We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights just before Christmas (2011) and had a wonderful stay. After a delayed flight into Bangkok, our hotel chauffeur was waiting pleasantly and our transfer was as swift and efficient as our check in. Our room (32nd floor) was spacious, modern and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was diverse and fresh with the fluffiest, most delicious freshly-baked croissants! The gym was big, clean and had a great selection of new machines and equipment. Location was excellent being within short walking distance to 3 major shopping centres and many local attractions. Dinner at Grossi was also worth the visit.

Also have to commend one of the delightful concierges (who's name I didn't manage to get). After dinner one evening at Vertigo (which he so kindly helped us arrange), my partner left her favourite lip gloss on her seat. Upon discovering this when we arrived back at the hotel, we informed him and he promptly rang the restaurant staff who found the lip gloss. I was going to hop back into a cab to retrieve it but he wouldn't have any of it. Instead, he told me his shift was finishing (around 11pm) and that he had the following day off so he would get it for us on his way home. He was so insistent that we reluctantly but gratefully accepted his offer. The next morning, as promised, the lip gloss was waiting at the concierge desk. I wish I had gotten his name but he truly needs to be commended for his exceptional and beyond-the-call-of-duty attitude to providing truly first class customer service. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Intercontinental Bangkok to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It brings us great pleasure knowing that our staff help to make your stay a memorable experience. We all send our regards and appreciation to you for the recognition.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,300
    656
    125
    42
    23
See reviews for
605
838
313
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just stayed at this hotel during 14-15 Jan. Hotel occupancy was almost full but service had not been compromised. Excellent service as always. Had dinner at Grossi Italian restaurant, so delicious with cozy atmosphere followed by massage at the Spa, very enjoyed with experienced therapist. Hotel provides in-room amenities of local brand 'Thann' which is very good and we bought more from the shop nearby for further use at home. Overall was excellent. Definitely a hotel of choice and shall return.

Room Tip: Corner suites provide panorama view of the shopping streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WitoonTrakarnpruk188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a great stay experience with IntertContinental Bangkok. Your compliment on staff, facilities and amenity is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 5 nights during the New Year eve celebration. This hotel is in a great location, modern, relax atmosphere and the breakfast at the club lounge at 37 floor with an breath taken view of the city, one of the best club lounge I have seen among the other IC hotes.

Most of the staffs are courteous and always happy to serve all our need. Each time we were greeted with a genuine smile. The service, especially Ms. Khattya was extremely good and very friendly, she was one of the best staff we’ve met in this hotel, always cheerful to serve everyone. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. As an Ambassador member we had fresh fruits delivered to our room daily.

Only a bit disppointed that we requested room at higher floor when we booked but were given room at the lowest level 17, not until we spoke to Ms Sarunya at the front desk after the third night, we had our room change to the 22nd floor, she even personally delivered the new key to our room. A big thanks to Ms Sarunya for her great professional service & customer skill.

This is truly a 5 stars hotel, we will definitely come back to this hotel when we come to Bangkok again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is my favourite hotel on business trips to Bangkok. I'm a member of the Priority Club group and so I try to stick to HIs, CPs and Intercons, and this is by far one of the very best.

Let's look at the Pros:
- Very nicely appointed rooms. Nothing very incredible (some boutique and upscale hotels wow much more), but everything is where and how it should be. Great 48" flat screen TV (my guess on the size), ipod dock, free and fast internet, convenient wall sockets to charge all your stuff, big comfortable beds, great bathroom with thoughtful amenities
- Club lounge is on the highest (37th) floor with great views of the Ratchaprasong area. Good breakfast spread and very attentive service
- Gym is on the second highest floor. Treadmills face the full glass windows making for a very inspiring run. Good quality equipment, and again, very discreet yet attentive service
- Location is great- but caveat in the Pros below. Access to shopping, food, sundries, massage, and just beside the Chit Lom BTS station.

Cons - frankly this would be nitpicking - except for the location part. I've stayed in this hotel a dozen times so obviously I like it:
- Pool is small - half a floor above the lounge on the rooftop. It's very, very pretty with the obligatory bar in the corner, but also very, very small. Can't do any serious swimming in it but would be great for a little event or chilling out
- This hotel is right smack at the Ratchaprasong junction. Back in early 2011 when there were street protests in Bangkok, this was the epicentre of it all. In fact, the hotels there including this one had to close down for a couple of weeks because they were not easily accessible. Generally, the protests are an internal matter and foreigners are left alone, but there is always collateral damage. The Zen shopping centre just across the road was torched and partially burnt out in the early 2011 protests and on my subsequent trips I sometimes got a room that had a bird's eye view of the burnt out shell. So - check your travel advisories.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - although - it would be a good idea to avoid those on the 34th and 35th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the wonderful review you wrote about our hotel and staff, but thank you for the shortcomings you brought to our attention.

From your feedback, we are planning to put some equipment as noise protection underneath the fitness in order to reduce some noise from weight lifting area, our engineering department is currently investigating the problem and will fix it as soon as possible. For the pool, we have had a few comments on it, I regret if its size was not to your satisfaction, however we are truly happy to learn that despite of it's size you were able to enjoy the rest of other aspects of our rooftop pool.

Please rest assured that your comments have not gone unnoticed. We hope we will have an opportunity to impress you favorably in the future

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have just returned from my third visit to this Hotel and yet again found it to be the best Hotel I have ever used.

I paid the extra for a room on a higher level and access to the lounge on the 37th Floor. The view alone from the lounge is worth every penny. Lounge service and choices are excellent and the provision of IPADs is a nice touch.

The Hotel staff especially on the 37th floor are fantastic with excellent communicatation skills and are always very helpful. As you would expect from hotels in the IHG, the bedding in the rooms is very, very comfortable.

All other aspects of the hotel are just as good. The close vicinity to a number of shopping centres is a bonus as is the gym facilities available. I will be back as soon as work allows.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to gain access to the Club Lounge. The other bars and restaurants in the Hotel are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments on this review. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our facilities and services especially our Club InterContinental on 37th floor while you were staying with us. It is most rewarding to see that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I am in Bangkok several times per year and often stay there. I love the hotel. Everything works. Check in is quick, luggage shows up fast, people are friendly. Internet is reliable and fast. Food is good, location is great (subway station directly in fron of the hotel, near to the freeway exit, next to several shopping centers). The club has a good selection for breakfast and some snacks in the afternoon and evening. Rooftop pool is nice, but a bit small.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on facilities, staff and overall service is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Velha, ES
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
317 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This Intercontinental is definitely on our top list worldwide (the one in Buenos Aires is also very good). Just from the moment we arrived we were treated like celebrities. The check in was quick and the recepcionist was authentically superfriendly. The best of the stay was of course the bed - we slept like babies on a cloud on the wonderful soft matresses and in the fresh bedding. What also stood out was the incredible huge breakfast buffet - we could choose from Western, Japanese, Thai and Chinese breakfast. The location of the hotel is also very good with fancy shopping malls and restaurants around. Also very intersting is the small temple complex just in front of the hotel. We love this hotel and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a wonderful review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to hear good comments from our guests.

We are glad that you like our rooms, facilities and location. We are also delighted that you found our breakfast was of a great standard and that our staff are friendly and helpful. We will strive to ensure each and every guest’s stay is enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 862 in Bangkok
8,186 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing