We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Ruined by Unethical Management Practice: 10% Daily 'Service Fee' Disclosed Only at Checkout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Ruined by Unethical Management Practice: 10% Daily 'Service Fee' Disclosed Only at Checkout!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This is a very stylish, swank hotel ideally located near the Gaysorn, Central World and Siam Paragon Malls, close to the Chit Lom and Siam Skytrain stations. Plush, comfortable, with excellent facilities, especially the top-floor fitness center.

Unfortunately, the management of this hotel substantially damaged my experience by concealing the true daily room rate until I checked out. Upon my departure, the front desk clerk revealed that the corporate rate that I was quoted at the time I made the reservation, and that was confirmed at the time I checked in, was not the real, full daily room rate they intended to charge.

The bill I was presented with at checkout contained an additional 10% daily 'Service Fee', beyond the agreed-upon room rate. The outrage here is in the fact that this was only disclosed at the very last moment, when the bill was presented for settlement. I protested very firmly that 'You should never surprise a guest with mandatory charges that you did not disclose at the time the reservation was made!'.

Although the clerk looked worried and upset, she did not do the right thing and offer to take this surprise charge off the bill; instead, she simply said she would report my concern to management.

I have no idea whether this 10% Daily Service Fee is something the hotel charges all guests, or whether it was something I was specifically targeted to pay for some reason.

There is simply no excuse for this kind of dishonest management practice -- it is unethical, pure and simple. I went back to the original reservation confirmation when I had a chance to pull it up, and sure enough, there was absolutely no mention of such a 10% daily surcharge. Nor was there any mention of it at the time I checked in -- but it would have been just as unacceptable to wait until check-in to disclose such an extra charge.

As I was standing there protesting the situation upon checkout, the clerk inadvertently showed me the form I signed on check-in, which duly acknowledged my corporate rate, exactly as shown on my reservation -- but when I pointed out that there was no mention anywhere on that form of the 10% daily service charge, she just looked embarrassed, but offered no explanation.

When a hotel offers a daily rate at the time a reservation is made, the customer absolutely has a right to expect that rate to be honored, and absolutely has a right to expect that any additional mandatory charges be revealed right then -- at the time the reservation is made -- NOT at the front desk, either upon arrival or departure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYWorldtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,298
    656
    124
    42
    23
See reviews for
605
838
313
831
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I had breakfast at espresso restaurant it's very fastantic I never had. All staff very nice

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fjong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words. We are also delighted that you found our breakfast was of a great standard and that our staffs are friendly and helpful.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Balcony lounge - great place for a meeting followed by lunch in Grossi! Fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I can only confirm all the good stuff that has been written about this hotel. It's simply impeccable, even the biggest nitpicker will not be able to find any fault. The wireless is indeed not free in the room, but it is free in the lobby and restaurant, but you'll have to ask reception to get a special lobby login (if you login with your room number and name it will not be free). Just to know!

I loved it also because of the location, I went only for one night to Bangkok to do an Epso test at the International Institute for Education at the Maneeya centre, where they do also Toefl tests etc. The Intercontinental is right opposite to the Maneeya center. I believe the Holiday Inn which is rigth next to the Intercontinental is a good option too, and perhaps more affordable for budget travelers.

But hats off to Interconti!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchinMadagascar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you love our hotel location and had a wonderful experience during your stay with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The best hotel in Bangkok the service the people are just amazing this is my 2nd stay there and they treated me like royalty

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

It's simple to review this hotel. Just about everything is great about it - the rooms are huge (stayed in a twin room on the 32nd floor), the pool is gorgeous, the service is exceptional, and it's in an amazingly convenient location. However, there is one big downside that left a bad taste in our mouths - the Wi Fi isn't free. You need to pay in blocks of time (not even data amount). After travelling all through SE Asia and having free Wi Fi at every restaurant, cafe, hostel, bus stop etc, it was hugely disappointing to be paying a premium for a standard service, especially considering the rate you pay for a room at this hotel. That being said, they were exceptionally helpful at the front desk and concierge, the restaurant is by Guy Grossi, can't beat that! Would certainly reccommend this hotel, but sort out the $$$ Wi Fi!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozzLozzLozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments on this review. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our facilities and services while you were staying with us. It is most rewarding to see that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

LOCATION: Next by the Chit Lom Skytrain Station. A five minute walk to Siam Square via the skywalk. As of early November 2011, there were a few cars and busses parked on the highways due to flooding. This did not affect the traffic to the city centre. On the contrary, there was generally less traffic from the airport to the Ratchaprasong area where the hotel was situation. No flooding around the hotel while we were there.
HOTEL: Good size room and bathroom. A bit dated but fairly clean. A non-smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. Check-in and check-out was adequate. The level of service was highly inconsistent, all depending upon who was on the shift.
CONCLUSION: Rating down one notch from last time due to the fluctuation in the level of service and the cigarette odor in the room. Otherwise, the hotel still was a very good value for money and the location was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share us and others your feedback and comments regarding your recent visit to Bangkok.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience which caused you regarding cigarette smell in the room.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind feedback and comments as it will help us to improve and keep up the standard of our facilities and services. We sincerely hope that the above experiences will not tarnish your impression with us and that we will have an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,178 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, IHG, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing