We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel in December.

The lobby and the rest of the public areas were quite large and tastefully furnished. The property provides free wi-fi in all public areas (be sure to ask reception for the password).

The check-in was quite speedy with a fully staffed check-in desk welcoming guests to the hotel. We were given a room on the 21st floor with a spectacular view of Bangkok. Given that it was nearly Christmas time, we were able to see tons of holiday lights and decorations all around. The room was well furnished, pretty much what I would expect from an Intercontinental. The bathroom was quite large, and entirely covered in marble.

The skytrain station of Chit Lom was right outside the hotel, making travel quite easy. During peak time, I'd highly recommend taking the sky train rather than the cab. Although cabs are quite inexpensive (often cheaper than the skytrain for groups of 3 or 4), they often get stuck in unmoving bumper to bumper traffic, particularly in the area around the Intercontinental.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank akbarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are glad to hear you were impressed with our rooms with a spectacular view of Bangkok during the festive decorations.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,198
    627
    120
    41
    23
See reviews for
578
811
300
786
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I am not very generous when it comes to reviewing hotels. I have stayed in some of the world's great hotels. I go to Bangkok a lot, having lived in Saigon for 10 years. This hotel is a wonderful bargain because it meets or exceeds expectations in every way. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is great. The location is perfect. A 10/10.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our rooms, hotel’s location and our people.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here at the beginning of January for 2 nights. The location is just brilliant. It's next to a sky train station and right in the heart of the shopping district so you have all the best shopping centres right on your doorstep. You honestly can't get any better.

The room was huge and spotlessly clean. The beds were unbelievably comfortable. We were given a room on the 34th floor too so the views were stunning!

The breakfast was excellent. It consisted of a huge international buffet consisting of chinese dim sums, japanese foods, crepes, freshly opened coconuts, thai food and all sorts of other things specially of the grill or wok. One of the best breakfast spreads I have ever seen in my life.

The bathroom was brilliant but the bath was very old and small and was a bit disappointing.

Another bit of improvement from me is that it would be nice to add a bit more Thai character to the hotel and the rooms.

There were also nowhere near enough sunbeds in the rooftop pool area.

Other than that, this place is brilliant. You should stay here, it's wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors for the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel location is amazing it is situated in the downtown region where all the malls important shopping malls are located. It has direct access to Gaysorn shopping center around this hotel you can find all the famous brands if you are shopaholic like me it is facing central world and paragon shopping centers. Very good stuff very polite, you ask for taxi and there it is in 1 minute they get you a taxi.The hotel is huge it has i think 4 restaurants inside it. Breakfast is just amazing no comment you can find any type of food you want the dumblings were very delicious. It is only 40 min drive away from the airport, taxi cost is 300 bath around 10$ . Mini bar is expensive like i took small bottle of vodka and an orange juice i payed 1300 B for it around 50$ . The rooms are ver clean but i personally prefer crowne plaza's rooms they are bigger. The service is fast i asked for ice around 5am and not even 5 min they got it to me. The room had huge tv with ipod docks and the bathroom had 2 shower place one tube and one normal. I was welcomed with free soft drink and an elefent dumy as a gift for being platinum embassador member.
I recommend this hotel because it has the best location you can ever find in bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariozfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

I had 7 rooms staying from 26 dec 12 until the 5th we had the best new Year Party ,I would like to thank all Intercontinental staff who made my stay pleasurable , A special Thanks to Mr.Markus Platzer, Mr.Omar Yamout and Ahmad Yamout for making me feel as if I am Home. Happy New Year

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alqassimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the InterContinental Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to read your appraisal of our people and their personalized service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

We look forward to welcome you back home very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Great location especially for shopping centers, since it's at the same street of the Central Mall and beside the Sky Train where you can easily transfer from place to another.
The lobby is nice and the rooms are comfortable and big, the only disadvantages we faced were the sounds from the street due to Christmas and New Year music which stayed till late midnight, and some noises from hotel guests who were laughing and talking loudly at 2am and 3am in the corridor but when we told the manager about this complaint he was very supportive and promised to take action and tell the security to make night tours and he even send us an apologizing letter which we appreciated a lot, thanks a lot to Mr. Suhitra T. CMs/duty manager:)

We wished there was free Wi Fi in the rooms, but other than that everything was perfect.

The breakfast is excellent, many varieties from different nations and excellent service with a beautiful smile, our thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roula_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with the hotel’s location and our rooms were comfortable.

Please accept our sincerest apology from the noise disturbances during your stay and we will pass your kind recognition to Ms. Suchitra our Duty Manager.

I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Dear Julie and Club Team,

It was another excellent time. My wife and I are always happy to be back to this place. Perfect location, perfect facility, and perfect smile!!

We will be back very soon coz I now live in Bangalore n my wife is in Tokyo. BKK is the best place to meet up!

ciao, K

Room Tip: Higher floor with race track view is excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentotani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for supporting The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share you stay experience with us.

It gave us much pleasure to read your comments and to hear that Bangkok is the destination to meet your love ones.

We have shared your kind compliments with Ms. Julia and our associates at the Club Lounge for their service. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and have been shared with our associates to let them know that their efforts do not go unnoticed by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back home very soon.


Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#102 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing