We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars, heading to 4?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We are just back from our trip to Thailand. Last couple of days of our trip we stayed in Intercontinental Bangkok.

It was not the first experience with this hotel, so we can compare our stays and see some trends.

The reception staff (hi, Kook), concierge (hi, Candy!) and porters did amazing job - exactly as we would expect from world-wide known 5-stars brand.

Room service delivered really good food.

There are, however, minor issues which give the reason to think that something is going not in line with 5-star reputation.

Cleanliness of the room. Upon our arrival a strange pink tablet/pill was on the toilet floor. We didn't make a noise as we were tired of our trip a bit and hurried to the meet our friends. It was a big surprise for us to see this tablet exactly on the same place on the floor in the afternoon the next day, after the room was cleaned.

Then we called for housekeeping lady, who had to clean our room. She came and with some precautions (rubber gloves) took the tablet away.

Ventilation system (AC?) was making a noise, not too loud but unpleasant still (trouble with bearings?). Armchair was squeaking...

Breakfast choice was very impressive. The only thing we didn't understand - why we had to ask for pineapple as a special service? It was delivered in 5 minutes, but why it was not freely available in the buffet. Is it not a common/ordinary fruit in Thailand?

Some may say these issues are the minor ones. May be. On the other hand, any downward trend starts with minor issues, usually.

Anyway, we believe management of Intercontinental Bangkok is able to solve the problems.

Again, many thanks to Kook, Candy, and many others of Interconti staff!

We would definitely stay in Intercontinental Bangkok again!

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much the same. The only benefits, if you pay more, are the different services becom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the wonderful review you wrote about our hotel and staff, and thank you for the shortcomings you brought to our attention. Please rest assured that deparment concerned will be addressed on all the points mentioned in order to rectify and avoid the future reoccurrence.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service to achieve the highest level of service excellence.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome and serve you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,116 - 2,122 of 3,293 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spend some nights in Interconti in BKK. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, the ambiente great, the rooms and restaurants perfect. And the food was incredible fine. I can recommand this super hotel warmly.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms at higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on room, restaurant and staff is really appreciated.

Please notify me on your next visit with us so that my attention would be spared to ensure of your room assignment on the higher floor as per your preference.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

the location of this hotel was fantastic,best breakfast i ever had,safty place,near the shooping malls,the staff was freindly,iwas there with my family,there is a club down the hotel and was wooow,if you are looking for freinds

Room Tip: top floors,dont book the club rooms as its same as the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOHAMED79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a great review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to see that you like our breakfast, facilities and location. We are also delighted that you found our staffs are friendly and helpful. We will keep consistency to ensure each and every guest’s stay is a memorable one.

Thank you once again and we hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Kwanchai Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is situated in a wonderful position near everything you need to see in Bangkok.
I had been in Bangkok many times and tried other 5 hotels ,but it happened to me something that never in my life has happened. I left in the morning and forgetting my security box opened with all our money for the trip all our personal Items and so on. it was my first morning after our arrival,At night time we came back finding a note to contact the manager on Duty because they had closed the safe and they needed to open for us so we could put our new code. They came opened the safe and NOTHING was missing, every single Euro and Dollar we had and all our items where there.
This gave us immediate a feeling of security and honesty. Congratulations again to this person in the housekeeping department. Of course this is a big issue for a traveler to feel safe in your home in that moment.Hotel services are very good and of course rooms are spotless clean. The breakfast in the Lounge is very International and a nice and well studied selection, and of course a magnificent city view.
You will find an Italian restaurant in the Lobby with a real Italian menu and TASTE.
A a very professional Front Desk Manager with a high level of hospitality and English.If you need any Help in the hotel do not forget to contact Kris he will try to make your stay easier. After this 5 days unforgettable experience we for sure always be back when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Copito10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on the tripadvisor review regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed and happy with our facilities and services. It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and service are appreciated by our guests. We all send our best regard and appreciation to you for the recognition.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations, and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,

Krissana Uthaisri (Kris)
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife, my 10 year old son and I spent 5 great nights in a corner suite at the hotel. The hotel is ideally located, the suite was well appointed, and the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly especially those working in the Club on the 37th floor. Overall, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Pay the premium to get a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience in our hotel.

We are truly happy to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and helped you to have a brilliant time in Bangkok.

Thank you once again for staying with us as well as your nice recommendation on our Club InterContinental.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Natthanan Kovacic (Ms.)
Club InterContinental Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Intercontinental is excellent business hotel right in middle of city center with a lot of facilities that you wanted to have. Walkway leads to sky train making it easy to travel. All major shopping malls and eatouts are in walking distance and by using cab/trains you can go to all attractions. Rooms and food service is excellent. Staff are cordial and welcoming. Billing was bit erroneous but hotel corrected it when I spoke to them. note that this hotel is expensive not cheap but gives you a good return in terms of experience.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floor for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharatMendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It brings us great pleasure knowing that our staff help to make your stay a memorable experience. We all send our regards and appreciation to you for the recognition.

We are also delighted to not only meet your product and service expectations but also to provide you the value for the price you paid staying in our hotel.

We at InterContinental hope to see you again in the future and be of service to you once again.

Kind regards,

Krissana Uthaisri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a lovely hotel - they even had a pillow menu! The bed was the comfiest I've ever slept in. The rooms are spacious. Swam in the hotel pool on the roof and we were the only ones in it. Only downside was having to pay for wifi in your rooms. It was free down in the lobby though. If you are looking for a bit of luxury in Bangkok then look no further than the interContinental

Room Tip: Probably cheaper to book on line than to turn up like we did!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM I, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on room and our facilities is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Kwanchai Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,644 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £145 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing