We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed in Bangkok before but this is definitely the best location. The steps to the skytrain are outside the hotel, so could not be easier to get around. When you enter the hotel the lobby is beautiful and the rooms are excellent. We had a club room which was on a high floor and had a great view of the city. The club lounge is fantastic, the breakfast is very nice and you even choose hot food from a menu. They serve afternoon tea which is very pleasant and in the evening the cocktails and food were excellent and plentiful. There is a full buffet of food, which was of a high standard, cocktails were impressive too, you could have more or less anything from champagne to margherita's.
The rooms are a good size and the beds very comfortable in the club rooms. We will definitely stay here again as the location is perfect as all the malls are within walking distance and the skytrain literally outside. If you are there over the weekend take the skytrain and visit the Chatuchak market which is fantastic. You can shop until you drop, as they sell everything from pets to jewellery. I bought some beautiful handmade jewellery which is so cheap.
We stayed at the Banyan Tree last year but this is a better location and the club facilities far superior, so we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book a club room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vroom599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a splendid review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is always nice to hear good comments from our guest.

We are glad that you like our room, facilities and location. We are also delighted that you found our Breakfast, Afternoon Tea and Evening Cocktails at Club InterContinental were of the great standard. We will strive to ensure each and every guest’s stay is enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your compliments, observation and recommendation. We hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,257
    644
    123
    42
    23
See reviews for
592
830
309
811
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We were only there for one night so didn't really experience too much so please bear that in mind.

We had a club room which was lovely. Very clean and the most comfortable bed (incl. linen, pillows and duvet). The room is great with everything you need and more. Big bathroom with a separate massive shower and very white, soft towels.

The club room allows access to the club bar and complementary drinks and nibbles from 5pm to 8pm (I think). The service was very friendly and professionally but a little on the slow side. We stayed at the Intercontinental in Sydney where your glass is never left empty (great service)! Club breakfast was great, lots of choice.

Check-in and check-out was very efficient, friendly and quick.

The hotel is lovely, friendly and well maintained but the rooftop is stunning (we only saw it at night), loved it.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate a wonderful review you wrote about our hotel and staff and thank you for the shortcoming you brought to our attention.

Please rest assured that your comment has not gone unnoticed. We hope we will have an opportunity to impress you and meet your expectation in the future. However, we are most delighted to learn that you were enjoy the rest of other aspects during your stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were on honeymoon on November from 5 nights and the hotel was perfect! We hired a BMW Limo to transfer from and to the airport. 5 star for the concierge of the hotel for the perfect kind advise for anything. Expencive but we will return for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_VanDeSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience in our hotel. We are truly happy to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and our concierge team also helped you to have a great time in Bangkok.

Thank you once again. InterContinental Bangkok will always be your “home away from home”.

Looking forward to your return in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Perfectly located hotel that has great staff, a beautiful rooftop pool away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, and very well-appointed rooms with comfy beds.A bit pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffpry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. It brings us great pleasure knowing that our staff and overall facilities help to make your stay a memorable one.

We are also delighted to not only meet your product and service expectations but also to provide you the value for the price you paid staying in our hotel.

We at InterContinental hope to see you again in the future and be of service to you once again.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

One of Bangkok's many great 5 star hotels. I've stayed at most of them (great fun to compare them) so I decided to this time try out the "Intercon" as the locals call it. Lots of guests from the Middle Eastern countries are staying here.

Here we go with pros and cons:

+ Elegant and very spacious rooms. Brand new TV (which I never use but anyhow). Great spacious shower. Efficient and fast service. Walking distance to all sorts of top notch shopping malls all connected via the skybridge. Gorgeous gym with truly outstanding staff (hard to find at Gyms). Efficient check-in and check-out. Very nice and efficient doormen and concierge. Attentive but discreet security.

- No ugrade even though I'm a Platinum member. Asked but declined politely as "fully booked". Then offered club floor access at an additional rate (so it wasn't fully booked and on the website club rooms were still available for booking)... Slightly patronizing very young Japanese guy at reception promised to get back to us the next day on this but never did. Staff at the Espresso bar seemed unhappy to see new customer at 2pm for lunch, very much not Thai and not 5 stars.

Minor points. A very good hotel if you like the location. However, in the same league I'd still prefer the nearby Conrad. As a conclusion I believe the IHT's loyalty program is not worth as much as some of the others - such as Hilton, Marriott or Starwood. The points don't expire but you get only few points and even Platinum status doesn't seem to get you an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RatmanKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share us and others your feedback and comments regarding your recent visit to Bangkok. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any which caused you inconvenience about room upgrade due to high occupancy situation as well as some other slipped in guest service and sense of hospitality.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind feedback and comments as it will help us to improve and keep up the standard of our facilities and services. We sincerely hope that the above experiences will not tarnish your impression with us and that we will have an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights just before Christmas (2011) and had a wonderful stay. After a delayed flight into Bangkok, our hotel chauffeur was waiting pleasantly and our transfer was as swift and efficient as our check in. Our room (32nd floor) was spacious, modern and well appointed. Breakfast buffet was diverse and fresh with the fluffiest, most delicious freshly-baked croissants! The gym was big, clean and had a great selection of new machines and equipment. Location was excellent being within short walking distance to 3 major shopping centres and many local attractions. Dinner at Grossi was also worth the visit.

Also have to commend one of the delightful concierges (who's name I didn't manage to get). After dinner one evening at Vertigo (which he so kindly helped us arrange), my partner left her favourite lip gloss on her seat. Upon discovering this when we arrived back at the hotel, we informed him and he promptly rang the restaurant staff who found the lip gloss. I was going to hop back into a cab to retrieve it but he wouldn't have any of it. Instead, he told me his shift was finishing (around 11pm) and that he had the following day off so he would get it for us on his way home. He was so insistent that we reluctantly but gratefully accepted his offer. The next morning, as promised, the lip gloss was waiting at the concierge desk. I wish I had gotten his name but he truly needs to be commended for his exceptional and beyond-the-call-of-duty attitude to providing truly first class customer service. I would certainly not hesitate to recommend the Intercontinental Bangkok to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It brings us great pleasure knowing that our staff help to make your stay a memorable experience. We all send our regards and appreciation to you for the recognition.

Once again, thank you for your kind observations, and recommendation on the review. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just stayed at this hotel during 14-15 Jan. Hotel occupancy was almost full but service had not been compromised. Excellent service as always. Had dinner at Grossi Italian restaurant, so delicious with cozy atmosphere followed by massage at the Spa, very enjoyed with experienced therapist. Hotel provides in-room amenities of local brand 'Thann' which is very good and we bought more from the shop nearby for further use at home. Overall was excellent. Definitely a hotel of choice and shall return.

Room Tip: Corner suites provide panorama view of the shopping streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WitoonTrakarnpruk188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a great stay experience with IntertContinental Bangkok. Your compliment on staff, facilities and amenity is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing