We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms below average, but fabulous staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Ranked #135 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Poland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Rooms below average, but fabulous staff!”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights recently on redeemed points and found the hotel could do better on a number of things.

CONS:
Rooms: after a generous welcome and a swift check in, we were assigned a room, that was damp, with aircon running very bad. Most of the electric sockets didn't work, fresh towels were missing, too. Even though we are GM with a long history and checked non smoking rooms as preference, the room we got was for smokers and was smelling of stale cigarette smoke. We immediately asked for a new room, which we got and it was better. Even there, however, some of the bulbs needed replacing. It was not large and spacy, but clean and felt fresh. The rooms, and especially the bathroom could definitely use an upgrade soon, as being a bit run down. The view we got first from our room on the 11th, than 7th floor was a standard city view, nothing special.

PROS:
The staff is fabulous, we would especially like to thank Mr. Suriyon and Ms. Minchaya, who went limits in terms of personal assistance and empathy to compensate us on the initial problem we have had with our room. Thank You again for making our stay a pleasant memory!
The breakfasts are lavishing and abundant - a large selection of choices to choose from: oriental, thai and european. Could spent hours on trying every single choice out!
Location: close to expressway, making all transits very easy, cheap and efficient - important in terms of shuttling to airport (THB 250 + toll THB 50) or trips outside the city. Conveniently located near the Surawak Skytrain station, so getting around Bangkok itself is fast and easy, too. Yet, all this having a downtown address.
Check in / check out: swift and efficient, just as it should be. Upon check in our kids got complimentary sweets, which was a welcoming and friendly gesture, long to remember after a long flight.

Room Tip: If You're looking for a skyline view, look for rooms on 15th floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burek_Polny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    893
    283
    86
    47
See reviews for
380
693
244
494
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here with my gf for 2 nights and stayed in a wheelcair access room... Room was really big with big bathroom and lovely furniture.... Internet a bit expensive at 300 baht for 24 hours and no menu in room which wasnt a big problem.. Indian restaurant is nice and staff seemed all nice... Ill be staying there again next month and look forward to it.. Only other thing is dont expect good views from your room coz you will be disappointed.. Our view was of the tennis court

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Premier room for 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of it. Property is well located, close to a lot of places and quick to get to the airport via the expressway. Also, the breakfast buffet spread is massive and much appreciated... lots of variety and cuisines. Staff and service is great too and so is the food. the reception gives umbrellas to guests if it starts raining n you want to venture out nearby and also gets taxis for you quickly to go anywhere. Overall a great place to stay in Bangkok for a great price.

Room Tip: Better to upgrade to premier room as this is in the new tower and has great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geetika_1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

To be fair this and HI Bangkok Praturnum are both excellently run hotels. I arrived to a great welcome and as a loyalty card holder was given a voucher for extra points - always greatful. The room was similar to my last stay, spacious, well designed, comfortable and containing everything you need. The bathroom collection is very extensive. A little dish of chocolates was a nice gift.

I do like the bar in this hotel with a small band who play each night - they are very friendly (as are the bar staff) which is good because sometimes they are there just for you (or you a couple more customers). I should say that even when it is busy the friendliness and service remain great.

If picky, I could still find no fault with this hotel.

What makes it for me is the quality of the hotel and the fantastic service - a real credit to everyone who works there and if only Holiday Inn would template it - they would take over the world.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel in August 2010 on a business trip. The hotel was arranged for me so I didn't choose this property, but I was very pleased. I was placed in this hotel because it is fairly close to a freeway (I needed to travel outside Bangkok for part of my trip) and this location enabled me to get quickly on the road. Don't worry, the hotel isn't super close to the freeway so you won't hear the noise. But if you are depending on getting outside Bangkok then this hotel or one nearby in Silom is a good choice.

For Americans reading this, you should know that this is by far the nicest Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in. Except for the sign outside, you'd never know you're in a Holiday Inn.

The staff was very, very nice and helpful when I had any issues. The front desk staff spoke english well. The hotel is modern and stylish and has a nice lobby and adjacent bar that is a convenient place to meet and talk over a drink. The breakfast served is excellent, with an array of choices, including an omelet station, fruit, pastries, and lots of fruit juices that I've only had in Thailand.

My room was not large but adequate for my needs. The bathroom was nicely done and I enjoyed the shower.

The Silom area felt safe to me and colleagues and I walked around day and night without any issues.

I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I like this hotel because it superb location, clean and good rooms, and very attractive price. Have spend 2 nights here without breakfast. Kind and friendly staff, very clean rooms and corridors. Easy access to the airport by express way.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and now consider it my preferred address in Bangkok. As a priority club member Ive stayed in Holiday Inns all over the world and this is the best Holiday Inn Ive ever come across, expect more Intercontinental standard than Holiday Inn. Aswell as offering exceptional value service is as good if not better than any of the other five stars in the city and there is a large and highly competitive hotel industry in Bangkok. Its a large High rise international hotel situated slap bang in the centre of the city, as soon as the car pulls up the ramp I am met by an array of Bellboys who smile and make me feeel welcome and take care of my luggage. The lobby is large and spacious with a colonial atmosphere and often has a piano playing. I am then whisked up to the executive lounge for a private check in. The rooms are beautiful with huge floor to ceiling windows offering a panoramic view of the city. Very comfy beds with top linen and bathrobes. Huge flatscreen tv, inroom coffee and complimentary bottled water. Large marble bathrooms with seperate walk in shower, the whole place is just class. The Executive lounge is among one of the best ive visited at any hotel in the world, a great amazing breakfast every morning and an open complimentary bar with food and drinks served not only local beer and some spirits which is the offering of some hotels but brand named beers, wines and spirits including a free flow of good quality wine and an excellent selection of food including cheeseboard and desert. The hotel has an outdoor rooftop pool which is ok but nothing special but ioit does have a decent gym, and tennis courts. Also the mens locker room leads into a lovely wellness area with sauna, turkish bath and whirlpool jacuzzi, a great way to relax after a long flight, also seems to be popular with wealthy young professional city workers who pay a membership fee for healthclub use. The hotel seems to also be home to alot of international airlines including Emirates who seem to put up all their crews here. The only annoying factor was that on the TV the Irish pub which is a great pub with a good atmosphere is advertised, therefore one assumes that it is a hotel outlet owned by the hotel so after spending an entire night of partying there was somewhat shocked to find i could not post the charges to my room account as they told me they were not part of the Holiday Inn, I had to leave my passport while i went up to my room to get some cash to pay!!!, so in future will probably drink in Haris bar off the lobby which tends to have a band performing in the evenings. Overall a first class luxury hotel with world class service and facilities, more Intercontinental than Holiday Inn!!! Cant wait to return in July as part of celebration for my Big Birthday!

Room Tip: Book a room on the executive club floor to get lounge access, the lounge is amazing with a seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#117 of 862 in Bangkok
1,400 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Bangkok Sukhumvit
Siam
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Siam
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#57 of 862 in Bangkok
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom

Property: Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Address: 981 Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#92 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#115 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#126 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in today at the Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom where comfort and convenience come first. Located on Silom Road near Sathorn area, the heart of one of Bangkok's prime commercial complete with shopping and entertainment locations, restaurants, embassies, commercial buildings and two of Bangkok's leading hospitals, BNH and Saint Louis, also next to the city's jewelry sector with easy access to Suvarnabhumi Airport, just a 45 minutes away. Enter the hotel via the chandelier-lit lobby and book into one of the hotel's 700 rooms, starting with the newly refurbished Deluxe category. Experience our Executive Club Room or Suite to enjoy magnificent city views from our 23rd floor Executive Lounge. All rooms offer high-quality furnishings with "free Wi-Fi access" while hotel facilities include 20-meter pool, tennis court, health club, a complimentary Tuk Tuk shuttle service to skytrain and a handful of dining options. Enjoy the countless other city attractions via "Surasak skytrain" just a 7-minute walk away. Surrounded by shopping and entertainment options: Asiatique at the riverside, Jim Thompson Museum, Siam Paragon, MBK and Central World. Alternatively, take a boat to nearby tourist spots such as the Temple of Dawn, floating market, flower market, Grand Palace and Royal Barge Museum. Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom offers an exhilarating range of activities for an eventful holiday, along with a full array of options for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Silom Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing