We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relax time”
Review of Coran Boutique Spa

Coran Boutique Spa
Ranked #43 of 432 Spas & Wellness in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CORAN boutique spa, Bangkok became a 2015 World Luxury Spa Awards Winner "Best Luxury Spa" !! We really appreciate your support !! We promise to try hard to offer supreme service and treatment as much as possible. Thank you for your support. CORAN is the meaning of “ripple of water”. Please imagine that you drop water by one drop. Ripple spreads slowly and peacefully with keeping balance. It is real beauty of Nature. It can be applied also to human being. It is the one of most imporatant elements to keep the balance betwenn body and mind. We help your ripple with CORAN’s original methods. We name CORAN boutique spa. Boutique means “Unit” in French. Boutique comes from 3 elements. We bring a refined spa “Tradition” from Thailand, “Concept” from France and “Professionalism” from Japan.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect relax time”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

is a good place for you to relax and get a good spa
place is nice..hidden in a small alley but when you walk in..is another atmosphere...

service there is nice... people is nice
professional therapist
taking good care of your body

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    42
    9
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“Comfotable and relaxing experience”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The therapist is excellent! And so the decorating of the place. The price is another factor to make this experience more perfect. Though, the location is not easy to reach, but the shuttle service do help a lot. Overall, this is definitely a place I would like to visit again.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jen Hsien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will definitely NOT return to Coran”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Time: August 2013
Spa: “MONONOKE version 4 (4,450Bhat/240mins - scrub, oil massage, herbal ball, facial)
People: 2 of us
Location: near Ekamai BTS station

This was my first time to Coran. Attracted to it from many positive reviews and we wanted a sanctuary spa experience. So although it's definitely way higher cost than many top graded spa in Bangkok, we had very high expectations. However, it's the expectation that killed.

Following their instruction, we arrived on time (that was 30 mins before our spa appointment) at the Ekamai station meeting spots located at the "temple" entrance but we did not see the pickup tuk tuk. We quickly realized we were standing right next to a sea of funeral flower wreaths with groups of black dressed people walking towards us. It turns out, the "temple" was actually a funeral home. That really got me sick and disgusted right away. We then waited another 20 mins (10 mins before the spa) and as the appointment emails told us that they would cancel the booking if we do not arrive 15 mins ahead, we sort of got anxious about whether we should leave. This was 20 minutes of polluted dust breathing time as the meeting spot was also next to heavy traffic. Just then, a driver walked to us with a "CORAN" sign and directed us to a Van (so we were looking for a tuk tuk the whole time as instructed...). So we were not with a good start.

The van ride was about 10 mins. I could imagine we would have lots of trouble locating the place if we were on a taxi because it's located deep within a residential area and it's NOT easy to find. I believe we made more than 20 turns in the narrow streets until we reach there.

We arrived at the spa and the decor was not impressive. Again, I'm evaluating based on the price they charge so being clean itself is not enough. The decor was really mediocre. As we enter the property, no one was at the door so we don't know whether we should take off our shoes and walk inside or just wait there until someone greets us. There was no reception at the entrance so we do not know where to go either. We've been to too many spas in Bangkok and we are too used to their Thai hospitality so we had the same expectation at Coran. 5 minutes later, a girl came out (without much greeting smile) and led us to the reception room.

When we enter to the reception room, the girl behind the counter didn't really smile to us either. Again, we just walk on our own and found ourselves a spot on a sofa. They then came to us and asked for our names and gave us some questionaires to fill out. Then they came and gave us a tray of massage oils to choose from and after that we waited a bit and was led to two massage ladies.

The massage itself was excellent. The masseuse were very skillful.

The room were big but non-cozy as other reviewers pointed out. I'm not being picky, but when you are looking for a "boutique experience" you are not just finding any room to spend a couple hours. The room really didn't offer much decor to enhance the relaxation/spa atmosphere but rather appeared as some recently refurbished old mansion with huge rooms. Not much views worth mentioning beyond the curtained windows. Only very basic lamps and massage benches with cliche piano music. There was just a standing shower spot so even though it's a 4 hours massage, you don't get a bath at the end. There was a hair dryer but without any hair brushes nor combs (I have curly hair so you can imagine how bad that ended up). No hot tea or drinks were offered after a 4 hours spa. Only drinks during the food break in the middle with the mango sticky rice coconut dessert.

As we leave the place, the creepy feeling of having their pickup dropping us back to the funeral home entrance haunted me again and now it's 9:45pm when the sun has long gone and the street got much quieter...

I will definitely NOT return to Coran again and I would only recommend this to anyone if they charge 25% of their current price to justify for their offering. There are just way too many choices in Bangkok if I were to spend that type of money to be honest. Lots of places for improvements such as little details as to show us around the venue and be a bit more informative on what they are going to do next would be helpful. We keep hearing furniture moving sounds and running water noises in the middle of the spa as they were arranging the for the food break and washing the basins as we finish using them in the middle of our spa. Those little things really adds up and destroying our mood and the overall experiences. We've been to other spas that these works just went unnoticed and became pleasant surprises as we move to the next step throughout the spas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tweetybirdyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for relax”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is my first time to have spa at Coran. It's a good place for relax. Clear booking procedure, various product package at reasonable prices, good transportation arrangement, clean & relax place, polite & talented staff.....good to recommend for others

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaNg_726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true boutique experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Excellent staff in greetings, grooming and service. A true client oriented experience: we were picked up as instructed at a temple right next to Ekamai BTS, then we were immediately greeted at the font door. The villas are scented in relaxing aroma, a high quality essential oil blend which are used for our aromatherapy massage. Love their body wash too! The package we took was the Monosoke 2.5, wish we've taken a longer spa as the villas (the pool is gorgeous!) is a truely relaxing place to spend whole day there. Would definitely go back and will try out their natural cafe next time as impressed by their cold lemongrass honey tea.

1 point only to improve: if you're going for a spa in pair, the 2nd person may not have enough hot water in the shower.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Thailandfanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coran Boutique Spa also viewed

 

Been to Coran Boutique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing