We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Cheer's Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,479 of 10,946 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: US$20 - US$150
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Sukhumvit
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have eaten here several times and I must say the fish is wonderful as is the chicken in white wine sauce. But Cheer herself, the woman who runs it, has a delightful personality and the service is always good. I also like the way the restaurant overlooks the street and what is left of Washington Square. A relaxed place with great food at very reasonable cost.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60Phaulkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An oasis of western style food”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have been going there about a year, and its the food and staff that keep me comng back.

The over all menu is electic, with a lot of variety. I ususally have the ribeye steak with fries and salad. The steak is a little small, but adeqate and very well cooked to order and flavorful and served hot. Fries are crispy and the salad is a star. It is a mix of a wide selection of garden items, all of which are very fresh. The dressing for the salad is a little blah, but a non issue for me since I bring my favorites with me from the U.S.

They have a nice selection of condiments to go with the food, including A-1 steak sauce, and Heinze ketchup.

The burgers are also good here, and very large.

The staff is very nice and all speak some English, enough to understand your orders anyway.

Today they are losing one of their biggest assets- Namh Wahn. She is leaving to look for daytime work. I will definately miss her bright smile and friendly attitude.

Even without her around, I still recommend this establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere!”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Cheers is a small but extremely cosy bar in the heart of Soi 22 just off main Sukhumvit Rd.Its more like a cross between a mini English Pub & a tiny American Sports Bar,a little of everything in one place.There are a couple of beers on tap including Heinekin & all of the usual alcoholic beverages including ‘Bundaberg’Rum for those ‘Bundy & Coke’nights.Great music too!
The Bar Girls are excellent as far as service with a smile & efficiency are concerned.
The food menu consists of a wide choice of international favourites & popular Thai dishes.I ordered Italian & Thai over the 3 nights I ate there & would easily say that it was one of the best I have had in my 15 trips to Thailand.
Well Done Cheers!
See you again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shahryar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great bar & western food on Soi 22”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great location just off Sukhumvit on Soi 22. Went for lunch recently & was pleasantly surprised. Good menu choices in both food & drink. I had the beer battered fish & chips. Good sized serve, well priced & really well cooked. My wife had the bacon croquettes in panko breadcrumbs. This was an entree on the menu but still a good size & very tasty. Plenty of other choices with sandwiches, burgers, meat, pasta & pizza. Well worth a visit & will now be a regular spot for lunch when I visit Bangkok.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff.”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Lovely place, good food, polite, efficient staff who make you feel welcome. Breakfast, lunch or dinner, it's all good at Cheer's restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billysiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheer's Bar & Grill also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Cheer's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing