireless Road, Park Ventures Ecoplex | Lumpini, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Okura Prestige Bangkok combines Japan’s rich service culture and attention to detail with Thailand’s world-famous standards of hospitality. This new luxury hotel, with 240 rooms and suites, is located in the award-winning Park Ventures Ecoplex building at the heart of the city’s Central Business District. The hotel offers direct access to the city’s BTS skytrain network at Phloen Chit station and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Every room and suite offers impressive views across the dynamic Bangkok skyline through triple-glazed tinted panoramic windows that insulate against both heat and noise. The rooms combine comfort and luxury with the very latest technological developments designed to impress business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag and TravelUp so you can book your The Okura Prestige Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing